BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on July 17, 2013
I've always been a fan of the film My Girl, and as soon as I discovered there was a book tie-in, I had to have it. It's almost identical to the movie, but I did find a couple tidbits of information that wasn't included in the film. I'm glad I picked this up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2012
The 1991 film of My Girl is such an amazing movie, I laugh, I cry. The book is the same. I can't put this book down! It's very well written. So happy to see that this lovely movie is also a book! I recommend this to pretty much everybody. Even if you have never seen the movie before, you read this, you will want too!
Enjoy-
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2016
great story kinda sad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2016
The book is very old, yellowed and dirty which is not as described.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2015
This seems to be a book obviously written to copy the movie. A book is usually much deeper than the movie, if it is done first. So I didn't love it for myself, but middle school readers seem enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 12, 2016
OVERALL IMPRESSION: I have only seen bits and pieces of the movie, never actually watching it all the way through, but I knew a little bit about the story line and when I found the book at a thrift store, I decided to pick it up and give it a try. It's a really short book so it didn't take long to read at all. I enjoyed reading it. It was a quick read to cleanse my palate after reading some longer books. The story was fun but also sad and emotional.

CHARACTERS: The characters in this book seemed very real to me. I could picture these kids running around together. The things they did seems very likely things that kids do. I wasn't a fan of Vada's father though. I understand that he was probably fed up with her hypochondria, but she was obviously fighting for his attention because her mother was gone. I just feel that he could have taken more time with her to explain things and just spend time with her.

COVER: The cover is fine. It's taken from the movie, which the book was actually written after the movie instead of the other way around.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2016
This movie pulls at the fringes of my mind sometimes and it is only since of the song although I know the song wasn't actually related to the movie much. It is a beautiful coming-of-age story that seems to be a bit outdated and yet at the same time one that can will always be present no matter what the times may bring to newer generations.

The author did a great job of keeping the voice of the protagonist in the telling of her story while it adds that much more a special touch. Although Vada is overly dramatic, annoying and a bit on the bossy side she is just like all other girls - sweet, confused, hiding her hurt and having to grow up way too fast via the changes that come so naturally in this crazy world that we live in.

Definitely a good nostalgic read and one that will make you want to watch the movie even if it made you cry.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2005
Vada is 11 years old and she has never met her mother and her dad is a caretaker and her bestfriend Thomas J never wants to come into the house because it is a funeral parlor. Thomas J and Vada are always riding around town on their bikes and Vada thinks that she has cancer in her throat. Though everytime she goes to see the doctor about it he says she is just fine. All the time Thomas J and Vada go sit up in a tree and one day they were going to the tree and saw a bee hive. Thomas J wanted it because he had a wasps hive and he wanted a bee hive to go with it. They were throwing rocks at it and knocked it down and bees started swarming and they ran and jumped in the lake, but before they did Vada realized she lost her mood ring and the next day Thomas J went back to where Vada had lost her ring and he got it, but when he went back the bees attacked him and of course Thomas J is allergic to everything he got stung and died from it. After Thomas J's funeral Thomas's mother went to Vada's house and gave her the ring. And though Vada was sad about Thomas J she just pretended that he was at summer camp or on vacation. Vada new that Thomas J would be taken care of because her mother would take care of him. She new that she would see him again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2006
Vada is eleven years old and her mother died when she was born, and Vada thinks that it is her fault her mohter died. Her dad owns a funeral home and thats where Vada loves. Her best friend Thomas J. is allergic to everything. Thomas J. and Vada are always doing something together, like riding bikes, or playing at the lake. One day this lady named Shelly shows up at Vadas house in a camper wanting a job at the funeral home and be the person that when someone dies she puts on the make-up and does their hair. She gets the job. Vada likes her and everything is going great. SO one day Vada and Thomas J. ran into their teacher, Mr. Bixler Vada wants to marry him, and he had told them that he was going to be having a writting class in the summer, and Vada wants to go. So she has to try to find money and her dad won't give it to her so she takes it from Shelly. Then Shelly and her dad start dating. Then one day her dad said they were going to get married. So now Vada hates them both. So she tells Thomas J. and they go to the lake and they find a bee hive and they try to hit it with rocks, THomas J. collects them, they finally hit it and bees go everywhere.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2005
Vada Sultenfuss is a typical 11 year old girl who has to learn to face her fears and get on with lfe even when bad things happen. She lives in a funeral parlor and has a boy (Thomas J.) for a best friend. Her mother is dead and she only has a father. Living in a funeral parlor for all her life, Vada keeps thinking she has cancer and is going to die, and her father could care less about this issue. One day Shelly comes in and ends up working for Vada's dad. Their marriage takes Vada by surprise, and when her best friend gets stung by bees she learns to cope with Shelly even though she doesn't have her best friend to always ride bikes and play with her anymore.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here