Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 76 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 82 reviews
on March 19, 2010
As someone who lived through the event, and has been collecting the news coverage of those four days in November 1963 ever since, I almost decided not to purchase yet another video. I thought I had seen everything that was possibly available, but I am so glad I changed my mind. There are news clips (some have partially been available for years) but seen in thier fuller context, they become extraordinarily moving. The clips are simply fascinating to see in a more in-depth viewing, especially inside and outside of Parkland as well as the Trade Mart. The horror is in plain view, and it is a fabulous collection of American broadcast history. My only (minor) issue with this film and others who insist on using it is the picture of the yellow roses laying in the back on the limo after the president has supposedly been removed from the back seat. That cannot be the President's limo -- Mrs. Kennedy was given red roses that day (not yellow ones#, and obviously the seat would have been covered in blood and not publicly shown. I believe that is the limo that the Johnsons were riding in, as earlier clips show Lady Bird holding yellow roses at Love Field.

The film also reveals an America of mid-20th century, which has a look of innocence and almost bewilderment. Massively incorrect information... smoking cigarettes on air...much opinion instead of facts... just fascinating and just as I remember it). There is an immaturity to the broadcasts that are especially touching in view of the state of the industry today. The clips are essentially Dallas news personnel, with some national network break-ins. It therefore has a very immediate and local reaction. It all seeems another world, another time. It was really not terribly long ago, yet so much happened in the decades that followed this cataclysmic event, that there is a multi-layered sadness to it. For anyone interested in either JFK, the early 60's, or the assassination itself, this DVD is mandatory viewing. Would love to see more as old films are released from files.
44 comments| 185 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2011
The emphasis with this video is on recreating the events of 22 November 1963 in the order as they happened. A fair amount of the video is full length sequences, not the edited pieces we have become accustomed to seeing. To true historians, it may not be vast amounts of "new" footage, but it is pieces rarely seen by the general public.
This is what appealed to me-that day, we didn't see everything as it happened. We depended on network news breaks on radio, then TV. I remember as a child, TV coverage ended in our region after the 10 or 11 pm news. This was the first time coverage and telecasts were run all night long. The businesses sent workers home early that day, second & third shifts were canceled. Our world stopped turning for 4 days. The voice of Walter Cronkite bringing news in small segments up to and including the funeral procession.
Today, Americans have become much more accustomed to disasterous events and assasinations of public figures, rating only short blips on the constantly running new shows. But for the three generations of Americans living at this time, it was a 'first time' event unlike anything since the Pearl Harbor attack in 1941. Watch this and see when America changed.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 29, 2010
This DVD is a collection of news stories during those 4 days of upheaval. It is not a platform for conspiracy buffs, who may have seen most of this already. Watching the emotions of the witnesses, journalists and spectators is compelling. The editing is a little choppy but that is because they are trying to capture the events during those days, which means going back and forth to the venues where people were to meet with or see JFK. This is a condensed version of a project PBS did some time ago when they ran the news footage for four days straight. If you are new to the JFK story, this is a good beginning.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2017
I love anything about JFK. I thought this video was well written and well thought out. They put the attention towards Jackie a bit, which I liked. It was actually fascinating to watch and brings up a lot of questions. I liked it that they interviewed the past secret service men. It was sad to watch but I feel that it's a necessary part of history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2013
Absolutely rated this a five star because these actual news films tell the story of what happened so well. As I was 9 yrs. old at the time this happened, I remember so much coverage but never saw much of it again until this DVD recaptured the events as they happened. Also I was able to spot certain things other JFK authors have written about but never understood until seeing the news coverage again. Watch the secret agents at the airport and ask why do they look puzzled and frustrated? Why did the agent stop the limo before proceeding to the hospital? Read the books and watch this DVD and you will understand why there are still today so many unanswered questions.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2013
If only on Bluray! Some of the truth behind what really did happen! We won't know until we are dead and the real Government/ coverup/lies/assasins are dead. Everyone knows that the kill shot came from the front of the grassy knoll and the paid assassin is in a Federal penitentary locked up 24 hours a day to hide the real truth. He has addmitted he did it and who gave him the orders and who was with him on the grassy knoll. The government/cia/mafia/dallas police/warren commission had JFK killed!!!!!!!
AND POOR BOBBY!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2013
This is a good tape for those interested in the series of events leading up to and following the JFK assassination. It is particularly valuable because of its inclusion of local Dallas and national reporting of the assassination as it happened. The strengths and weaknesses of TV reporting at that time are there to see. The DVD also includes clips of press conferences with law enforcement officials in Dallas that I hadn't seen before.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2016
I was in middle school during the Kennedy presidency. That was a very innocent time for our country. I wanted to add it to my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 1, 2011
Is there a lot in here that's new? No. But the context is important. Here it isn't historical fact, it's breaking news. We hear how the police originally let the Oswald just walk past them out of the Book Depository because they were told by management he was "supposed to be there." One of the early rumors was that "they" -- the assassins -- were a man/woman duo. Oswald is identified as Lee Harold Oswald often. As he is being transported, you can hear the Dallas police speak proudly about how safe he is, and then boom, Oswald is killed, too, before our very eyes. I was touched, too, by how polite both Jackie and Rose Kennedy were, the very day of the murder. Jackie asks the priest to "please pray for her husband." Rose refers to LBJ as "Mr. President" and thanks him for his condolences. Amazing!
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
This DVD by National Geographic is well worth the minimal cost. It puts you, the viewer, in real time experiencing the shocking assassination of President John F. Kennedy as it unfolds. This is done masterfully with just a minimal amount of narration at the beginning. Then the DVD lets the "Lost" tapes do the talking.
As a very young boy at the time of the JFK assassination, this DVD delivers the full impact of this tragic and historic event to me 50 years later.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse