Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Weekly One STEM $54.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Star Wars movies on sale for Prime members Star Wars movies on sale for Prime members Star Wars movies on sale for Prime members  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on June 25, 2014
The first third of the book talks about dinosaurs in general, and the last part is about 50 of the most popular dinosaurs. For each dinosaur, it has a nice description of it and how it lived, great pictures, a chart showing the dinosaur size compared to a human and the location of where it lived.

Before this book, I read The Complete Book of Dinosaurs by Dougal Dixon (Dougal Dixon's newest book is The Complete Illustrated Encyclopedia Of Dinosaurs & Prehistoric Creatures) which is an encyclopedia of all the hundreds of dinosaurs known, many of which are almost the same. Dixon's book also included flying pterosaurs and prehistoric sea reptiles which I liked.

I recommend to first read the National Geographic book, and later if you want to learn more, the newer Dougal Dixon book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 5, 2013
This is one of the finest books on dinosaurs that this long-time dino fan has ever seen. The illustrations, by Raul Martin, are in total just gorgeous, and there is enough information to keep the non-specialist occupied for a long time. The book is very attractively organized and laid out. There are numerous thoughtful touches. For example, frequent time scales graphically put each highlighted dinosaur in its era, and each featured dinosaur is shown to scale in a small diagram with humans. There are numerous brief, informative general articles such as "Dinosaur Biology and Behavior", "Scavenging", "Attack and Defense" and "The Dinosaur Diet". The bulk of the book is then devoted to lavishly illustrated one or two page articles on individual dinosaurs, divided into the classic 'bird-hipped' (ornithischia) and 'lizard-hipped' (saurischia) groupings. This is not really a book for small children (some would enjoy the pictures, but for sensitive small kids the pictures might be too realistic and scary), but for motivated older children, high schoolers and adults, it is a real feast for the eyes, and a great general intro to dinosaurs. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 18, 2015
This is a great book in true National Geographic style! Pictures are grand and text is interesting and well written. Not a kids book, but dino lovers of any age will enjoy it. The only down side is that it is dated a bit and some of the newer really BIG stars that are now getting more attention, like the Spinosaurus, for example, are not profiled. Dinosaur research is moving so fast that it is hard to keep up with the new discoveries. But still this book is worth having and enjoying.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 28, 2013
National Geographic Dinosaurs is a companion to the title National Geographic Prehistoric Mammals. Both books highlight a group of extinct species and give page-long overviews of their appearance, diet, etc. Another great feature of Dinosaurs is that t is illustrated by the very talented Raul Martin, a palaeontographer who usually focuses on mammals. Although the art has not aged well; it is still highly skilled and pleasant to look at. Provided that one knows which information is no longer considered valid, this is a fine book for anyone who is interested in dinosaurs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 19, 2007
I read the book carefully so that I can provide a 3-year old sound information on his favourite subject. I don't think he can read this book yet. It is ment for older children with at least a 3rd grade reading skill but I suppose he can enjoy the well made illustrations. This is a very well written and illustrated book. The scope however is a little narrow. Nevertheless it covered the subject clearly and in a rather formal manner - almost text book like. The "family" structure of dinosaur was made clear and their live/habits were described in an easy to grasp manner. It would have been nice if it covered also the other two orders - plesiosaur and pterosaurs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 3, 2013
Splendid book for educational reference, or just to have on your shelf. Great illustrations, and this book is actually organized chronologically and is much more comprehensive than your average book on dinos. I know because, as a teacher, I have spent hours poring over books at the library, searching for those that I like best. And this is the best book I have found. I love it and recommend it for adults and older kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 30, 2010
I got this book for my 4 year old for Christmas. He's a dinosaur nut! He loves this book. The pictures are fantastic and there's a ton of information. Granted, he isn't ready for all the info in this book but it will grow with him and be useful for years to come. (Or until the scientists make new discoveries and all the info changes. ;) ) And to be honest, we got this book as much for us as him since he always asks questions and we were tired of never having the answers. It's a nice reference over all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 23, 2015
This book is a great book with great illustrations of dinosaurs and also it has good information of the world they lived in. This book is old so expect much of the information to be out of date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 13, 2012
My grandson loves dinosaurs. This book we selected together. I told him that I could have it sent to me and then visit him or just have it sent to him (faster). He said send it to him. Andrew knows his dinosaurs. He rattles off the names that I can't even pronounce. Special book for a special boy. National Geographic Dinosaurs
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 17, 2016
Très beau livre. Service impeccable! Parfait.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse