Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Casual Friday Style nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Only: $44.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon marchmadness marchmadness marchmadness  Echo Dot Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno

on August 28, 2014
This book is great. If you love design then you will love it. There are some things in this book i wouldnt knit however it also contains some of my favorite designs. The sweater with feathers (gala aran) is gorgeous and omg to the princess bride mittens. To be honest about 80% of this book is on my que but then again i am not a one skein wonder type of girl and i love color and cables. For anyone who thinks the patterns are hard go check out the books page on ravelry and see how many people are in love with the designs and the book. Thank you Nicky this is by far my favorite book of yours yet and is one of the reasons you are a favorite designer of mine.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 26, 2016
Perfect book!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 14, 2017
I have not had time for this book, yet, but it will definitely be one of my favorites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 11, 2015
This one I leave out to browse thru anytime. Beautiful.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 29, 2014
Huge fan of Nicky Epstein's designs. Her directions are great. Sometimes I buy the books just to look at them, knowing I'll never have time to knit everything I like by this designer.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 8, 2015
There are some really classy items in this book which I hope to make some day, presented in such a way as I had not seen before. And, a lot of 'eye candy' which I like (inventive stuff I probably would never get around to making, but good for inspiration). I got it cheap, used, and that's good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 23, 2014
This book has very good pictures. I would make a few of the items but with modifications. Very imaginative knits.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 20, 2008
Since I am a purist when it comes to folk knitting, it was hard for me to appreciate these fashion forward designs (ie. a cape based on two giant Fair Isle tams). It looks like the author/designer really enjoyed making these unique designs and they are beautifully photographed. Most of the colorwork patterns are very simple, some paired with very simple designs - which seemed out of place in the book when compared with the more sophisticated designs. Alternatively, some of the more sophisticated garments incorporated very simplistic color work patterning that detracted rather than enhanced the overall design. Out of all the folk knitting inspired designs, there were only two that I felt combined the best of both worlds, Nicky Epstein's unique, inventive and whimsical flourishes blended with a hint of tradition from the past: the "Tyrolean Leg Warmers" (they didn't look like they were inspired by traditional Tyrolean knitting at all except perhaps the cuffs but the Victorian inspired boot buttons running up the side of the leg look beautiful (very vintage inspired); and the Londonderry Rose Coat based on a cable pattern that is reminiscent of a gentleman's waist coat with a flourish of roses around the collar. There are a few unique designs here that I enjoyed the most that have all the signature features of Nicky Epstein designs which turned out to be designs that were not influenced by Folk Knitting at all - I think these designs showcase the designer's best efforts in this collection: La Belle Cardigan (think Knitting Beyond the Edge, Knitted Flowers etc. etc. all coming together in one gorgeous, feminine and elegant sweater...also keep in mind that the cost of the yarn to make this will be extremely expensive if you use the yarn in the sample), the "Mongolian Warrior Pullover" (honestly there is nothing Ethnic about this sweater, very unique design construction of woven strips of fabric reminiscent of a knitted rug made out of woven knitted strips of yarn), and the "Parisian Entrelac Wrap" which is a wrap and sweater in one, very unique and beautiful. Hai-Riyo, the fire breathing dragon, is also really cute and well done, classic Nicky Epstein. All in all, if you love Nicky Epstein, you'll probably love this book, but if you are looking for traditional Fair Isle or Norwegian/Northern European and Brittish designs, you won't find them here.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 31, 2009
I bought this book a few months ago, and was stunned to see all the poor reviews it got on Amazon. It's one of my favorite knitting books to come out in a while; I practically want to just start at the first project and knit my way through the whole book. So I thought a lot about why I love it and others don't, and basically:

If you like basic, classic, every-day type knitted garments that you can wear to work without drawing a lot of attention, then this book is not for you. Words that could describe Nicky's designs in this book would be: lush, dramatic (theatrical, even), exotic, lavish, over-the-top....well, you get the idea.

Nicky states very clearly in her introduction that this book is NOT a guide to traditional knitting techniques, but she does share some history about them and shows how traditional designs inspired her pieces. She is also frank about her love of embellishment, a sort of "more is better" attitude. These gorgeous designs are highly creative, complex, special, ornate, striking pieces that look enormously fun to make and require some attitude to wear. While they are certainly not your everyday sweaters, a piece or two from this book could make a very special addition to your wardrobe. Garments are embellished with cables, embroidery, lace, metallic yarn, crocheted flowers, stranded colorwork and so on, and there are many interesting shapes, including vented sides, asymmetrical fronts, and open backs. There are about 40 projects in this book for women's garments and accessories, including sweaters, scarves, mittens, leg warmers, etc, and not one of them could be considered plain or basic.

There are lots of wonderful knitting books out there with instructions for more basic garments, but if you are in the mood for something a bit more complex or ornate, maybe even a little over the top, then you may even love this book too.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 24, 2017
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse