BCA Month Beauty Magazine Deals Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



on December 14, 2013
Not only is Neil the exact percussionist I always thought he would be. He is a Teacher, a Shaman, a spiritual guide. His excitement about his approach to kit drumming, is quite evident. He doesn't want you to bend to his style. He wants you to take the music where it leads you. He encourages individuality. Neil takes you through all the aspects of being a modern-day arena act. He puts in the time to perfect his craft, because he respects his mode of expression. I am not a trained musician. I play drums as a hobbyist. I didn't start with rudimentary lessons, and learn counting and time sense. I picked it up by doing what I liked, and going to the next level. Neil even speaks to the beginner, which I consider myself. Any skill level, any knowledge, any technical proficiency or ability will be able to take something away from this video. His drum tech even shows you how he assembles, and mics his performance kit. There are specific key fills and ride patterns that are broken down, and then played in slow motion. As far as musicianship, and creativity, I would recommend this video to musicians playing any instrument. His views on practice, warm up and performance, in a work/life balance are essential tools for any gigging musician. All this from a very humble personality. If you are, or want to be a professional musician, this video is a must own!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2017
Holy buckets! Drum fans have to check this out. Neil discusses setup, playing, & playing classic Rush parts.
A must for drummers
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
This really a great DVD set for any serious Neil Peart fan. The interviews are very insightful and interesting. Neil breaks down the main drum parts of many of Rush's well known songs and that alone is worth the price of admission. However, you also get a behind the scenes look at Neil during sound check with the band, as well as his practice and warm up routine before a show. I'm a drummer and have been a huge Neil Peart fan for decades. I highly recommend this DVD not only to other drummers, but I think non drummers will also find the nearly 8 hours of material very entertaining!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2016
If you're interested in learning about these songs and what went into the drum compositions, the interviews are great. Also, to be able to watch the live performances in just the drum view and with the mix set so that the drums are in the foreground is awesome. Whether you enjoy just watching Neil play and talk drums or you're trying to learn to play some of these songs, this is an awesome video.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2012
This is an outstanding learning tool. Mr. Peart takes you behind the scenes of the Time Machine tour, where you can experience EVERYTHING. From his own rehearsals and warm-ups before the tour starts, song selection and how he creates his solo piece. The best part is actually breaking down the set, song by song with explanations, and video analysis of the best parts of the songs, these are shown in regular speed and slowed down, then you see the song played live with the mix of the song in full focus on the drums and the cameras just focusing on Neil.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2011
Much like the man himself, this DVD is great on many levels. Neil discusses everything around his music from the recent Time Machine Tour. Great Sound. Great footage from the tour. At 500 minutes, it's more than even this die-hard fan can handle in a single sitting, but it's just so good. After all the previous books and videos, I was wondering what else he could possibly cover and how could it be interesting. As usual, Neil is fascinating and goes beyond the mortal realm. Any Rush fan, even the non-drummers will be well entertained by this. Did I mention the sound?
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2017
It is Inspired!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2014
Got this for my husband for Christmas and it was a big hit. We both love RUSH. Neil Peart is a very fascinating and deep person. His writing is the fuel behind RUSH. This dvd does not disappoint!!! We've watched it many times. And if you have a budding songwriter or band member in your family, I'd recommend this. Probably has some language in it, but lots of pearls of wisdom around and among great performances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2014
Neil is surely a master at his craft. He doesnt just beat the skins he is a composer and very methodical in his writing and composition of his percussion. Every beat and every strike of the drums is well thought out and not just some maniac with arms flying all over the place. I could watch him for hours and listening to him explain his craft is also something that is captivating and awe inspiring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2012
Got to love the way Neil Peart plays. This video give you the inside of some of the best songs in contemporary drumming rock history. Wish only I could have had it 10 years ago!!! ( much to ask?) It would saved me a lot of time. The pdf book is great, but the companion book is better. For a Rush fan, to watch the inside history behind the making of the drum kit, the practicing room and the people involved with Mr Peart performance is amazing among other things. Beautifull scenery, love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse