Oil month Automotive World Book Day Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now Start your Baby Registry



on August 2, 2009
As a long time Leafs fan, I have been excited about the upcoming release of these DVDs, but disappointed that more details haven't been given -- specifically, which ten games will be included. So I did a little research and found a more detailed description from Warner Brothers. Here are the ten games:

1. Leafs vs. Red Wings, 4/23/64... Bob Baun, playing on a broken ankle, beats the Red Wings in Game 6 of the Stanley Cup Finals.

2. Leafs vs. Canadiens, 5/2/67... The Leafs clinch the '67 Stanley Cup.

3. Leafs vs. Islanders, 4/29/78... Lanny McDonald eliminates the Islanders with a Game 7 overtime goal in the '78 playoffs.

4. Leafs vs. Blues, 4/16/87... Ken Wregget blanks the Blues to advance in the '87 playoffs.

5. Leafs vs. Sharks, 5/14/94... Wendel Clark scores twice in Game 7 to send the Leafs to the Western Conference finals. (Note: Warner Brothers lists this as the 5th game, even though it is chronologically out of order.)

6. Leafs vs. Red Wings, 5/1/93... Nikolai Borschevsky's Game 7 overtime goal eliminates the Red Wings in the '93 playoffs.

7. Leafs vs. Blues, 5/3/93... Doug Gilmour's behind-the-net wraparound goal in double overtime beats the Blues in the '93 playoffs.

8. Leafs vs. Senators, 4/13/01... The Leafs beat Ottawa 1-0 on Mats Sundin's overtime goal. (Note: Warner Brothers lists this game as Leafs vs. Canucks, but the Leafs beat the Sens, not the Canucks, on 4/13/01.)

9. Leafs vs. Senators, 5/4/02... Curtis Joseph has 54 saves and Gary Roberts scores in triple overtime to beat the Sens in Game 2 of their 2002 playoff series.

10. Leafs vs. Senators, 5/12/02... On the road in Ottawa, Gary Roberts has two goals and an assist to force a Game 7 in Toronto (which, by the way, the Leafs win).

Now, every Leafs fan is going to have the same question I had -- Where is Darryl Sittler's 10 point game against Boston in 1976? Why that game wasn't included, I don't know, because it certainly qualified -- Sittler was a great Leaf and that was his most memorable game! Maybe it's because it was a regular season game, and every game listed above was a playoff game. Maybe they couldn't secure the rights to include it. I just don't know. Other great Leafs games come to mind as well, but the 10 games here are certainly great enough.

I am somewhat worried about the Sharks game being listed out of chronological order and the 2001 Canucks/Sens mistake. Hopefully, these are simple, honest mistakes and not an indication of sloppy work on the part of Warner Brothers and the NHL. My fingers are crossed, because I'm really looking forward to this release.
66 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 5, 2010
I bought this for a friend and we watched the 1967 game together. So awesome! As a Library Specialist, I'm really excited to see such an old game, watching history. I'm glad the NHL decided to release some archival stuff! We had so much fun comparing the 1967 game to today's game. It's soooo different.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 21, 2014
BLU RAY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 13, 2016
Great transaction. Internationally top! I will buy again! AAA seller. Top.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 25, 2011
I received the Toronto Maple Leafs dvd through Amazon.com very quickly and was perfectly satisfied with my purchase. I give it a five star rating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 7, 2011
First off, since the details are not here on amazon.com, here's what is in this box set without giving away too much for those who want to watch these games fresh (and below I'm not calling Division Finals and Conference Quarter-Finals anything other than what they should be logically called):
vs. Detroit (1964 Final, Game 6, Bob Baun playing on broken ankle)
vs. Montreal (1967 Final, Game 6, Red Kelly's last game in the NHL)
vs. NY Islanders (1978 Quarter-Final, Game 7, Lanny McDonald's big goal)
vs. St. Louis (1987 1st round, Game 6, Ken Wregget "big" 19-save performance)
vs. Detroit (1993 1st round, Game 7, Nikolai Borchevsky's only big goal)
vs. St. Louis (1993 Quarter-Final, Game 1, a creative Doug Gilmour goal)
vs. San Jose (1994 Quarter-Final, Game 7, Wendel Clark scores a pair)
vs. Ottawa (2001 1st round, Game 1, Mats Sundin scores a goal)
vs. Ottawa (2002 Quarter-Final, Game 2, Gary Roberts and lots of OT)
vs. Ottawa (2002 Quarter-Final, Game 6, memorable CuJo performance)

Word of warning: Although the beyond fantastic Joe Bowen is on here doing the intros to each game, do not watch them. He sometimes gives away the scores and details of the game before you've even started watching them.

The '60s games have Bill Hewitt doing the play-by-play with some Keith guy doing color on the Baun game and Brian MacFarlane on the '67 game.
The Lanny game has Dan Kelly and MacFarlane.
The rest have Bob "I'm expected to know non-Leaf players' names?" Cole and Harry "Whaler" Neale as we, outside of the Centre of the Universe, have all grown to whine about from the '80s to the '00s. (Has the CBC ever had a clue? Holy mackinaw, get Joe Bowen on national Leaf broadcasts!)

OK, given this is aimed at Leaf fans and the Leafs have not even made a Stanley Cup Final since 1967, the "greatest" games theme that you see on the Oilers, Pens, Flames, Isles and Habs sets has been flipped and called "10 Great Leafs and Their Most Memorable Games," the choices are still beyond strange.

Starting off, even though I'm not a Make Belief fan but wouldn't Don Cheery be turning over in his grave (if he were dead that is) when Nikolai Borschevsky is considered a "great" Leaf. Near as I can recall he scored a memorable goal from which said game is included in this set but "Nik" played all of two and a bit seasons with the Leafs of which only his rookie NHL season when he scored 34 goals was any good.

Then when I think of "great" Leafs in goal it starts with Turk Broda then Johnny Bower throw in the guys who made fairly important pit stops (Terry Sawchuk, Jacques Plante, Bernie Parent) to the heroes on teams that had a modicum of playoff success (Mike Palmateer, Felix Potvin, Curtis Joseph and Ed Belfour). Does any Leaf fan think Ken Wregget when it comes to the Alan Bester and Jiri Crha of Leaf greatness? In fact, Wregget's most memorable NHL moments have been in Flyer (an '89 Game 7 vs. the Pens and Game 1 vs. the Habs) and Penguin (the '96 4-OT Game 4 vs. the Caps) jerseys.

The '60s black-and-white kinescopes are hard to watch and I have seen a better quality DVD of the 1967 Game 6 so it's sort of sad they didn't punch up the pic quality on that game.

The '78 Lanny game is memorable but Lanny was playing with a broken nose and wrist and is hardly noticeable until the big moment but I get it, it's a HUGE moment in Lanny's career probably second to his Stanley Cup winning goal in 1989 for the Flames.

The '93 Gilmour moment is fantastic but really it's the Potvin vs CuJo goaltending show. In fact, despite the loss CuJo's 62 saves in this game ranks right up with the following Game 2 that St. Louis won as one of CuJo's most memorable games albeit in a Blues jersey.

The Wendy game choice is odd. The one playoff game that sticks out as the peak of Wendy's Leaf career has to be the 1993 Game 6 in the Semi-Final vs. L.A. His hat trick and one-man wrecking crew in a hard fought 5-4 OT loss is far superior to the Sharks game that was chosen.

Why the producers felt the need to include three Battle of Ontario games and two from the 2002 series is beyond dumb. Is Mats Sundin's most memorable game one in which he scores an OT goal in a 1st round series? Did he not have some multiple-point dominant playoff performance anytime during his Leaf career?

Onto Gary Roberts. Is he really considered a "great" Leaf? I would class him as a great Flame (albeit a great hack artist--yes, Gary, I remember the crosschecks to Canuck and Oiler heads). Roberts played well for the Leafs in the four seasons he was in T.O., but they couldn't find a memorable game by a true all-time Leaf great like Dave Keon or Borje Salming instead?

The CuJo game that ends it all is a terrific performance but given there were already two Sens games on here, I'd have preferred maybe a '99 game vs. the Flyers or Pens in rounds 1 and 2 that first season CuJo was on the Leafs.

Also, where is the Darryl Sittler 10-point game or the Ian Turnbull 5-goal game? How about a Rickey Vaive game given he had three 50-goal seasons there on truly awful '80s Leaf teams? Heck, if you're going to celebrate Borschevsky and Wregget I'd prefer seeing Pat Boutette and Jiri Crha's most memorable games by that logic, Mr. Poddubny.

I'll wait till they come out with the Claire "The Milkman" Alexander memorial edition of this set where they at least pick a better slew of Leaf greats and games.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 2, 2013
I personally love high scoring shootouts, so I was disappointed that they didn't include the 1986 Leafs/Oilers game in which Toronto won 11-9. The Oilers were a scoring machine that year...Gretzky had 163 assists, let alone 215 points for the year. That's a game I would have loved to have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here