Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Acoutsic Christmas Electronics Gift Guide $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
38
Networking Is Dead: Making Connections That Matter
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on November 13, 2012
In this engaging business fable, the new face of networking emerges: When you can be connected to anyone on the planet within "six degrees of separation," the potential for overwhelm is great. And getting actual business results in this numbers game turns out to be more smoke and churn than genuine opportunities. Starting with your business "why" is the crucial first step, one that grows and evolves with you and your business. This approach really resonates with me and affirms what I have experienced in more than 30 years in business. In our world of frenetic connecting, authors Melissa and Larry reveal the secrets for developing quality connections at a humane and highly productive pace. Fall in love with their 10 inspiring lessons from two masters of making connections that matter. Like the growing slow food and slow money movements, the reality that a smaller number of quality connections makes a bigger difference in your life and results is way past due. A great story with potent lessons for connecting more deeply.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 28, 2012
We all need to know more about being an "Attractor of Possibilities"! Just the first few chapters really make you start to think!! 'Networking Is Dead' gets to the heart of things....better understanding your motivations going into "revealing your unique differentiator that attracts MORE of the perfect clients"... Love the new "Making Your Connections Count" term... that IS what it's all about...
Perfect gift idea for a business collegue and/or the young student in your life!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 3, 2013
We all have our paradigms about various business issues - marketing, advertising, networking,etc - but then every now and then someone, some information, a book comes along which breaks those paradigms and forces one to reexamine how we do things.

Networking is Dead is such a book.

The authors have used the story of three characters in a practical setting to illustrate how networking really should be done. Once you've read it you'll never network the same way again. This is a must read for anyone in business and will force you to reavaluate your entire rationale for networking and how to go about it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 14, 2012
In this automaton-world where individuals can push their message to thousands of people at the speed of a click, it becomes tragically easy to become takers, not exchangers. Unfortunately, any relationship built upon one person merely using another won't last. Melissa's book reminds us all that it's more important than ever to develop mutually beneficial relationships for transformational opportunities if we are to build sustainable relationships that make a difference. This easy-to-read parable is a strong message to get back to basics in our development of business and personal networks. Create bonds that last by reading "Networking is Dead" and carry the message forward in your life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 10, 2014
The book takes some basic ideas--concentric circles of connections, types, and levels of ex chances--and presents them in a story readers can relate to. More importantly, the authors provide structure around building and maintaining connections that matter. Not every one of your connections is the same--you know that. Well, the authors give you a structure
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 19, 2014
Good story and great tips on how to make connections that matter. You will come away from this book with fresh ideas and strategies for working with current clients and finding new ones.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 28, 2013
Connections is the way of introducing New Products and New Ideas to the masses.
If you always do what you have always done...you will always get the same results.
If you need new results...try something new!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 6, 2014
This is a very practical book. It is easy to read and the content is really great. I highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 22, 2013
I think I know about networking pretty much and bought this book just to read on plain, but I was surprised how this book was useful. Easy to read and gives you very good approach how to build good network.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 15, 2015
All the five star reviews of this book is a good indication of how prevalent the act of requesting favorable reviews from friends and acquaintances is.

I've found a strong correlation between the quality of a book and the number and price of used copies for sale. Notice that for a two-year old book, there are over 70 available starting at $0.01.

It took 15 pages to get through what could have effectively said in two pages. The overdone and excessive use of exposition ("Meredith nibbled on her scone and tried to ignore the bluesy rendition of 'Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer' humming away on the cafe's speakers overhead." and "Meredith watched as Jill flirted lazily with the barista who took her order. She was in her mid-twenties and looked impeccable in fitted linen slacks and a crisp white blouse, but Meredith knew the part-time career coach was far more comfortable in the yoga pants and tank top she wore while putting her and Lance through their paces at her private gym three times a week.")

Storytelling is a proven way to convey a concept and the above excerpts may have been appropriate if they were necessary to or supportive of the theme, but in this case I could not get past the extra crap ("'Happy New Year!' Jill declared cheerfully, joining them at the booth and hugging them both as the scent of her peppermint mocha breezed across the table.") to find the point.

The concept as I understand it from the book description seems to be sound but the story-telling was so over-the-top that at times I had to back up a whole paragraph to decipher a reference because of the intervening fluff obscured the attempt at making a point.

Another great example of someone trying way too hard to be a "writer."
55 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here