Your Garage Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 51 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 110 reviews
on June 19, 2017
Sartre makes Existentialism come alive through these plays. The philosophical ideas are made understandable and one does not even have to know that this is an Existentialist work, in other words, the plays stand on their own as interesting and well written. I would have paid the full price just for the one play No Exit. Fantastic stuff - highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2016
A classic Sartre work, "No Exit", grouped with three other plays not previously known to me when I first picked up this book many years ago. "No Exit" remains one of my all-time favorites and often Sartre's definition of hell finds its way into my conversations and thoughts.

Any fan of mid-20th century existential brilliance will fall in love here. It's like Camus, without the social justice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
Always amazing! Rereading is a new pleasure and reawaken appreciation for Sartre's genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2017
Reading Sartre's plays particularly No Exit gives the reader a mental burden and pain that makes one question superfluous nature of our lives and exlstence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2005
This book is an answer to a question many people have been avoiding all their lives. And when you finally develop the ability to ask it to yourself, Sartre provides his suggested answer for you, though it may not be the answer you wanted.

The premise of the main play, "No Exit", is that many people have chosen to exist in misery, even when the exit to that misery presents itself clearly. For these people, there is "no exit". Their existance is defined by their misery. If they make the concious decision to exit, then they have nothing to live for.

All four plays are written in non-pretentious and easy to understand styles, unlike many philisophical writings. They don't require a great deal of effort to read or understand. In fact, they are quite enjoyable and I found myself reading each play many times before moving on to the next one.

Don't expect to feel uplifted about the state of humanity while reading these plays, however. Sartre's message about human existance can be a dismal one. It is quite helpful, though, to come to terms with the fact that many of our fellow humans are just puzzled about their lives, and sharing a social existance with these people can be precarious to your own search for meaning.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2017
God-damn! Sartre is in the pantheon of the best writers ever. I can say noting more but, go and read him!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2017
My go-to when I'm feeling socially anxious. ...Though that admittedly might be a bad idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2014
Hell definitely is other people. With my second reading, Sartre's vicious wit put the zap on my head just as readily. The Polite Prostitute takes and trades and misuses human dignity from beginning to end. The sleazy class connections of mid-century America come plainly into focus. Is it even possible to stick with a truth?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2014
Brilliant, brilliant mind. Funny as well.

You deserve Sartre in your life, just go into it mentally prepared to question your fundamental beliefs.

If you wish to expand your mind in uncomfortable ways, check this out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2017
It was a gift, the person whom I got it for loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$10.95

Need customer service? Click here