Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Namibia, 4th: The Bradt Travel Guide
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 6, 2008
This is the best guide book to Namibia published in English. I have been living in Namibia for awhile and have all recently published English language guide books to Namibia. My family all agrees that the Bradt guide is by far the most comprehensive and up to date - it has by far more listings, more details about history and attractions, and more travel information than any other guide. It is the only book that gives detailed tips on best roads/routes to take as well. It also has details on where petrol stations are, where good bookstores are, where to shop, etc., and describes lesser known attractions that aren't listed in other books. As of mid 2008, it's prices are also the most accurate for lodging - and putting the prices in Namibian dollars actually is quite helpful as the prices really vary depending on the value of the rand. The book also has some basic descriptions of some of the common Namibian mammals & birds, though we use other books for identifying animals and birds. We also appreciate the authors advice for touring/travellng responsibly. Whenever we plan an excursion in Namibia (and we have travelled extensively), we always use the "green book", as we call it for its green binding - though it looks blue from the front, as our first source. We lent it out for two weeks to a visitor and relied on other common guide books. We ended up taking the wrong route and stayed in a campground that wasn't comfortable based on the information from the other guide books. When we got the green book/Bradt guide back, we looked up the details and saw that the Bradt book would have pointed us on the faster route and would have steered us clear of that particular camping ground. We will be careful lending it out again!
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2000
I have been a world traveler for over a decade, relying on books and word of mouth for my guides. I found Namibia, by Chris McIntyre, to be an excellent resource for my prospective trip to the country. It not only has the information needed to become acquainted with the country and plan the trip, it emphasizes an all important and too often neglected focus: that of treading lightly and respecting the native people (bravo!!). I have typically sought out Lonely Planet books for my trips (I usually refer to two books for my information) and found that this book filled in a number of gaps that the afore mentioned book left out. I would recommend this book as the 'number one' book to anyone traveling to Namibia. The only thing this book lacked was a better section on local languages. Unfortunately I have found it difficult to find more than background information on launguge in ANY book on Namibia. Good Traveling!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2012
I have bought earlier Guides in this series on Namibia ; Editions 2, 3, and now the 4th.

Each is better than the one before with updated information. Edition # 4 is now my "bible" for Namibia. I rely on these guides completely and after FIVE trips there
I have yet to get a "bum steer" from these Bradt guides by Chris McIntyre.

I recommend the guide highly for anyone traveling to Namibia
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2003
Having bought the Botswana guide I logged on to secure a copy of the new second edition of the Namibia guide, hoping for the same level of high quality up-to-date information...Sad to say some of the information is dated ... A couple of examples to illustrate: Sossusvlei is one of Namibia's most popular destinations. The road from Sessriem to the dunes has been sealed since 2000. The book mentions that "there is talk of sealing the road". Concerning Etosha, there is mention of Helios a long disused waterhole close to the Halali camp. This waterhole was closed before 1998! In mention of Andoni, north of the Namutoni camp, the author says that he has hardly ever seen any game in that area. This depends strongly on the time of your visit. At the end of the dry season September-November, VERY large concentrations of game can be seen in this area. Further in the Caprivi section of the book (last page) there is mention of the dispute between Namibia and Botswana over Kasikili/Sedudu Island. This dispute was settled by the International Court in Hague in december 1999. But not all is bleak, the guide, is VERY COMPREHENSIVE, and still makes an EXCELLENT choice for planning, as long as you check that the information is still current. Clearly some of the material is new to the second edition and thus is current...
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2000
This book is meant for the first time traveler to Namibia. The book is specifically designed to segment the various locations within the country and cover them in a well-detailed manner. A separate section in the book is dedicated to immunizations and other health related matters - important issues for travelers to Africa. The guide sections covering Windhoek (the capital) and smaller cities are very good giving a wide range of accomodations and restaurants from which to chose. The coverage of Etosha National Park is especially noteworthy as they provide tips on viewing locations for wildlife within the park.
Matters that could have been covered more effectively include internet website references for information on health precautions, tours (aside from those advertising in the book) and shopping tips. This information can easily be obtained with a quality search engine for the internet.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2015
Bradt Namibia and Botswana were two of the best, most informative, incredibly useful guidebooks I've ever had to any country. On a self-drive, self-planned safari, the two of us alternating reading its chapters, sometimes out loud to each other, that were not just of great practical value, but also on the behavior and habitat of wild animals, as well as safety information for humans around them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
Africa needs to be "experienced" as well as read about, & this book helps you do it even before arrival...Have been to Africa 3X and have used various guide books. This is one of the best--great maps, well-organized, excellent color pictures. Good whether you are going on an organized tour (which we are doibng to Namibia) or doing it on your own (have done this 3 other times). Per all reports and pics, Namibia is a fantastic & underappreciated part of this continent.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2005
The Bradt Guide has great detail about Namibia. It presents a comprehensive review with some recently updated information. It is the kind of guide that one would bring in touring the country. Good information about the sites and places to stay, as well as good detailed local maps make this a useful guide, particularly for those not traveling on an organized tour.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2013
This was the indispensable guide for our 42 day self-drive throughout Botswana during the latter part of this year's dry season. We trusted in it every day for our gps coordinates, our turn-by-turn directions and the in-depth descriptions of campsites, villages and local resources. Its maps were precise and invaluable. Time and again we verified our day's activities and locations with a quick reference to the Bradt guide. We returned home and immediately ordered the Bradt Guide to help us plan our next self-drive trip to Namibia. Indispensable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2014
we have yet to arrive in namibia; we ordered the bradt guide after reading numerous reviews of travellers in order to prepare for our trip. this will be our first trip to africa, and it's turned out to be quite difficult to plan and to understand just what is going on, what needs to be reserved in advance, what things really cost, and where we'll be happy going/staying. after our first thorough reading of the guide (as well as reading online forums) we were able to make our decisions about accommodation and vehicles, and now we're reading it again to plan the content of the days themselves! we were happy that so many reviewers recommended this guide since we have travelled with a bradt guide in albania and it was wonderfully helpful. i feel that only with a guide book can i get a real overview of a destination's travel potential and compare destinations within a country, something that online travel sites and forums provide only piecemeal - they're too specific for someone who as yet hasn't a clue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse