Oil month Automotive HPC Spring Reading Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Start your Baby Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
48
National Geographic Prehistoric Mammals
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$24.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on November 2, 2016
This is a wonderful book. I oftentimes feel as though the age of prehistoric mammals, approximately 63 million years ago to about 10,000 years BC, is largely overlooked, and this tome does a satisfying job of chronicling and organizing the ascension and evolution of mammals. The artwork in this book is superb. Based upon the book's contents, I'm not quite sure why some people are calling this a children's book. Certainly, it's not as technical as a college textbook, but I doubt that was ever the author's intention. Unless you are a hardcore paleontologist or taking a college level course on the subject, this book provides more than enough information to educate and entice all people, both young and old. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to know a little bit more about the fantastic (and hairy) beasts that used to walk the Earth.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 9, 2017
My kid loves this book, and I do, too! Absolutely gorgeous artwork makes this a real treat to read. It captures the drama and beauty of the prehistoric world, bringing the animals and environments to life in a way that has truly inspired my five-year-old, who says he'd like to become a paleontologist. Kudos to the artist and author for creating a work that will have a forever home on our bookshelf.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 5, 2017
Very cool & interesting book. It is mostly illustrated but with some photos. The illustrations are great with lots of cool info. on these once living mammals.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 28, 2018
Just enough info about the species to give you an idea about its life history. Great photos and lots of species covered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 19, 2014
I have enjoyed reading this book and studying the illustrations, which have a wealth of detail. I now know more about these magnificent beasts (not just my favorite ones), and how they lived. Teenagers would probably love this book.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 2, 2007
This is an excellent overview of mammalian evolution for the general reader. In no way would I consider this a "children's" book. The book covers representative species of the major mammalian orders, which include range maps, a colored species time mark on a geological time line, a species size graphic, and a basic narrative. This is all the information that is necessary to get an overview of mammalian evolution. Each species is covered on a two page spread using the same format making it easy to locate items of specific interest.

If I have one issue, it is that the geological is often not linear, such as the 2 million year long Pleistocene era being shown as 3 inches long, and the 3 million year long Pliocene being shown below the Pleistocene as 1 inch long. However, I don't know if a linear scale would be practical.

In the normal National Geographic fashion, the graphics are excellent.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 1, 2007
As far as printing quality, solid info and artistic craftsmanship go, this is a (very) good book. But it's also a somewhat boring one, lacking a more daring, dynamic approach to the various prehistoric ecosystems and the relationships between various species. Also, as a Brazilian, I must protest about the lazy approach to the information on prehistoric South American faunas, which relies wholly on the information provided by Argentinian sites studied by Darwin in the XIXth. Century, completely ignoring the recent work made by Brazilian researchers on sites such as the Itaborai formation, just in the neighbourhood of Rio de Janeiro; also ignored is the Rio National Museum, with its fine fossil specimens excavated in the Lagoa Santa site during the late XIXth. Century including complete skeletons of a ground sloth and a sabertooth.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 3, 2018
Extremely interesting and educational. We know a lot more about prehistoric mammals than we did a few years ago. Amazing how many different kinds of mammals lived so long ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 8, 2018
Bought this for a five year old who is already reading at an amazing level. He also knows a lot about the Ice Age and reads National Geographic. He loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 22, 2017
My son loves this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse