Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One Electronics Gift Guide $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  All-new Echo Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on October 15, 2013
If you love musicals, you'll love these. Andrew Lloyd Webber does a fantastic job in the two Phantom musicals. The Les Mis title is more for the music of musical lover, than the performance lover (since it's a concert, rather than a staged play). All three are just stunning, the music is great, and you'll enjoy all three.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 22, 2013
These three DVDs capture the essence of musical genius. The music soars and the actors are illuminating - it just does not get any better!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 23, 2015
This deal was amazing!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 12, 2013
Excellant collection of the three DVDs. We own the set, so pleased that we are giving them as a gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon August 11, 2013
This is simply a bundle of three blu-rays:
Les Miserables: The 25th Anniversary Concert [Blu-ray]
The Phantom of the Opera at the Royal Albert Hall [Blu-ray]
Andrew Lloyd Webber's Love Never Dies [Blu-ray]
*Amazon's prices frequently change, so in some cases it may be cheaper to buy the items individually.

The best of the bunch is "Les Miserables" - the 25th Anniversary Concert is one of my favorite versions. "The Phantom of the Opera" and it's sequel, "Love Never Dies", are also interesting. If you're a fan of these stage musicals, then you'll definitely want to purchase this bundle.

A common problem of these stage recordings is that the lighting, while it works well for the audience in attendance, doesn't always lend itself to nice cinematography. There are a lot of dark areas and the image is soft in some cases. But the video quality is good enough that you get a nice experience - and since dozens of HD cameras were used to capture the event, you'll have the benefit of seeing the performances from multiple angles, rather than having just one "seat". Personally, I think watching these at home with surround sound can be a better experience than actually going to see it live.

One thing I would have liked is more special features on these discs. Each disc has one short feature on the making of the concert, but they're not particularly substantial. The Les Miz disc does have a bonus feature called "A Whiz Thru Miz", but it's only 5 minutes.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 13, 2013
If you are a fan of modern musicals then this is a great package to buy. I own all three of these Blu-rays and watching them brings back lots of wonderful memories. Almost 3 hours long the Les Miserables 25th anniversary concert is great viewing and brings together some of the original stars of the show - although I still love the 10th anniversary concert best as I saw Les Mis for the first time back in 1986 in London with the same cast (and I still get emotional when I watch the grand finale when many of the Jean Valjeans and Javerts from around the world march onto the stage singing under their nation's flag). Phantom is the full musical filmed in the iconic Royal Albert Hall and not just a concert version as another reviewer has stated (Sarah Brightman makes a guest appearance only)- and Love Never Dies is the Australian production of the full musical (and apparently is an improvement over the London production). You can watch these time and time again and never tire of the music or the spectacle. And the price for these three BDs is just a fraction of the price for one ticket to one show - so buy and enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 22, 2013
Technically The Phantom of the Opera the Albert Hall, 25th Anniversary production, is a full stage production, since unlike concert productions they do not stand in front of microphones. In fact, they have their mics on them. They also have the dancing in them unlike the Les Miserables movie.

I have watched the Love Never Dies Movie on Youtube and think that fans of the musical that comes before it: "The Phantom of the Opera" would really like this one. I admit some people might not like the plotline or how the Girys are portrayed, but I happen to like how all the characters are portrayed. I also like the music, and believe that the fans from The Phantom of the Opera would like the music from Love Never Dies. The sets are amazing in The Phantom of the Opera movie and Love Never Dies. The sets in The Phantom of the Opera is based on the sets from the musical.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 11, 2013
BEWARE! These are the CONCERTS.....not the actual stage musicals. Although the music can stand for itself....you can listen to THAT on your earphones.
33 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse