Buying Options

Kindle Price: $7.99

Save $2.00 (20%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to The Mysterious Benedict Society! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Mysterious Benedict Society by [Trenton Lee Stewart, Carson Ellis]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Mysterious Benedict Society Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 2,149 ratings
Book 1 of 4: The Mysterious Benedict Society

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$7.99

Yo-Yo Ma: Beginner's Mind
Hear an icon's life story, timeless music, and message. Listen free

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business: Make the most of your Amazon Business account with exclusive tools and savings. Login nowBusiness Prime : For Fast, FREE shipping, premium procurement benefits, and member-only offers on Amazon Business. Try Business Prime free.

From the Publisher

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey by Trenton Lee Stewart The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner's Dilemma by Trenton Lee Stewart The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Riddle of Ages by Trenton Lee Stewart The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict by Trenton Lee Stewart Mr. Benedict's Book of Perplexing Puzzles, Elusive Enigmas, and Curious by Trenton Lee Stewart The Secret Keepers by Trenton Lee Stewart
The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner's Dilemma The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Riddle of Ages The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict Mr. Benedict's Book of Perplexing Puzzles, Elusive Enigmas, and Curious The Secret Keepers
"Are you a gifted child looking for special opportunities?" Then read TRENTON LEE STEWART! The Mysterious Benedict Society Book 2: The search is on—for Mr. Benedict! The Mysterious Benedict Society Book 3: Will the four friends be torn apart? The Mysterious Benedict Society Book 4: A new Society member—and a new threat! The Mysterious Benedict Society Prequel: Before the Society there was a boy named Nicholas Benedict The Mysterious Benedict Society Puzzle Book: Test your wits to see if you have what it takes to join the Society! Standalone Novel: Join the adventure, decipher the clues, and ask yourself: Is knowing a secret a gift or a curse?

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Real flashlight under the bedclothes material... this story flies past, thrilling us as it goes."Horn Book

"Begins with a bang... resembles the otherwordly experience of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory."Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Fans of Roald Dahl or Blue Balliett will find a familiar blend of kid power, clues, and adventure."School Library Journal, starred review

"Tackles personal concerns: abandonment, family, loyalty, and facing one's fears."Booklist, starred review

"Dashes of mild humor and introspection rest on a solid base of suspense, mystery, and well-rounded characters, making this a satisfying dish for readers of varying tastes."The Bulletin, starred review

"Do not miss this one. Buy two copies because they will be needed."VOYA

From School Library Journal

Starred Review. Grade 5–9—After Reynie Muldoon responds to an advertisement recruiting "gifted children looking for special opportunities," he finds himself in a world of mystery and adventure. The 11-year-old orphan is one of four children to complete a series of challenging and creative tasks, and he, Kate, Constance, and Sticky become the Mysterious Benedict Society. After being trained by Mr. Benedict and his assistants, the four travel to an isolated school where children are being trained by a criminal mastermind to participate in his schemes to take over the world. The young investigators need to use their special talents and abilities in order to discover Mr. Curtain's secrets, and their only chance to defeat him is through working together. Readers will challenge their own abilities as they work with the Society members to solve clues and put together the pieces of Mr. Curtain's plan. In spite of a variety of coincidences, Stewart's unusual characters, threatening villains, and dramatic plot twists will grab and hold readers' attention. Fans of Roald Dahl or Blue Balliett will find a familiar blend of kid power, clues, and adventure in Society, though its length may daunt reluctant or less-secure readers. Underlying themes about the power of media messages and the value of education add to this book's appeal, and a happy ending with hints of more adventures to come make this first-time author one to remember.—Beth L. Meister, Pleasant View Elementary School, Franklin, WI
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an alternate kindle_edition edition.

Product details

  • ASIN : B000SEHIB2
  • Publisher : Little, Brown Books for Young Readers; Illustrated edition (April 1, 2008)
  • Publication date : April 1, 2008
  • Language : English
  • File size : 64857 KB
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Enhanced typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print length : 497 pages
  • Lending : Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 2,149 ratings

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
2,149 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on May 7, 2019
Verified Purchase
133 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 2, 2017
Verified Purchase
78 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 8, 2018
Verified Purchase
22 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 8, 2016
Verified Purchase
30 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 22, 2017
Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 20, 2011
Verified Purchase
195 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

1234JMT
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Read.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 29, 2013
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Agnes J.
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best children's book
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 5, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Louise
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book for children and also great for parents
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 7, 2016
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Angie
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book I have read in a long time :)
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on June 3, 2017
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Mumof2
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought for an advanced reader who wanted something unusual
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse