Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 41 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 63 reviews
on May 19, 2014
The purpose of this book isn't to hand you tools to convert your manufacturing management into the Toyota Production System. The purpose of this book is to plant a TPS seed in your mind while giving it just enough water to let it grow.

While the ideas in this book are not outlandish or even new, they are presented in a way that resonates at every turn. The writing can be a little repetitive and hokey, but since you can enjoy the entire contents in less than an hour, I don't think it's a problem whatsoever. I think the best way to put this book to work is to read it once in one sitting, then read it chapter by chapter afterwards. When you run into a problem that needs more explicit process theory, the suggested reading list in the back should guide you down the path of TPS goodness.

There are still some things I'm unclear of, but I will research as time continues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
This pamphlet-sized story is a fictional account of the common ills found with mass-production manufacturing. Uses an example of a home do-it-yourself project run like a mass-production factory. Although it's an exaggerated tale, it does show how ridiculous mass production can be.

Pro:
+ Humorous and entertaining
+ Short and makes its points
+ Simple: Easy to read for the ultra-beginner
+ Some nice "isms" and other quotables

Con:
- I don't believe this is "all you need to know" (although everything here is good to know)
- Does not do a full comparison of lean/just-in-time (JIT), nor describes pitfalls of JIT as an alternative
- An exaggerated tale that relies on the exaggeration rather than a truer tale to make the comparison

Bottom line: Neutral - neither recommended or not recommended (nearly equal pros and cons) since this book lacks the adequate rebuttal/critique of JIT, it's really a sell of the concept. This is sort of a light version of "The Goal."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2017
Simple read but clear in its message.
Key concepts are of value whether you are new to manufacturing or in need of a refresher.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2015
I used to work for a global manufacturing company called T.I Group. This book was required reading for all senior executives. I traveled to Canada to watch it in action exactly as the book describes. I couldn't get my jaw off the floor. No inventory in a huge empty building. Happy auto Union workers. Red lights on mobile work stations. Trucks pulling up every 45 mins. Crazy. They could play soccer matches in the empty facility.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2016
Nice easy read. Great way to introduce lean thinking to a group. Not sure that I fully agree with the 10 principles but it demonstrates the foundations of lean thinking and possibly leave the benefits for interpretation. Using a story brings out the human element often forgotten in manufacturing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2014
The format of teaching by using an entertaining yarn has been done before with business books ("The Goal" comes to mind) and it works brilliantly. This book tackles a different lesson in manufacturing and so I would recommend getting both. The book is so engaging I breezed through it in only 4 hours or so. The amount of ground covered is not immense but because the story is so entertaining I remember it and have applied some of the knowledge already.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2014
The lessons that Sandy learned from Ralph during this project were invaluable for him to realize that he did not know anything about manufacturing until he met Ralph and was introduced to the lean approach including JIT and TQM and what all that these have to offer. The concepts illustrated in the book help the reader in developing an appreciation for this approach of doing the job right the first time which is crucial in such a highly competitive world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2017
If you're just getting into manufacturing and you want a good foundation this is the perfect book. It goes over key concepts and underlying principles of two different ways production can operate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2014
This book was a good read, and is a good look inside the manufacturing world. It gives good real life examples on what problems that can occur in the real world. This book was a requirement to read for one of my manufacturing class and it was a really good read. If you are thinking about going into engineering or just have questions, this 90 page book is great incite into the manufacturing world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2015
Anyone in manufacturing in the U.S. should read this. It turns upside-down what the old codgers have been telling us about assembly line efficiencies. As an engineer I mulled over the ideas extensively. I've become a big fan of this way of manufacturing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse