Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Enlightenment Now Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon counterpart counterpart counterpart  Three new members of the Echo family Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite Game of Thrones: The Complete Seasons 1-7 now available on Blu-ray and DVD Shop now TG18PP_gno



on November 10, 2012
I did enjoy the attention to detail and the way the story was written. Not entirely original in concept, but it is a true crime tale,and the author did a great job weaving it all together. (Don't read on if you hate spoilers and haven't read it yet!)

Lissy is a classic sociopath, who lies even when it doesn't matter, whose lies are so smooth and so effortless that he is able to drag many women (and men) into his web of deceit. He cons yet another woman into marrying him- Kathy- in order to take advantage of financial gain, and almost immediately begins his plot to get rid of her, which is so cold and unbelievably easy for him to concoct, let alone con others into participating in.

There were moments when I realized I was still hooked but beginning to wonder why I cared, which is hard to explain and yet I feel I must mention. I'm thinking more attachment to the victim would help develop the reaction in the reader. This is why I gave it four stars instead of five. A page turner, but honestly I didn't care as much as I should have.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 30, 2012
Gary C. King is a very talented true crime writer with a knack for describing the details of a case without sensationalizing it. He always shows great respect for the victim(s) and loved ones involved. He is also very truthful about the detectives who work the cases.

Murder in Room 305 starts out looking like a simple case of robbery/rape/murder, but there are several details that lead investigators to believe that something more sinister happened to the beautiful woman they found dead in her motel room. The author follows investigators as they try to piece together what really happened Kathryn Ann Martini.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 7, 2012
Book was well written and interesting. I like true crime books. I find the the people involved to be quite normal on the outside but their brain wiring totally disjointed. I truely can't understand what makes these deviants think they will get away with their crimes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 25, 2012
Murder in Room 305 is a fast read in more ways than one--easy to get through and impossible to stop. What winds up the tension is the increasing gap between the neutral documentary approach and the grisly events they bring into focus. There are people who deride what they think of as the clichéd nature of murder mysteries, but not me. We are all connoisseurs of genre books and films--westerns, horrors, romances--and get our pleasure from precisely the way the familiar structure is manipulated, from the nuances the writer brings to it. I'm not going to give the plot away, but I give this one five stars for the chill factor.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 8, 2012
Kathy was an energetic young woman with a bright future. A Yale graduate and savvy business woman, she happened to fall in love with the wrong sociopath-enter Michael Lissy. From the very beginning Michael spun lies to lure Kathy in as a lover and wife while he laundered money from the business, committed insurance fraud for money and spent money on prostitutes. His initial intentions with Kathy were not clear-he lied to multiple people about his intentions to borrow money from Kathy's family or use her business contacts to gain a large loan for his failing scuba shop business. After Kathy is found dead (while on a business trip) in her room-305, the suspect list begins to grow.

The tale begins on the night of Kathy's murder and introduces the cast one person at time. This story reads like a mystery at times-which almost all suspicious murders are. Although this is not a "crime diary"-it is told by following the detectives and investigators through the investigative process. Key pieces of evidence are noted, but it does not need read like a police report. Parts of the investigation were (no doubt) omitted-but evidence is presented in the novel at the appropriate time to give the reader time to digest each piece. There are a few pictures included of the original crime scene-and a few of the people involved.

Because of the intricate network of prostitutes and criminals Michael Lissy associated with, there are a number of people to keep track of. Some roles are slightly redundant (a few different prostitutes relaying the same storying or pointing in the direction of the same person), and many people have multiple aliases.

This book focuses on Kathy's murder but does go into detail about the past crimes of Michael Lissy and others involved in the murder. All of these facts put the murder into context and set the stage for the murder. The author adds the facts and bits of personal history at just the right time-and none of it distracts from the present.

The court transcripts in this book are not overbearing but can be a little dry at times (as most court transcripts are) and I would have liked to hear more interviews with Kathy's family and friends. A little more background on Kathy would have been helpful.

I recommend this book to anyone who likes criminal stories-but it can be disturbing at times.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 25, 2012
A riveting tale of sex, drugs, and murder. This story marches straight toward a conclusion that will leave you wondering about how evil, distorted, and disingenuous humans can be. A true tale that takes you from murder through investigation, gory killing to satisfying conclusion. If you enjoy Ann Rule, you'll love Gary King. As a student of police procedure, [...] I can vouch for Gary King's research and valid reporting. Do not miss Murder in Room 305.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 17, 2013
I did enjoy this book, but there wasnt much of a mystery here.. We know who did it all along.. and tho thats the case in alot of books.. I found it a little less interesting because of that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 25, 2012
Mr King has obviously done his homework. It's not easy to be a good crime writer. It's even more difficult to write true crime because of the research that must go into it. Anyone can make crap up and write a story. To investigate and discern myths from facts takes real skill, not to mention undaunting persistence. If you like true crime stories, you will surely be impressed with this one!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 25, 2012
This is the first time I've read this type of book. Gary does a great job with showing the reader the details of the crime and investigations. It held my attention all the way through After reading this, I feel that greed is the main cause of most crimes.
Not easy being a law enforcer, investigator and having to deal with so much greed.

Thank you for the wonderful book!!!

:-D
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 21, 2012
This novel is written by one of the best crime writers in the business, Gary King. He gives so many extensive details relating to the premeditated murder of Kathryn Ann Martin. So well researched and written, I couldn't put it down. A must read for anyone looking for true stories of lust and greed who will do anything to get their victims cash - even murder!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here