Lyft Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy Spider-Man: Homecoming available to buy  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating FFII_gno

Package Type: Standard Packaging|Change
Price:$1,896.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 186 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 236 reviews
on June 29, 2014
Fantastic venerable ultra wide angle lens for low light photography, such as night sky, astrophotography, star trails, light painting, Milky Way, and more. The remarkable aspect of this lens is how sharp the image is in the corners even wide open at f/2.8, something that most other lens cannot achieve. This lens deserves all the accolades it gets, it is this good. Canon users frequently use an adapter to be able to use this lens, so it's not off-limits to our Canon photography brothers and sisters.

The obvious drawbacks are there - heavy, does not accept screw-in filters, and expensive. But it is a great lens and deserves five stars.

And for those who like to shoot photos when the sun is out, you too will not be disappointed. For landscapes, it still kinda rules, and as a bonus, builds muscle if you take it hiking.

Undoubtedly, you are agonizing between alternatives for less coin and this lens, as many might. Quality alternatives might include the new Tamron 15-30mm f/2.8 or the Nikkor 20mm f/1.8G ED, but I have no experience with these, but have seen good work done with these (and I see a lot of night sky photography, as I am an Admin for two long exposure photography groups on Facebook). I previously tried the considerably more inexpensive Tokina 16-28 f/2.8, which is a good, solid lens for about a third of the price, but cannot compare to this lens, as it is considerably softer in the corners until at least f/4. Regardless, the 14-24mm f/2.8 is the gold standard for any ultra wide angle lens for night sky photography.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
44 comments| 106 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2015
This may be my favorite lens to use. I love to capture the skies in my photos. This is super wide and super sharp. I absolutely LOVE this lens.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2015
As a real estate and architectural photographer, I literally make a living with the use of wide-angle lenses. And, the 14-24 is up there as the finest wide angle zoom lens I've used, with only the Zeiss 15mm Distagon prime being on par with the 14-24.

Picture quality is outstanding. There is minor barrel distortion when used at the 14mm end, and minor vignetting when used wide open at 2.8. However, the barrel distortion quickly dissipates as you zoom in some...and vignetting is gone by f/4. Corner to corner, the images are extremely crisp (as opposed to its little brother, the 16-35mm lens, which is horrible at the wide end) throughout the entire zoom range. There is very minor light falloff to the corners at the wider end when also used at 2.8, but it's hardly noticeable to all but the most strict pixel peepers.

Color distribution and contrast is well managed...I have never noticed significant color fringing (chromatic aberration) at any f stop, even in wide dynamic range environments. And, this lens does a remarkable job handling scenes with wide dynamic range in general...for landscape photographers, that's an extremely important trait, as this lens renders bright horizons/skies with darker foregrounds extremely well. In these situations, the image isn't oversaturated with colors that are harsh to look at. Instead, it tries very hard to render the image how you want to see it. It's rare that I have to do much desaturation of an image with this lens.

It's somewhat heavy, but easily hand-holdable if you so choose. For a comparison, physically its sort of a little version of the 200mm f/2. It's a bit bulky, but not long, so the camera doesn't suffer from significant (and annoying) front-tippage. As a result, its nice and balanced when used on a tripod.

The biggest drawback to this lens is its inability to hold a filter in the traditional, screw-on way. Instead you have to opt for an aftermarket filter holder like the Lee SW150, which is a contraption that mounts to the front of the lens, making it possible to hold 6" X 6" filters. The Lee filter is not cheap, so if you intend to use this lens with filters, be prepared to invest a lot more than just the cost of the lens up front.

That said, using this lens with the SW150 proves to be easy, and very rewarding. This lens absolutely shines for long exposure photography in landscapes and waterscapes. I've shot many a waterfall, rivers, beaches, and farmland in long exposure with the SW150 and neutral density filters, and it all works to perfection, consistently and accurately. On the 14mm ultra-wide angle end of this lens, the depth of the image literally pulls the viewer into the scene, a beautiful trait for landscape shots. On the longer end, the distortion levels out and you get an outstanding, wide-normal perspective that is exceptionally well balanced from corner to corner.

Autofocus is quick and practically silent...you can hardly tell its working, which is the highest praise I can give an autofocus mechanism. Manually focusing is simple and enjoyable. The focus ring turns smoothly and affords the photographer the ability to precisely nail the focus point, without any "drift" of the ring after you release your grip. The focus ring stays firmly in place if you re-compose after focusing.

The construction of the lens is top notch. It feels as if it's hewn from a magnificent chunk of composite granite. It's solid and rugged...easily able to survive a clumsy drop or two, and holds up just fine in poor weather condition.

To sum it all up, you will never find a better wide angle zoom lens on the market, anywhere. If you can afford it, don't even think about it...just buy it. You will have no regrets.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2013
...And on the seventh day the Nikon engineers did say, "Screw it! Let's tap the last of that pony keg and see what we cook up!"

And born from that day was this lens. If you like to shoot wide it doesn't get much sharper than this monster. You'll get some warping either way but even at 14mm wide open the distortion is surprisingly minimal. The main problems with this beast are, as usual with Nikon lenses, it weighs a LOT. The body structure is steel which is great but beyond that it is very front heavy so be sure your tripod can handle it.

Secondly the forward lens element bulges out at 14mm and extra care needs to be taken to ensure it doesn't get damaged. It bulges out from the integrated hood so extra care really needs to be taken.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2012
This is a fun lens. It provides a unique perspective. I haven't fully explored its possibilities and am looking forward to using it on landscapes when I travel. I need to use it to see its full potential. The first thing I used it on was to get a wide shot in a 14 ft wide room. I also have a 16 mm fisheye, and definitely prefer the perspective the 14-24 affords me for these kind of architectural purposes. My goal is to take crisp landscapes that are sharp edge-to-edge, front-to-infinity. Even though it is not a light lens, there is not much difference between this lens and the Nikon 24-70 f2.8, which is the lens I use most. I am using it with my D700 and D800 which I just received. I have lots of testing to do... This lens will get more use than the Nikon 70-200 f2.8 VR because it is lighter.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2014
This lens is awesome! I put it on my D800 and it has enhanced the capability of a fine camera. I got the wide-angle filters in addition. The sharpness is fantastic. Even at f2.8 the sharpness is superb. I have shot some great interiors using HDR and bracketed HDR. This is a prime lens! Thank you, NIKON!
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2017
Simply the ultimate wide angle lens for a full frame Nikon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2013
For FX sensors its an awesome lense. Sold two primes tonight to KEH that got replaced with this lens. The fact they make canon adapters for it says it all. Outstanding. The only ultrawide I would take in exchange is the 15 zeiss 2.8 fixed. At 1000 dollars more. Other than that lens there is none better, and that one is less versatile being fixed.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2014
It took me a while to pull the trigger on this item... I have no regrets. spectacular photos of family gatherings in tight quarters...super sharp images. I am still experimenting with it. I expect to capture many wonderful images with it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2013
This lens is simply breathtaking. Sharpness, contrast, build quality and (lack of) distortion are all world-class.

If you can afford it, don't waste a second considering other super-wides for your full-frame Nikon. There is nothing better.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse