Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on June 18, 2017
Great, informative book. Loved learning about the "overplayed" classics! To all of the haters... pieces like Beethoven's 5th symphony are overplayed for a reason... It's history... Doi.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2015
I've used this text book for the past 5 years in my college entrance to Fine Arts Music class. Personally I've found this text book very easy to use compared to other texts. Subject matter is laid out logically according to music time periods starting with the Medieval era and coming to the present. Plenty of listening and written musical examples to illustrate the evolution of music from a Western World view. Does not include any music of the world such as Oriental, East Indian, South Pacific history. The brief is approximately 200 pages shorter than the full text version, but I prefer this shorter version for beginning college students.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2017
This is the "supplementary set" of CDs for Roger Kamien's Music: An Appreciation (6th Edition). I don't understand why these pieces were not included in the full CD set other than to make more money off of teachers/students for music already in the textbook (in extra chapters, listening outlines, etc.). Each CD does not have many tracks either so not much point in getting these CDs other than convenience in classroom setting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2016
This is a wonderful book as far as explanation and ease of readability goes. The author is clearly knowledgeable and well educated in this subject. I really enjoyed the illustrations and layout of this text. The online services as well as the cd roms are a very useful tool when studying and preparing the material for in class exams. It also served as a building block in learning the material easier and probably more efficiently.
Overall glad this is the book suggested for my course in Music Appreciation!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2016
Excellent textbook to accompany my music appreciation class last semester. The book is structured in an easy-to-follow format that begins by teaching the elements of music, giving the student a good basis of knowledge to learn about the musical periods.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2017
I rented this and the book is great quality. Product is exactly as promised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2017
Great condition. New! Delivered on time for school. Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2017
My book came in great condition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2017
Good textbook to have for Music Majors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2017
Book came as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Music: An Appreciation, Brief Edition
$76.47
Music: An Appreciation
Music: An Appreciation
$104.99

Need customer service? Click here