Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One ft Vant PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Wonder Woman now available on Blu-ray, 3D, and 4K Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 37 reviews
on January 9, 2015
20 days - from the day of the Lincoln Assassination to the final funeral destination in Springfield, IL. Hard to locate photos of the twelve funerals and final resting spot can all be found in this book. While this book is out-of-print, it is a must have for anyone interested in learning more about Lincoln.

The book is written for adults, but photos make it an excellent tool to use with elementary students. The entire 20 days can be captured with the photographs and illustrations to explain the story. The last photo is a rarity - it shows Lincoln's and Tad's coffins, side-by-side, in the receiving vault just before the iron doors closed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2012
I LOVE THIS BOOK! I recall the LIFE Magazine cover-story article in the mid-1960s that was presented by this family of collectors & author(s). These powerful, sharp, huge photos and the detailed text were all breath-taking to a teenager back then. This amazing edition -- which grew out of that long ago LIFE Mag. story -- still merits hours of study, a magnifying glass to catch every photographic detail - and yes, a box of Kleenex as it puts-you-back-in-the-time-of-the-assassination/funeral/trial.

This is a MUST HAVE for anyone who has an appreciation for Lincoln; I guarantee any 'history buff' will not put this edition down for hours or until it is completely read. Want to give someone a great present - send them a copy of this book and a magnifying glass! WOW -- whadda treat!

The ONLY negative - I read that the family sold-off some of the great collection of Lincoln photographs that had been so carefully sought after / preserved and treasured by the Grandfather - Mr. Meserve. I am sorry they were not kept together or offered to the government so the entire nation would always have them. (Naturally, this does not deter from the authorship - but it deserves to be mentioned!)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2016
Just finished reading this book and highly recommend it. Photo's never before seen. Over 300 photo's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2015
A wonderful book full of amazing information on the trip President Lincoln's body took (by train) to his burial in Illinois. Wow! A must-read for anyone with any interest in this great man.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2016
An amazing book. Frederick Meserve would have been proud of his daughter and his photos will live on. A great read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2007
I respectfully disagree with the other reviewers of this book that it was written in honor of the centennial of Lincoln's death, or at least it was not so advertised. I purchased this first edition book in 1968, three years following its publication, and, as a college student at the time, I never paid full price for a book. The demand for this relic must have been very limited because I only purchased books that ended up in the bargain book section of my local book store. It was immediately dated by me, fitted out with a dust jacket cover and included it in my library. The price printed on the dust jacket is $11.95 but I probably got it for about half price.

This book is one of the jewels of non-fiction American history. Its value lies in the expertise of the authors, the daughter and grandson of Mr. Frederick Hill Meserve, born in 1865, and an avid life-long collector of photographs relating to Lincoln and the era in which he lived. The exclusive collection of photographs in this book that add to the impressive detail of the narrative come from the collection of Mr. Meserve that includes approximately 200,000 period photos and, among them, about 10,000 produced by the legendary photographer of Lincoln, Matthew Brady.

The detailed narrative of each aspect of Lincoln's death was taken from the first hand accounts of the participants and observers in and of these events. It includes every detail known to history including the fact that Lincoln's coffin was made by an unknown mortuary assistant, undoubtedly of Irish descent, who decorated it with the Shamrocks and stars of the Irish national emblem. Also included are photographs of the clothes Lincoln was wearing when he was shot, the contents of his pockets, his boots and probably most of the relics of the assination. And it chronicles in detail the travails of William T. Clark, the border of the room to which Lincoln was taken and later died. Both his room and his possessions were ultimately ransacked by scavengers who, even then, battled each other for anything relating to Lincoln, particularly if the item was covered in his blood. Eventually, even Clark's bed and matress were stolen and the wallpaper stripped from his walls. Mary Lincoln was very generous in giving away her husband's property. She was fully aware of the value of these objects and often wrote notes of gift to the recipients authenticating their prizes.

One hundred and forty-four years following Lincoln's death many of these relics can be found in Sotheby's and other well known auction houses up for sale. And, for the many collectors of Linconia, the finite detail of Twenty Days has made it the bible for the high-stakes collectors who deal in or collect Lincoln mementos. When the Abraham Lincoln presidential library opened in Springfield, IL, a few years ago, many Linconia collectors donated or loaned to it a treasure trove of memorabelia that even includes a number of Mary Lincoln's famous dresses.

Whoever owns a hardbound copy of Twenty Days should treasure it and pass it down to future generations. It is unlikely that this book will ever be reprinted again.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2014
An amazing book...the complete illustrated chronicle of the Lincoln assassination and his funeral. The photos are incredible and most aren't ones you see these days. The event was a huge blow to the nation still reeling from the effects of the Civil War, and people reacted much as we did 98 years later when Kennedy was assassinated. The book was written in 1965 for the centennial of Lincoln's death, and I first saw it in elementary school and was frankly somewhat upset by it...there are several "spurious Lincoln in death" pictures which were scary to a young kid. But I also realized the historic value of the book and knew I had to have it in my collection. Definitely worth getting!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2015
Stunning collection of photos and information. Well Done.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2017
Great book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2017
Amazing book. I learned a lot about Abraham Lincoln that I didn't know. Love him even more now after having read the book. Jam packed with rare photos.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse