Buying Options

Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR
Kindle Price: $0.99

Save $13.96 (93%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

You've subscribed to The Nations! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
The Nations by [Ken Farmer, Buck Stienke]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused

Follow the Authors

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Nations Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 160 ratings
Book 1 of 10 in The Nations

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$0.99

Length: 324 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $7.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Beyond your wildest dreams
From DC & Neil Gaiman, The Sandman arises only on Audible. Listen free with trial
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

Review

THE NATIONS - Winner of the LARAMIE AWARD for Best Classic Western - 2014.
THE NATIONS is one of three finalists for the Academy of Western Artists Elmer Kelton Awards - Western Fiction.
With a compelling plot, vivid characters, realistic action, and gripping narrative, THE NATIONS is not just a thrilling saga of the American West--it is a triumph!
--DWIGHT JON ZIMMERMAN, New York Times and Wall Street Journal bestselling co-author of LINCOLN'S LAST DAYS
For fans of ZANE GREY, LOUIS L'AMOUR, ELMER KELTON AND LARRY McMURTRY, the western still lives. Legendary Deputy, Bass Reeves, the first black Deputy Marshal west of the Mississippi, enforces the law west of Ft. Smith for the Hanging Judge, Issac Parker.
So good that it should be made into a movie, By Israel Drazin (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)
It is within this story that we are entranced with the rich history and a small part of the record of the U.S. Deputy Marshals, principally Bass Reeves. They relate both his sense of justice and tenderness toward family and friends. We are caught up in the time and place as if we are there.

"'I cain't do it, Jack...Jest cain't,' Bass said as tears filled his eyes. 'Been a slave...Won't make an innocent child one.'"
Katherine Boyer - Amazon and Midwest Book Review
 
The Ringo Kid, aka Alex Cord, endorses The Nations. "Stands alone, unlike any Western you've ever read...Great dialogue. Action packed, blood and guts aplenty. With admirable skill, the authors blend violence and tenderness to move the reader to care about the characters."

From the Author

The sequel to THE NATIONS entitled HAUNTED FALLS is out in E  and print. Spirits, thrills, action, Indian lore, danger, treachery, romance, tragedy, humor, the supernatural and surprises! It's all in Haunted Falls. Time to saddle up!
HAUNTED FALLS is a true Classic Western. - Alex Cord
Ten volumes are out in the Nations series, The Nations, Haunted Falls, Hell Hole, Across the Red, Bass and the Lady, Lady Law, Blue Water Woman and Flynn. Hell Hole, Lady Law, Blue Water Woman, Flynn, Aurali Red, and Coldiron were written by Ken Farmer alone. 
Best damn western book in a long time. - RJ in Tn

Product details

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
160 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on May 26, 2015
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 29, 2016
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 6, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 16, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 10, 2013
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Patricia
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nations
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on September 24, 2012
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
robin garcia
5.0 out of 5 stars Try one!
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 14, 2016
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Marcel Metcalfe
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Reviewed in Canada on November 19, 2016
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
#1 western book fan
5.0 out of 5 stars book 1
Reviewed in Canada on January 31, 2017
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Mike Love
2.0 out of 5 stars not the best western I have read by a long mile
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 1, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse