Oil month Automotive World Book Day Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Always ad-free. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now TG18PP_gno

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
25
NOVA: Secrets of the Samurai Sword
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$12.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on November 24, 2014
Indeed, I've watched this video so many times that I've lost count; it is that well produced. First of all, this is one of the most beautifully produced documentaries concerning the production and craftsmanship on making the Samurai Sword. More importantly, the Japanese culture from ancient to modern is fully explored as it relates to making these swords. In addition, this DVD documentary provides printable material for educators and students alike. This material is suitable for courses in: Japanese History, Cultural Anthropology, Sociology, Asian Studies, and a host of other courses, and students from secondary education through college undergraduate should find these materials helpful. Indeed, this purchase is well worth the expense; enjoy.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2017
Excellent DVD video. Very well done Nova special. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 1, 2012
This was a very interesting NOVA episode but it might have been even better if they had focussed more on the science of steel and a little less on actors playing Samurai at battle. That said it was very good and the scenes presenting fencers training were a good addition. Of this aspect, I particularly enjoyed the slow-motion shot of the swordsman cutting an arrow in mid-flight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 26, 2017
Lots of facts and good information of a great subject...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 18, 2011
An hour is far too short a time to present an overview of the art and science of the making of samurai swords. Being an episode of Nova, this documentary focuses heavily on the science. It still feels a little like the whole documentary got shortchanged. There are hints here at what could have been included, including the spiritual nature of the sword. Yes, the blades are the most important aspects of these swords and yet it seems that we should have also been shown at least a little about how a sword's furniture is created. Maybe one day we'll get to see two longer format pieces, one about the samurai sword's place in Japanese history and one illustrating the construction of a single katana from start to finish. Until then, we have this well-made, but brief, program.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 6, 2012
Being of Japanese anacestry I was absolutely amazed at the ability of the Japanese to discover the techniques shown in this DVD. Without the modern technology and metalurgical knowledge they found, through hundreds of years or trial and error, what makes a truly magnificient sword. The development and the ability to create such craftsmanship without scientific understanding is difficult to comprehend. As they saying goes, "the proof is in the pudding" I bought copies for my buddies to watch and appreciate.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 14, 2016
Informative and entertaining
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 11, 2015
excellent documentary
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon April 16, 2009
This is an excellent video showing the technology developed over centuries by great craftsmen to produce not simply a weapon, but a work of art.

The video covers the art *and* science of producing a katana - the samurai's sword. It begins with workers making steel from ore. It moves to the swordmaker's art of forging a magnificently crafted weapon perfectly suited for the style of combat the culture revered. It shows that polishing and sharpening are a separate art also practiced by great craftsmen.

There is a great deal of science in the video that explains the properties of steel, how it is hardened, and how the weapon requires different steels to accomplish its task.

It isn't perfect, but this video is very good!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 7, 2014
I am just understanding the care, use and handling of the infanous Samurai Sword. This has been a great help to understand the practices and will do the same for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse