Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 21 reviews
on June 16, 2016
I wanted to love this controller. I have been a huge fan of Traktor Pro 2 sofware, and got my first s4 several years ago. When I saw the s8, I thought this is it.

The good:
The controlloer gives you a lot of control over the software functions, and makes it easier for you to pull your head out of your laptop.

The bad:
Unfortunately the controller is glitchy, and quirky. The way it applies the effects panels to the track channels is weird and counter-intuitive. Out of the blue the deck selected will show as D, but the stems/remix faders will somehow be controlling Deck B - one of the the worst problems you could have in my opinion when you are trying to perform live. The point at which the remix decks will cue is very inconsistent/unpredictable . . . I tested this over 30 times by pressing play at the exact same point in a track, and the results were all over the place - again making it difficult to perform live.

Overall I enjoy using this controller, but I find myself cringing at using certain features when playing live . . . or sometimes staying away from those features all together . . . some of which were the ones I chose the controller for in the first place.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2015
The sound quality is great, it's solidly built and has dedicated a booth out and XLR mains. Even the position of the headphone cue balance / volumes knobs are perfect. But for regular DJs, everything else is meh.

It seems like the S8 was designed almost exclusively for tech-house producer DJs, which makes sense since almost all 67 Traktor Remix Tracks are techno or tech house. The S8 is all about looping the same bleeps and beats over and over, trying to find new ways to make those bleeps you've been playing forever sounds fresh and interesting.

In theory, the S8s was designed so you won't need your laptop open and in front of you when you're playing, but many fundamental features don't work well enough to be able to do that. The navigation touch strips (which replaced the jog wheels) are wildly inaccurate, and totally inferior to iOS touch screens. so you'll be depending on your trackpad much more than using an S2 or S4.

Then there's the on-deck screens. They only provide the barest info and do it poorly. The waveforms are low-poly geometry, meaning that they're not nearly as accurate as, nor do they match up with, the software's waveform display. Further, there's no minute markers in the full track waveform to determine relative position and duration, so back to the laptop.

Are you a power DJ who needs to quickly navigate around your track? That's no longer easy - you can't do it without switching back and forth between meta-views. For example, you can jump between hotcues or you can skip beats backwards and forwards, but you can't do both at the same time. This makes the S8 an extremely poor tool for basics like setting up beat grids & cues or mixing unfamiliar tracks.

Some of these issues could be fixed if we could customize the controller, but we can't! I heard only the on-screen display wasn't customizable, but turns out the entire controller is locked down into one way of doing things. Maybe in the future NI will release an update that will let us customize the S8. When they do, I'll revise my review. But for now, it's only good for a very narrow set of producer DJs.
22 comments| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2015
overall very fun to mix with and fairly well built. i disagree with people saying it is like a tank because only 3 of the 6 sides are metal, the rest are plastic, but it doesn't feel flimsy. all the potentiometer shafts are plastic.the touch strips are very nice, and the crossfader is actually decent for stock.the performance pads have an annoying clicky thing to them, and i feel that they would be better off being more like MPC drum pads, than these clicky things, however they are very responsive and work fine.the screens are amazingly clear and nice to use. i really want to love this unit to death and im not far from it.....

the factory mapping is pretty well thought out and intuitive, if you are already used to traktor , you will up and used to the workflow in a few hours.
however the factory mapping does leave some things to be desired, such as a preview player, and there are no pitch faders, which is ffine for me but some may find bothersome, and the BIG drawback, and the reason im giving 4 stars rather than 5 is that you CANNOT at the time of this review, customize the factory .tsi settings on this controller. there is a midi page available but you cannot user map the screens. you also cannot customize the display information on the screens, such as showing key text, or beats to cue. im really hoping a future update addresses this major downfall of this otherwise awesome control, as i am someone that places traktor in its own league due to the fact you can easily customize your hardware layouts through mappings. in the end the features i miss arent game changers per se(and ill just map the funtions i need to a smaller side control), and i do really enjoy using the S8, however for this kind of money i would really like to be able to tweak the unit to my exact use.

if they open the tsi to user changes... instant 5 stars.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2016
traktor is known as combat machine, you just gotta learn how to use it properly.

for me, traktor is the best software, you will also easily beat serato or cdj in back to back competition. meaning it is basically made for battle. more durable, more sturdy, more accurate, more stable, more features, more weapons.

i beat match by ear, i don't use sync at all and i love the "strip pad". i also have a pair of turntable and a battle mixer with innofader. remember this, long time ago, turntalists laughed at cdj jog wheels djs. and now you are complaining about the strip pad? you can also set the sensitivity in the setting. people are just lazy or expect so much then complain without any tries.

having contoller with "sync" button won't get you to the professional level. don't expect that when you purchase this and leave negative feedback.
without discipline, you are still an artificial.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2016
If you own Traktor and want the next step in technology, this is the flagship controller I would have never thought to exist. Stems is the new thing for transitioning and this S8 makes accessing stems a second nature to this beast. I highly recommend this controller. Just be patient, there's a lot to learn.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2016
Yes ... everything on one unit and sounds fantastic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2017
First of all let me start with how my box came in!! I immediately thought this product will not work until after seeing this!!! And yes my power button would not turn on :( and if you check alll over google they have said they all have had power issues!! Literally I have never had a problem with native till now!! And im hoping that the power is just an accident and not just a broken kontroler I g! Cause if it's a power issue I'll buy it again but I just sent it back today :( I'm not happy with native right now
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2014
The most amazing Dj tool I've used yet! I love how fast you can access all the functions! Native Instruments put a lot of time into this beast. You must do a lot of research to fully unlock the capabilities of the S8! I recommend watching a lot of YouTube videos.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2015
this is the best DJ controller so many ways of performance options i recommend you this thing its awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
Awesome machine!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here