Salon Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Russell Dickerson PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Nikita: Season 1 [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$13.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on May 9, 2014
This is the latest incarnation of La Femme Nikita (which has consisted of the original French film, the TV series that ran on the USA network years ago and the Bridget Fonda movie Point of No Return) tells the story of an assassin here played by the gorgeous Maggie Q, who is attempting to bring down the rouge black op organization called Division that she used to work for. she is aided by a recruit she planted in Division named Alex (Lyndsy Fonseca) and essentially disrupts mission after mission.

Each episode has a mission of the week flavor to it, but within that there are several overarching story lines (mainly that flesh out the backgrounds of the main characters). There is a lot that goes on story wise, and the cast is a very large ensemble. The three main characters are definitely Nikita, Alex and Michael (the agent that trains the recruits for Division). After that are Percy (played by Xander Berkley who is probably best known for his role in the early seasons of 24) and Amanda (played by Melinda Clarke from The OC). The other characters kind of rotate throughout the season. If the "main" characters the only two we really do not know much about in terms of their backgrounds are Percy and Amanda.

The show has a lot of action, but it does not rely on just action or the looks of the main characters (although Maggie Q is put in some skimpy outfits throughout the season much like Jennifer Garner was in Alias) to get by. There are a lot of well done stories and all the actors do a great job with their characters. There are a lot of twists and turns throughout the season and by the end of season 1 the show is in a very different place than it was when it started. That definitely helped keep the show from getting too repetitive which can easily happen with this kind of series.

For those who get the actual discs, the A/V quality of the blu rays is great as you would expect. A nice touch is that the series will play in a season play mode so you can stop in the middle of an episode and pick back up where you left off. As far as extras go, there are deleted scenes on every disc and the fourth disc has several behind the scenes features that tell the making of the story and short character bio vignettes. There is also commentary available on some of the episodes. So if you like going through the extras there is a substantial amount there.

While liking any kind of series like this is pretty subjective, if you are a fan of the genre overall, it it definitely worth checking out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2017
I have no idea how I missed this when it was on television. I bought it based on the reviews. The acting is great! Maggie Q is gorgeous but in this role she is very believable. All of the episodes I've seen so far (I've seen all but 4) are well written and produced. The action scenes are believable. I can't wait to see the other seasons.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2015
I recently found season two of Nikita at Big Lots for the amazingly low price of eight dollars. I must say that this cable series is highly entertaining. Much so much that I plan on buying the remaining three seasons from Amazon. The series is action packed and the story lines are great. If you want a good time then latch onto this series. Just ordered the three other seasons of Nikita. Season one has arrived and i'm watching it now. This is one of the best T.V. series that I have ever seen. It plays like a very long mini series and theres never a dull moment. I highly recommend this entire series to everyone. Watching this series is just like eating potato chips, you just can't eat/watch one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2015
I'm a Nikita nut (Thank you Luc Besson). I started with Point of No Return (ok) then saw Luc Besson's original French sub titled Nikita. Then I had to watch the Canadian one developed by Joel Surnow (24, Nowhere Man) with Peta Wilson. Then I found this and I love Maggie Q (Live Free or Die Hard, Divergent, Insurgent, MI3, etc.) and I love Melinda Clarke (Firefly, CSI -- so played a PRO in both) and there's Shane West (remake of Oceans 11 -- card playing actor) and Xander Berkeley (last booth). Once again a great cast. Xander is just as spooky, loveable and hatable as Glazer was in La Femme Nikita. Clarke was just as vicious as Watson in the Peta Wilson show. This was developed by Craig Silverstein (Standoff, TURN, Terra Nova, Bones) with McG backing. The pilot is a knockout (especially Maggie in the Jacuzzi sequence). It's a more formatted show than the Peta Wilson TV offering but for spy and Nikita fans you can't go wrong. Alberta Watson was brought in by the second season as an oversight type person (she was in the Peta Wilson show as well). This takes place AFTER Nikita gets out. As opposed to the Peta Wilson version where she's in all the time.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2014
What happened after Nikita was able to break away from Division, the "Hogwarts for assassins"? She goes right back to planning how to take it down with the help of a mole! This is the after story of "La Femme Nikita" rather than an extended re-telling like "Point of No Return" and the "La Femme Nikita" tv series.
Every episode is its own action movie full of thrilling fast paced movement and drama. You will be on the edge of your seat.
This underrated series was even able to get full story closure in a shortened fourth season (6 episodes). So you do not lose anything for watching this series to the end.
Very enjoyable. Must watch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2017
Great show
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2016
Love Nikita !!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2017
It's Maggie Q, I wanted to catch up a terrific show from a few years back. I love my Maggie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2016
Wow, Maggie's role was the best as Nikita, a rogue assassin out to destroy the division that made her a weapon. She's unstoppable and out for a kill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2014
All of the Nikita Shows are great and all of the actors are great, I am not sure that Maggie Q is in this show, but at being 63 years old it is hard t remember everything.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse