Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 240 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 294 reviews
on March 20, 2006
Night Court, the 80's sitcom classic finally arrives on DVD! Season one is a refreshing and very funny introduction to a cast of wacky characters that would soon become TV mainstays for a total of NINE seasons!!!

The first few episodes do exhibit a bit of overacting as the actors try to find their footing, but that isn't unusual for a sitcom or any TV series for that matter. Fortunately the cast and the writers "clicked" after only a few episodes which translates into a very funny first season! You'll find yourself laughing out loud during many of the episodes!

The first season consists of 13 episodes on two discs contained in a standard DVD case. The bonus features are; a short retrospective documentary and also commentary by the series creator.

The only complaint that I have is that Warner Bros. is taking WAY TOO LONG to release the other seasons. I'm also hoping for a few surprises and cool bonus features on future releases!

Season ONE is a fantastic bargain!

Where are the other seasons??????

- JM

P.S.

I actually thought that Karen Austin did a fine job on this series and it's a shame that she was replaced in season TWO. I have never heard anyone discuss the reasons behind her departure and I wonder if it was her choice? It's very strange that her character is removed BEFORE the ending of the first season after a very substantial plot development between Lana and harry!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2017
Night Court wasn't on my list of shows to watch when it first came on. Now I'm wondering how I could not have watched it. This series is a classic. It'll very likely be around for years to come. It's so hilarious I laugh my head off every time I watch it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2016
Bottom Line First
Coming a few years after the wonderfully funny and underplayed Barney Miller , Night Court carried over some of the same sensibilities via a common writer, Reinhold Weege. Newly appointed Judge, the too young Harry Stone played by Harry Anderson leads a not yet settle cast of court room characters. Together they preside over the usually minor and frequently strange goings on in the late hours of New York City. Justice is not so much blind as humanitarian. I liked the low key in humor. Night Court is mostly easy watching, mostly family friendly and most definitely recommended.

Between Selma Diamond as the heavy smoking Salma Hacker ( Ms Diamond would die of cancer after two seasons) and the emerging star power of John Larroquette as prosecutor Dan Fielding provided most of the comedic staying power of a program that would need time, more than one season to settle on main characters and mature its comedic line. A highlight of the shows are the appearances of then young and now well established actors. Most notable in season one: Michael Fox and Yakov Smirnoff. The episode formula is built around a few comic cases/people and some minor but emotional issue. Bull as the temporary father of a neighbor child, a woman appears as Judge Stones’ long missing mother. Heartfelt issues but rarely politically charged or headline driven.

I now have two of six season of Night Court. I do not feel any rush to get more and these may not have been the best. Brent Spiner as a comedic down at the heel bumkin and a naked Michael Richards are worth at least a Utube look up even if they are not part of season one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2016
More heart and laughs than anything on TV these days, everything seems so jaded or needlessly over dramatic on modern TV shows. Harry Anderson's comedic timing is impeccable, as is most of the cast. The revolving door of characters, minus a few staple characters, can be disappointing when you grow to love a character over a season then they are suddenly gone. Been on a binge and now I'm on Season 5 and still laughing, and if only I could get over these allergies maybe I wouldn't be so misty eyed. The feels man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 25, 2013
Reinhold Weege has created a winner - a classic weekly TV comedy series based on the courtroom of an off-beat judge, his uniquely odball staff, and a never-ending series of goofy defendants.

There are numerous personnel changes in the first few seasons of this series that will ultimately have a successful nine-year run. In fact only three of the star's cast members will last the entire series: Harry Anderson as the magic wand-wielding Judge Harry Stone ("Hi, I'm Harry, but then, aren't we all?"), John Larroquette as the ever-selfish and always-lecherous District Attorney Dan Fielding ("I've even had ... den mothers!") and Richard Moll as gargantuan sometimes wise, usually clueless bailiff Bull Shannon ("I don't know what the hell's going on here").

The cast doesn't really settle in until the third season, but by then we've had to say goodby to Karen Austin, Selma Diamond, and Ellen Foley, among others.

If you want to watch a TV series develop, mature, and eventually morph into new directions, you'll want to be sure to start with Season One of Night Court.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2017
Easy watching and makes the day easier with a little laugh at the end of the night. My family loves this show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
I have always loved this series when it was on tv. I love bull and the judge couldn't have been played better by anybody ofher than who they picked and I'm glad that he wasn't replaced by someone else as were some of the other characters.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2017
It's still a good watch if you are in the right mood
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2017
A great gift at a great price! Arrived quickly too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2005
This is a great set of this classic television show's premiere season. All 13 episodes are presented in their original NBC uncut broadcast entirety, clocking in at just over 24 minutes each. I'd seen all of these episodes in syndication as early as 1988, and even then they were already missing some footage for more commercial time. Not here! If you've only seen the edited versions before, you're in for a treat. It was kind of funny seeing the extended scene in the episode "Santa Goes Downtown" where Dan Fielding told Eddie Simms (played by Michael J. Fox) to "go and tease Bull about his hair." Seeing it again on the DVD reminded me that I had actually seen this episode back in 1984 and had forgotten this part due to it's being deemed less important than the almighty advertiser's dollar. It really is great to have the complete versions available to see again!

At the time of this writing, it's been 10 months since the release of this Season One box set. It's unlike Warner Bros. to take so much time between releases of it's TV shows, but for some reason they aren't on the ball with this particular show. However, I still think that they will get around to releasing more seasons. After all, several of the shows they were working on ("Friends", "Gilligan's Island" and "Wonder Woman") have wrapped. It makes sense that this would free up some resources to get to work on some of their thus-far neglected properties (a la "Night Court"). In the meantime, this set will provide you with some great classic entertainment.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse