Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: My Best Friend's Wedding (Special Edition)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 18, 2000
I absolutely love this video. Not only does it offer Julia Roberts the opportunity to play the sort of off-the-wall romantic heroine she's best at (Pretty Woman, Runaway Bride), it also provides us with perspective on two things: being careful what we ask for, and what constitutes real friendship. I contend that her real best friend all the way through this film is Everett. If you watch closely, every scene he's in with her contains the sort of sincere caring and genuine love we all wish we could have from friends...and lovers, for that matter. Not only does he steal every scene he's in with his great comic timing, he manages to imbue his character with great dimensionality and tenderness. Very appealing! I found myself wishing I had a friend like him: one who would say "There may not be marriage; there may not be sex; but, by God, there will be dancing!"
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2002
Alternative Review Title: "It's a sculpture of the David"
At the time of its release, this was one of the freshest, funniest screwball comedies in a long time. Having watched it on video a few years later, I find it unfortunate that some of the luster has worn off. Perhaps seeing it in a theater with a good crowd was the difference; perhaps it's actually noticing how much larger the cellphones in 1997 were than the ones today. (And what about in five more years . . . ?)
This is not to say that it's not a good movie. It is, and the director and writer are to be commended for so many different, wonderful touches (the shadowed boat scene and smoking bellhop scene come to mind). Julia Roberts, beautiful and vibrant as always, shines as a New York food critic summoned on short notice by her best (male) friend, a former lover and possible soulmate (Dermot Mulrooney), to provide moral support at his wedding in Chicago. The plot revolves around Roberts' often backfiring efforts to break up the wedding and claim the groom for herself, usurping his rich, blonde, "perfect" fiancee Kimmie (Cameron Diaz), who may be more than she seems. Rupert Everett virtually steals the show as Roberts' gay friend George, who alternates between mildly assisting in the scheme and functioning as her counselor and conscience. A variety of characters, from the normal to the bizarre, round out the wedding party. (Note: the Amazon.com Essential Review is incorrect when it names Roberts' character as a Chicago food critic. It's clearly stated at one point that she's from NY, and she has to fly to the wedding. I mean, Chicago's big, but still . . .)
A solid 3-1/2 to 4 star effort. Recommended for fans of Roberts and those looking for a film that incorporates both comedy and romance without quite being a romantic comedy--in other words, an energetic, bittersweet blend with a beautiful anti-heroine whose actions and motivations provoke sympathy and concern in equal measure. With music, dancing, singing, a chase in a bread truck and an ice sculpture of Michelangelo's David, this one just about has it all. A trustworthy rental or bargain purchase.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2016
Julia Roberts, Dermot Mulroney, Cameron Diaz, Rupert Everett, Rachel Griffiths - what's not to like??

A sweet, funny awkward story of two friends (Roberts and Mulroney) who have a pact to marry each other if they turn 30 without otherwise being married. Only, he finds someone (Cameron Diaz), making her (Roberts) realize that "he's the one", so she tries to break up the engagement - and the fact that she can find *nothing* wrong with Diaz makes it all the harder.

If you haven't seen this before, you really should. If you have seen it before, it's worth watching again!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2013
"The moment I wake up, before I put on my makeup; I say a little prayer for you." This is one of my favorite romantic comedies and Julia Roberts' best performance in a rom/com. It is not what I would call a chick flick as I believe this film appeals equally to both men and women. It has much to recommend it but as I sort through the strengths of the film, including the story, the performances and the direction, I keep going back to the sound track as the biggest highlight. There are several Burt Bacharach/Hal David songs sprinkled throughout, "Wishin' and Hopin'", "I'll Never Fall in Love Again", "I say a Little Prayer (for You)" and others. The wedding party version of "I Say a Little Prayer" is the absolute highlight of the film musically and comically...and is one of the funniest scenes on film! In addition to a fine comic performance by Roberts, also look for superb performances from Cameron Diaz, Dermot Mulroney; and the best performance in the movie, by Rupert Everett....who got an Oscar nomination as a reward. The secondary support performances are also excellent, including Rachel Griffiths and Carrie Preston who play profane sisters; and Paul Giamatti in a small, but important role as a hotel bellman. In addition to the Bacharach/David songs, listen for the Jerome Kern/Dorothy Fields standard, "The Way You Look Tonight" first sung by Fred Astaire to Ginger Rogers in the movie, "Swing Time"...."Someday, when I'm awfully low, when the world is cold; I will feel aglow just thinking of you, the way you look tonight." Nominated for AFI's "Top 100 Laughs" this film carries my highest recommendation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2015
Light-hearted romantic comedy. Story kind of silly. Synopsis: Julia and her male lead have been best buds for 10 years, on and off intimate but at the opening of the movie it was off. Called by her best bud to say he found someone else and is going to wed. She flips, because now in her heart of hearts she really loves him. So she is invited to the wedding in Chicago (she is on the West Coast.) So she plots to sabotage the wedding so her best bud will come back to her for reals. Not to be the spoiler, we will not go further except perhaps to say it makes no sense.If there is a moral to this mess, it is :if you can't make your mind up about committing to marriage, putting it off for 10 years is not a good plan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2004
I have always been a fan of Julia Roberts and the movies she stars in - her smile is infectious, it lights up the screen. In 1997, she made a comeback with a starring role in the romantic comedy My Best Friend's Wedding. The film went on to become one of the most successful girly movies of the whole decade, and after watching it earlier tonight on TV, it's not hard to see why. It still holds up seven years later. The comedy is fresh, funky and slick. The plot is nothing original, but it holds up brilliantly because of the film's four main stars. You have Julia Roberts, of course, who is no doubt a future Hollywood legend. Then there's Cameron Diaz in one of her best film roles - not quite topping her sexual cameo in The Mask three years earlier, but still bringing much humour to her role. Rupert Everett and Dermot Mulroney are the two main male actors and also do their roles justice.

Julia Roberts plays Julianne Potter, a fast-talking confident Chicago food critic who used to date Michael O'Neal (Dermot Mulroney) in their college days. They since broke up after nine years and moved apart. They made a pact, however, that if by the age of 28 they both were not married, then they would marry each other. When Julianne receives a call from Michael three weeks before that pact deadline, she assumes he is ringing to get back with her. However, Michael is calling to introduce Julianne to his seemingly wonderful, irritatingly perfect fiancee Kimberly Wallace (Cameron Diaz) and announce their wedding which is taking place in just three days. That leaves Julianne three short days to break up the marriage and win back the man she has only just realised she loved all along. She will either win or lose - that's the conclusion. Ronald Bass' perfectly-constructed screenplay keeps the viewer on the edge, forever guessing if she will win her battle. Julianne's gay friend George Downes (Rupert Everett) agrees to help her, but only to a certain extent, and he is a hilarious asset to the comedic intentions put forth by the writers of the film.

The film's plot seems at times far-fetched, and it is, but this is a light-hearted, romantic comedy with many clichés built in for good measure! The comedy is spot-on - there aren't many laugh out loud moments, but more of a continual giggle-fest that will have you smiling for most of the film. Julia Roberts is a certain crowd-puller. People from all over the world will flock to see her movies, and this one was exception. Cameron Diaz was half the superstar in this film that she is today, and her glowing smile and charasmatic confidence shines through in her ditzy role. Rupert Everett reminds me of Hugh Grant in this film, which can be no bad thing!

The film has many memobrable scenes, including Kimberely's hilarious karoke nightclub performance of "I Just Don't Know What To Do With Myself." The restaurant hilarity of the group's performance of Dianne Warwick's "I Say A Little Prayer" is also perfectly executed, with only professional directors pulling it off - amateurs could have easily messed it up big time. The big city bread truck chase is hilarious, and the film has many touching moments. Julianne's constantly foiled attempts to sabotage the impending wedding are brilliant too: most notably the e-mail/falling off the chair scene. This film is pure comedic brilliance. It could have easily fallen flat on its face, but it didn't because of the right balance between fresh actors and excellent dialogue.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2015
Julia Roberts is an believable and excellent actress. So it is not surprising that she has turned out another movie that is great. I love the singing duets of the two sisters both in the restaurant and especially at the wedding reception. They have excellent singing voices. The plot is interesting and most fellows would state that this is a chick flick but that is OK. George is accommodating to Jules (character) and we wanted to see more of him in the movie. Cameron Diaz was very beautiful and happy in this movie and she shined right up like a pretty penny in all of her scenes. . Great movie whether or not you think this is a chick flick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2015
Was REALLY disappointed in this movie. It just didn't have any redeeming qualities in my opinion. It could have at least been cute. But it was just verbally crude in so many ways and ridiculous - again, in my opinion. SPOILER - The only good thing was the Julia Roberts didn't get the guy in the end, but she did have a good friend there to support her. Her character was horrible and I would have disliked the movie even more if she would have won her love interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2015
Good chick flick, which I normally don't care for, but this was good. Some scenes hilarious, some tear jerking, and a few surprises. Nice give and take repartee between the characters that is reminiscent of the great films of the 30s and 40's, but not quite Hepburn/Grant. All in all a good flick whose ending took my wife by surprise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2015
The movie is a classic. I bought it because this version is in 4K UHD and it looks like a dated DVD print. Very disappointing for us 4K fans.
Love the movie and would have given it better rating, but Amazon charges 26 bucks for this UHD version (when the HD version is cheaper) because it does not look that great in 4K. Don't waste your money on this mediocre transfer. Buy the new "mastered in 4K" blu ray instead because this print is does not look it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse