Oil month Automotive World Book Day Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Country Heat PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now TG18PP_gno

My Name Is Bruce [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on June 22, 2013
I"m a so-so fan of Bruce Campbell....he does some awesome work and I've enjoyed him in several movies and TV series (he's fantastic in Burn Notice, for example). He's also done some stuff that isn't so excellent, and that's what THIS movie is a friendly spoof of.

Bruce Campbell plays himself here, as the only "expert monster hunter" a teen-aged fan of his movies can think of to help their town battle an ancient curse. He's a rather stereotypical and shallow guy in this movie, an over-the-top B-grade actor more interested in scoring than being responsible for anything.

It's a fun enough ride, a spoof of many of his B-grade movies with lots of inside jokes for the hard core B.C fans. The special effects are schlocky but that's part of the charm and the spoof; it doesn't detract from the fun at all.

I do think that folks who are NOT Bruce Campbell fans won't really be terribly impressed or think much of the movie, but for those who are it's great fun. Recommended for Bruce Campbell fans and anybody who enjoys campy "horror" movies.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 22, 2012
I've been a fan of Bruce Campbell for over 20 yrs, I still remember taking my little kids to the VHS video rentals and first looking up his titles. I'm now a grandfather and still enjoy his 3 series horror classics. This movie was fun to watch if I didn't give it a five stars is because of these two annoying guys playing guitars in between scenes with a song about Guan Din, the Chinese God of War.

The whole concept of the idea is great. As a fan I must congratulate Bruce for having the will power to take care
of himself physically after all these years. A lot of middle age actors don't care about how they look in their middle age years
but Bruce hasn't changed much.

What I can't understand is why Hollywood producers didn't give him the break that he deserved in his younger years. I mean here's a guy that looked better than most action heroes from the late eighties yet he ended up mostly with low budget productions. I'm just glad he got his best break with Army of Darkness.

This movie is fun to watch and the effects are surprisingly great for having been shot in fairly confined area near his home
in Oregon. If you're a real fan of Bruce, you have to watch this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 4, 2013
If you love Bruce Campbell or like self mockery, this is worth a watch. Sure, it's not gonna win any awards as the most awesome movie ever made -- but for what it is, entertainment, it does well.

Guan-Di and the sacred bean curd aside, the movie makes numerous fun of both B movies, Bruce Campbell and so on. Don't take it serious, just lean back and relax. Like Spaceballs, it kind of has this sense of humour you can't get rid of :-). To top it off the special features show what happens when people REALLY have some fun with creating special features.

Since it's not a big, expensive production by Hollywood standards: I was a little concerned if the Blu-ray was worth it vs the DVD. The video quality is worth the extra couple bucks. Can't speak about the audio quality as I normally use headphones but no complaints. The video content is in H.264 at about 22 Mbit/s.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 1, 2009
This is pure B-movie fun! Bruce Campbell plays a caricature of himself, fighting a real-life demon. Think 'Three Amigos' meets 'Evil Dead,' complete with Bruce's classic one-liners. Bruce Campbell is playing an actor named, um, Bruce Campbell who makes generally low-budget movies about fighting aliens and zombies. A super-fan accidentally unleashes a real-life demon and Bruce Campbell is his town's only hope.

The movie doesn't try to be anything more than it is, and that just adds to the fun. Bruce plays up the slapstick and a lot of the dialogue is designed to either: a) elicit some snarky remark from Bruce, or b) lead to Bruce getting clobbered over the head/thrown across a room/slapped in the face. Or a combination of both. The violence is over-the-top, with extra helpings of gore. And Bruce pulls off the reluctant hero perfectly, like always.

The special features add to the fun. There are candid interviews with Bruce Campbell and a basic how-to to making your own movie. Not only is there an in-depth "Making Of" and Video Diary, but there are also a fake trailer and 'Making Of' for the low-budget movie that (the character) Bruce is filming called "CaveAlien 2." Very good stuff for the fans.

If you know a Bruce Campbell fan, get this movie for them. If you are a Bruce Campbell fan, why don't you have a copy yet?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 23, 2009
Last night I had the privilege of seeing My Name is Bruce. Mr. Campbell was actually at the theatre to help promote the film. As a longtime Bruce fanatic I was overcome with child-like giddiness when he came out to answer questions. The man is THE definition of cool. If you ever have the chance to meet him do yourself a favor and go, you will not be disappointed!

My Name is Bruce revolves around the plot that an accidentally awakened Chinese Demon is about to murder all the residents of a tiny Oregon town. A young teenager has convinced the authorities that their only hope is legendary B-Movie Star Bruce Campbell. It's completely ridiculous and an absolute riot at the same time. The main gag is that Bruce isn't a super cool, outgoing and appreciative movie star; rather he is a womanizing, drunken, cowardly douche-bag. Oh, and he has no clue that the Demon is real and not some elaborate ruse set up by his agent.

Bruce plays "himself" way over the top and its pure joy to witness. It goes without saying that if you even remotely enjoy Campbell, you will love this film. From the director's chair, Campbell melds the slapstick horror humor of Army of Darkness with the brutal beheadings of Tim Burton's Sleepy Hollow. My Name is Bruce is more funny than scary, but really the film is just a vehicle to allow fans to relish in the greatness of Campbell. Even though he runs the gamut of deplorable acts it's still easy to love him! Bruce eventually has a "coming of age" moment though it's still not that profound (and he remains a cantankerous scumbag pretty much till the bitter end). As an added treat you get not one, but three separate roles from the always dependable Ted Raimi. Sure goofy sound effects and hammed up acting normally make a movie unwatchable, but in this case it all adds to the campy charm. Experiencing this in a theatre packed with Campbell fanatics was merely icing on an already deliriously scrumptious cake.

Preposterous, outlandish and absurd...these are all words that perfectly exemplify My Name is Bruce. Honestly, it's actually a compliment since that is exactly what the film-makers set out to create. Bruce Campbell's life and career IS absurd and ludicrous, so a movie about it would certainly need to dial it up to eleven. I could have used a little more gore, and perhaps a new Campbell catchphrase. Regardless, this coupled with Bubba Ho Tep proves that Bruce Campbell is still at the top of his game. Hail to the King, baby.

Final Grade: A-
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 16, 2015
Bruce Campbell fans already know and love this one. To the rest of the world, it is campy, funny and a good Saturday-stay-home-and-watch-movies movie. There are people I would share this movie with, and others I wouldn't waste time with. If you are a dead serious type of person who only watches reality TV and serious crime drama - this is not for you.
This movie is for folks that can snicker at a 'god of bean curd', and Bruce's over the top performances. It's all about poking fun at himself and anything else that gets in the way!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 24, 2009
Ok I bought this as a fan after seeing the dissapointing Bubba Ho Tep expecting it to be ok but I was blown away. My new favorite movie! Bruce Campbell is an exceptional actor and if not for his Evil Dead stigma he would have done much better I think on the big screen in his career. Kudos to USA for hiring him for Burn Notice. The humor in this movie is right on you really have to pay attention or you will miss a lot of it. The Kelly Graham chick with the big [...] is hot and the Milf joke that normally would have been lame is brilliant from Bruce.

Overall even if you aren't a fan this is still a great flick. Get drunk with your friends or make your girlfriend watch it as paybacks for all the lamo chick flicks you have suffered just to get laid.

BTW, I love this movie so much I bought it on Blu Ray and I don't even have a Blu Ray player yet!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 15, 2018
If your a Bruce Campbell fan you will love this . This is a replacement copy for the one I misplaced . Had to get so I can have movie night with my granddaughter. This is one of his best. Came very fast. very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 11, 2016
If you're looking for the real Bruce Campbell and all his campy B horror/comedy awesomeness then you found it! Its, hilarious, irreverent, completely unapologetic, not for the easily offended, and easily one of the best bad day movies ever. You will find something to laugh at and something to love about this movie, if you don't you either need a sense of humor or you weren't paying attention! Perfect for long time fans and newbies alike.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 7, 2017
What a great little film this is. If you're looking for high brow cinema, you're looking in the wrong place. But, if Bruce Campbell is your cup of tea, you'll love this. Definitely done in the spirit of fun. Bruce also does great commentary tracks - so that's an extra added bonus. The extras are so/so, but worth it for the film itself.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse