Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno



on August 31, 2016
SOME WORK O.K. BUT BETTER TO GET PRESCRIPTION MEDICINE FROM YOUR DR. AS THEY
WORK MUCH BETTER AND FASTER.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 8, 2013
Awesome job. This guy compiles every last thing you want to know about natural or low cost remedies. I am going to give them a try with renewed hope that I will be free from herpes infection within a year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 12, 2014
Nothing I didn't already know, pretty basic information, but it's a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 29, 2013
I was battling shingles and thought this book might have some helpful treatment tips. It does but it it's nothing more than a compilation of very easily found free information online. It's not even organized well so it's not even useful as a reference manual. If you knew someone who had shingles (or herpes, etc.) and did NOT have any Internet access, then the book would be helpful. For anyone who has Internet access and knows the very basics of using a search engine, this book isn't going to delivery any more than that.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 29, 2013
Did not give me any information that I was looking for. would not buy this product again. Holy crap i have nothing else to say
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 5, 2012
For those who cannot tolerate long-term use of acyclovir, this book provides scientific studies of natural and dietary options which have shown promise in herpes suppression. The bibliography is visible in Amazon's "Look Inside This Book" feature. There, one will find highly reputable journals such as the Lancet, Science, European Journal of Dermatology and many others.

A quick internet search will turn up testimonials on alternative therapies, but it is important to have evidence for both safety and effectiveness. What is so helpful about this book is the author cites scholarly, peer-reviewed medical literature that explains both how and why each alternative treatment is supposed to be effective. It is up to each individual to determine whether a certain treatment is right for him or herself.

Mr. Hill is careful to include both the encouraging results and the counter indications. For example, if a substance was effective against herpes in laboratory simulations but was not tested on humans, he will say it. The idea is to let the reader have everything necessary to make an informed decision. He reviews about 18 different options. Some effective substances are present in foods like cabbage juice, garlic, coconut oil or green tea. He reviews the literature on the effect of certain vitamins and minerals on immune support and therefore herpes suppression.

Of the herbs available in supplement form, he tells which should not be used by people with pre-existing health conditions. For example, Olive Leaf is useful against herpes because of its anti-viral properties, but it also lowers blood pressure. This is obviously helpful for some people but not for others. As it turns out, many of the natural alternatives offer health benefits besides just herpes suppression. Olive leaf has also been used for treating chronic fatigue and helps bone loss associated with osteoporosis. Effective doses and toxicity levels are discussed. It was helpful to know the dose range and signs/symptoms of overdoing it. It's all here. In the case of BHT, the toxicity level is 50 times greater than the effective dose. He also tells whether the supplement is best taken with meals or on an empty stomach - all very helpful information.

I am grading the book at 4 rather than 5 stars only because there is no mention of Melissa oil, which appears to be the most promising alternative remedy of all. The London-based Herpes Virus Association speaks highly of it, and it is the effective ingredient in the German product Lomaherpan which is not available in the United States. It might possibly be the effective ingredient of Abreva as well. The herbal extract is available in health and aromatherapy stores, but there are many questions about how to prepare Melissa oil - concentration, methods of extraction from the plant (Co2, distillation, etc.,) which carrier oil to use for dilution, etc.

Long-term use of pharmaceuticals for herpes is profitable for drug companies. It works in their favor if people are frightened of all the alternatives - herbal, dietary, etc. Yet ironically, plant compounds are often the basis for prescription drugs. Thanks to Mr. Hill for bringing together the scientific data is publicly available, and giving people the opportunity to do their own research. Keep up the good work!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 16, 2008
This book is what all of the other herpes self-help books are not. It is also not what the other books are. The writing style is a bit technical but the content is understandable by non-medical people like me. It covers a discussion of many of the "alternative" treatment modalities strictly from the standpoint of how well they are or are not documented in scientific and medical literature. The author makes no claims about miraculous cures and generates no sales pitches, but he has gone to considerable effort to dig up some promising alternative treatments that are also effective for other conditions too. Some of the supplements and herbs have a lot of documentation supporting them and some have very little. Just the facts clearly laid out.

I know several individuals who are using BHT to suppress their herpes outbreaks with complete success and no apparent side effects. I wish I had read this book when my grandmother was suffering from her shingles. I highly recommend it!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 9, 2014
most of it is not scientifically proven and can be read for free online. Some is even risky to use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 6, 2012
Easy and effective treatment. I purchased this book as a gift for my sister and she told me that it helped clearing her sores within 3 days. I'm a writer for many of the woman's health topics and have always advocated natural treatments in my books. My most recently published book Permanently Beat Yeast Infection & Candida: Proven Step-by-Step Cure for Yeast Infections and Candidiasis. All Natural, Lasting Treatment That Will Prevent Recurring Infection includes many of the treatments in this book as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here