Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 71 reviews
on November 9, 2014
It keeps things in layman's terms and clearly defines more complicated terms. I'd guess that anyone already well versed in philosophy and logic wouldn't get much from this book. However, I think it is a good starting place or possibly a jumping off point for someone who took a philosophy 101 class who wants to go a bit deeper. I plan to read it again in a few months to a year for a refresher. If you have ever thought something didn't make sense but couldn't quite figure out why, this book is very helpful. It will also help you start to see fallacies in people's (and your own!) arguments. Very good read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2016
This is a text book written at the modern college level. It can be dry, But let's be blunt - when is retraining yourself to think logically and with clarity a bowl of cherries? This is the fastest way, of which I know, to help others greatly strengthen their ability to read, think, and write logically and critically. Buy it for your kids and go through it with them. Their SAT, GMAT, LSAT and MCAT scores will thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2017
An outstanding introduction to critical thinking and analysis of the art of argument. I read it every few years as a booster vaccine to protect me from the sloppy arguments from the news media, the advertisers, and of course the politicians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2017
With our society today and the election arguments, this book was a wonderduk refresher about critical thinking and building correct logic without resorting to many alternatives!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The late Robert J. Gula was an expert not only on logical fallacies, but in describing them in clear, understandable language. In little more than 170 pages, Gula describes and illustrates more than 170 logical fallacies. In an era where everything has been reduced to spin and absolutely no one can be implicitly trusted to tell the truth, being able to recognize logical fallacies is imperative to being accurately informed.

Gula wrote this for use in secondary schools and colleges. His writing can be described as perfectly pitched. It is clear and despite the complexity of the subject, almost simplistic in its structure. That doesn't mean Gula was talking down to his audience: it means simply that his writing is uncluttered and to the point.

The book was written in the 1970s and some of the examples not only seem dated, but innocent as well. Compared to the lies we are told on a daily basis, the 1970s were almost an oasis of honesty. Well, at least a little more honest than today.

In the last several chapters, Gulas takes aim at specific issues, such as the nature of argument, syllogisms and semantics. He also provides a great summary of "fallacies and nonsense", which just for fun you might want to keep handy while you watch television "news" or read the "news" in some of the leading daily newspapers and magazines. As a matter of fact, it was trying to remember all the logical fallacies while reading a particular newspaper that caused me to buy this book. I needed a refresher course.

Jerry
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2014
One can find free comprehensive lists of logical fallacies online. So why fork out the dough for this book? Because this book not only lists and discusses fallacies but also helps the reader understand the sometimes subtle techniques that propagandists use to subvert cogent, sound argument with superficially appealing nonsense. If you want to better your critical thinking skills, I recommend this book. Having read two critical thinking books and taken a college class in logic prior to reading this book, I had a rather high view of both my reasoning skills and my ability to spot erroneous reasoning. A read of this book was a gargantuan piece of humble pie. This book has been life changing.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2014
I think this is a pretty good book. Basically, it will keep you from being distracted by false arguments and nonsense during debates
with 1) fools or 2) people who know their position is untenable and try to manipulate the argument away from its origin into something
"else." A handy tool to use against internet trolls, message board spammers and other anonymous pests.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2016
Bought this for the boyfriend. He loves pointing out logical fallacies. It gets annoying. Maybe I shouldn't have encouraged this behavior with a book that explains them all to him.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2017
very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2013
I am kind of on a rhetoric kick and have read a couple other books on the subject. So far this is my favorite. This book isn't really a book on how to argue in fact the author kind of tries to steer you away from arguments. This book is however great at helping you identify logical fallacies. The book is well organized has good examples and lots of valuable content. Other books i have read such as the high rated Thank You for Arguing: What Aristotle, Lincoln, and Homer Simpson Can Teach Us About the Art of Persuasion was entertaining to read but when i was done and reflected on the book i realized i learned very little. This book was not as entertaining but after i finished and reflected i felt i learned a lot on the subject. So i guess it's what you want out of the book.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse