Amazon.com: Customer Reviews:
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports

  • Customer Reviews



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 28, 2011
I started using this product when I was 22 weeks pregnant. I had tried Orthomega and Expecta Lipil. I was using Orthomega before I became pregnant. You only have to take one per day, but the pill is huge, and I still experienced burp up when I became pregnant. I then tried Expecta Lipil, but wasn't convinced that it was potent enough. The local organic foods store recommended Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA. I did research online and decided this was the best product for me because it had the most complete Omega 3 and Vitamin D3. I have not been disappointed. I take 2 capsules with dinner or at bedtime. I have experienced absolutely NO fishy burp up or after taste. I trust the efficacy and purity of this product. My baby is 11 months old now, and I still take 2 capsules daily. I am a breastfeeding mom (no formula), so it is important that I continue my supplement regimen even though my son has started baby food.

NOTE to pregnant/lactating women: This is NOT a substitute for your prenatal vitamins. This is a supplement to prenatal vitamins. Ladies, if your prenatal vitamins already include a DHA supplement, please check with your doctor before taking this supplement. You only need one source for your DHA supplement. Also, I hope no one is misled by another reviewer's comment about this supplement not having folic acid. It's not intended to have folic acid. You get your folic acid from your prenatal vitamin, not from a DHA supplement.
0Comment| 211 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2010
I ordered these through a vendor at Amazon.com in late June (Natural Health Formula Inc.) and they were great. When I ran out, I went back to Amazon.com and purchased them again, but this time through a different vendor (Team Nutrix LLC). They were HORRIBLE. Rancid fish stench that I had to wash off my hands after touching them and gagged at opening the bottle. I just contacted Amazon.com to see what I should do to return them or get my money back since the bottle has been opened. If your bottle reeks of fish, something is wrong. They shouldn't smell like that. The first bottle I purchased was fine. I'm not slamming the vendor - it could have been a bad bottle or batch. This is just an FYI in case you haven't ordered them before and you get them and they stink horribly.
44 comments| 151 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2015
Your first choice of supplying your unborn and newborn with omega-3s (DHA, EPA, and DPA) and arachidonic acid (AA) are from the diet by eating oily fish. Some child bearing women are concerned with organic pollutants and heavy metals in fish and therefore turn to so called “molecular distilled” fish oils. Unfortunately, many fish oils sold on the market and targeted to pregnant and lactating women are in the less bioavailable derivatized form of ethyl esters. To release the fatty acids from the ethyl esters during hydrolysis, you also release ethanol at the cellular level which could be more damaging than drinking alcohol.

The interesting chemistry of Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA, re-esterified TAG (rTAG) or structured lipids, is that most of the DHA is esterified to glycerol in all three positions. These positions, sn-1, sn-2, and sn-3, guarantee that during hydrolysis, you get two free un-esterified DHA molecules and one 2-mono-acyl-sn-glycerol (2-MAG). These molecular species are more easily transported to the enterocytes where they undergo re-esterification back to TAG. Subsequently, transport to fetal tissues is in TAG and phospholipid chemical forms, the natural chemical form from which they were derived.

If the product causes gastric upset, carefully open the capsule and empty the contents into your favorite smoothie or yogart.

Finally, transfer of these fats (TAG) to breast milk results in the correct chemical form for which your newborn can absorb in the optimum chemical form TAG and not ethyl esters. All the infant formulae on the market that try to emulate human milk, do not contain any ethyl esters. In the Omtryg (omega-3 acid ethyl esters) prescribing information for “nursing mothers”: “A study in lactating rats given oral gavage of 14-C-ethyl EPA determined that drug levels were 6-14 times higher in milk than plasma. Caution should be exercised when administering omega-3-acid ethyl esters A to nursing mothers.” Therefore, if you take the ethyl ester forms of prenatal DHA, you are also potentially giving your newborn 6-14 times a drug substance that produces ethanol.

Verify first, then trust your dietary supplements. A simple test to determine if your pre-natal is an ethyl ester is do the simple Styrofoam test shown in the figure I have attached comparing the top rated Nordic Naturals prenatal DHA with two ethyl ester products sold here on Amazon which do not inform you that you are taking a product that produces ethanol.

Best to stock up your stores of omega-3 in your fat tissues before getting pregnant and this product works great for males to increase DHA in spermatozoa phospholipid membranes.

Finally, the decision on what is best for you and your unborn and newborn rests with you and your health care provider.

I apologize if I caused any anxiety during your pregnancy or lactation by presenting the above information that is already in the public domain.
“Know something, say something.”
P
review image
0Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2011
Being a doctor and having my wife pregnant with our first boy made me take a deep look at all the prenatal supplements available. I recently purchased my third and fourth boxes of this fish oils pills.
First of all, regarding some other reviewers who say that it gives them fishy burps... my wife tells me that it just isn't true, at least not for her. She keeps her pills at room temperature, and unless you have a bad case of reflux I doubt these pills would give you a hard time.
Second, these are pharmaceutical grade and they are lab produced so they dont have any heavy metals or other trace elements that could affect normal fetal development.
I strongly recommend these fish capsules as a prenatal supplement complementing a vitamin and mineral supplement.
11 comment| 147 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon March 27, 2015
*****
This is a side-by-side comparison of ten leading prenatal omega-3 DHA fish oil supplements: Nurture Me, OmegaVia DHA 600, Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA, Child Life Prenatal DHA, Norwegian Gold Prenatal DHA, Garden of Life Minami Mor DHA, Oceans Mom Prenatal DHA, Happy Healthy Smart Prenatal DHA, New Chapter Wholemega Prenatal, and Rainbow Light Prenatal DHA.

There are three major components of omega-3 in most of these products: EPA (which is good for your heart, circulatory system, lowering triglycerides, depression and mood orientation, and is a powerful anti-inflammatory for soothing joint pains), DHA (which is good for your mental acuity, or if you are pregnant, nursing an infant, or for children), and "other." The important components are EPA and DHA.

WHAT IS DHA?
DHA (DocosaHexaenoic Acid, omega-3) is a building block for the cell membranes that manage life processes. This vitamin-like nutrient and others metabolically derived from it are vital to mental performance, heart and blood vessel health, vision, immunity and wound healing, and all the organ functions.

WHY AND WHEN IS DHA IMPORTANT?
Human reliance on DHA begins soon after conception and continues for life. DHA levels in the blood or in the membranes of the circulating red blood cells generally reflect its levels in the other tissues. By these measures, higher DHA status correlates with good health.

1) Essential for Early Brain and Eye Development
DHA helps regulate genes that control the emergence of the fetal brain in the first trimester of pregnancy. By the third semester DHA is being rapidly concentrated in the retinal and brain cells (EPA is virtually absent). These cells especially need DHA since their membrane systems are the most fluid and the proteins typically operate at ultrafast speeds. Higher maternal DHA status during pregnancy is linked to more mature sleep patterns in newborns, along with better vision, better attention, faster processing speed, and higher cognitive function.

The brain's intensive DHA buildup continues until birth and for many years after birth. This helps explain why infants born preterm have low brain DHA compared to full term infants. For full term as well as preterm infants, clinical studies have linked adequate DHA intake after birth to healthy vision, cognitive functions, mood, and behavior control. The DHA content of breast milk varies directly with the mother's DHA intake, which is significantly below optimal in the U.S. Adequate dietary intake of DHA supports the health of the mother as well as the child. Many international agencies support the inclusion of DHA in infant feeding formulas.

2) DHA Sufficiency Supports Both Mother and Child
After enduring ongoing transfer of her own DHA through her Placenta (and later, breast milk to the baby) during pregnancy & delivery the mother's own DHA levels are significantly reduced. This relative deficiency can adversely affect her mood. Negative lifestyle factors prior to birth, such as habitual alcohol consumption or smoking in the household, can deplete the mother's DHA stores. Adequate DHA intake before, during pregnancy, all through lactation and even years after child birth supports healthy mood, behavior, and cognition, and is therefore crucial, not only for the child but the mother as well.

Lifelong Importance for Memory and Other Cognitive Functions
Numerous studies indicate DHA status is closely linked with memory and other brain functions across the lifespan. Supplementation in childhood can improve mental performance. At middle age, individuals with relatively high blood DHA have significantly better chance of having healthy memory retention, compared to individuals with relatively low levels. For middle aged and older individuals, higher blood DHA is also linked to better reaction time, sharpened attention, and achievement on tests of memory, reasoning and vocabulary. EPA and other omega-3s show no such links to mental performance at any life stage.

DHA remains essential for higher brain functions well into old age. In the classic Framingham study, subjects with the highest DHA levels were most likely to exhibit better memory over a subsequent 10-year period. In a landmark 2010 double blind trial conducted on more than 500 over-55 subjects, those taking DHA (900 mg/day for 6 months) had significantly superior memory over those on placebo. Their learning and memory errors were reduced by 50 percent.

3) DHA for heart health
The healthy heart is able to vary its beat rate on demand. In a double-blind trial conducted with overweight men, DHA and not EPA helped promote 24-hour ambulatory heart rate control. In another study with these subjects, DHA enhanced blood vessel tone while EPA did not. In the double blind trial mentioned above, DHA enhanced maintenance of healthy blood pressure while EPA showed no benefit. Another double blind trial found that just 700 mg/day of DHA for 3 months gave significant healthy blood pressure support. Yet another double blind trial found that DHA promoted cardiovascular health as measured by several parameters, including maintenance of a healthy heart rate, already healthy blood pressure, and already healthy cholesterol. In all these beneficial actions DHA consistently outperformed EPA.

WHAT IS THE CORRECT DOSE FOR DHA?
Though FDA has not set any DRIs for DHA, several significant agencies like the March of Dimes® recommends that pregnant women consume at least 200 mg of DHA every day. As most women do not consume that amount of DHA through diet alone, a good quality Omega-3 DHA helps ensure their daily DHA intake is at least 200 mg during pregnancy and while breastfeeding.

BREAKDOWN: Here is a breakdown of these supplements.

Nurture Me (See, Omega 3 Fish Oil Supplement Voted 5 Stars by Moms - Nurture Me is the Smallest Sized Softgel in the Market with the Highest Amount of Omega 3 DHA. Each Tiny Capsule has 300 mg of DHA in Pharma-Grade Blister Strip Packaging - PRODUCT OF EUROPE - Approved...)
*****
Highlights: Very small pill (making it very easy to swallow); high DHA potency; Pace Analytical HRMS Laboratory five star rated; soy free; Supercritical Dual-Process CO2 Technology; GMO free; cholesterol free; mercury free; fish gelatin, blister packaged (each pill is individually wrapped); expensive.
Triglycerides form
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$35.99 for 30 316 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: 1 gel cap
Price per gel cap = $1.20 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 1000 mgs omega-3 = $3.77 (using Amazon's price)
One 316 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 16 mgs
DHA = 300 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1 to 18
Other Omega-3 = 0 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 316 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 85%
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Supercritical Dual-Process CO2 Technology
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Third Party Tested: third party tested by Pace Analytical
Phone Number: (888) 335-6258
Fish Oil from Europe; encapsulated and packaged in U.S.A.
No ingredients sourced from China
Ingredients: concentrated omega-3 fish oil (from anchovy, sardine and mackerel), mixed natural tocopherols, and softgel (fish gelatin, glycerin, and purified water)

OmegaVia DHA 600 (See, OmegaVia DHA 600. Ultra-Pure DHA Omega-3. 600 mg DHA per pill. Triglyceride-form DHA-only formula. 120 Capsules.)
*****
Highlights: It has the most DHA per pill of any in this group (600 mgs of DHA per pill); it is IFOS five star rated; it is in the triglycerides form; it uses a heat-free enzymatic process; it is soy free; it is GMO free; it is cholesterol free; it is mercury free; and it is enteric coated.
Triglycerides (rTg) form
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$25.99 for 120 857 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: 1 gel cap
Price per gel cap = $0.21 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 1000 mgs omega-3 = $0.36 (using Amazon's price)
One 857 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = less than 10 mgs
DHA = 600 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = DHA-only product (no EPA)
Other Omega-3 = < 10 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 600 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 70%
Soy allergen free
No GMOs
No cholesterol
No mercury
Concentrated with heat-free enzymatic process
Enteric coated
Not vegetarian
IFOS Rating = ***** (five stars, top rating)
Phone Number: (800) 270-4010
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
No ingredients sourced from China
Ingredients: ultra-pure DHA oil (triglyceride form), gelatin, vegetable glycerin, purified water, natural enteric coating, and mixed natural tocopherols

Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA (See, Nordic Naturals - Prenatal DHA - Unflavored - 500 mg 180 - Softgel)
*****
Highlights: Relatively large pill; relatively high DHA potency; low omega-3 potency (29%); IFOS five star rated; triglycerides form; soy free; GMO free; cholesterol free; mercury free; contains Vitamin D3.
Triglycerides form
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$42.46 for 180 500 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: 2 gel caps
Price per gel cap = $0.24 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 1000 mgs omega-3 = $0.81 (using Amazon's price)
One 1000 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 45 mgs
DHA = 225 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1 to 5
Other Omega-3 = 20 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 290 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 58%
Vitamin D3 = 200 I.U.
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Molecular distillation
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Third Party Tested: ***** Rated 5 stars by IFOS
Phone Number: (800) 662-2544
Made in Norway and encapsulated in U.S.A.
No ingredients sourced from China
Ingredients: fish oil (Peruvian anchovies and sardines), soft shell capsule (gelatin, water, glycerin) d-alpha tocopherol, and vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol in olive oil)

Child Life Prenatal DHA (See, Child Life Prenatal DHA Soft Gels, Lemon Flavor, 30 Count)
*****
Highlights: Relatively large pill; high DHA potency; not IFOS five star rated; Supercritical Dual-Process CO2 Technology; soy free; GMO free; cholesterol free; mercury free.
Triglycerides form
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$11.44 for 30 830 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: 1 gel cap
Price per gel cap = $0.36 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 1000 mgs omega-3 = $0.66 (using Amazon's price)
One 830 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 80 mgs
DHA = 500 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1 to 6.25
Other Omega-3 = 0 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 580 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 70%
No Soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Supercritical Dual-Process CO2 Technology
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Third Party Tested: Not rated
Phone Number: (800) 993-0332
Made in U.S.A.
No ingredients sourced from China
Ingredients: fish oil, soft gel (fish gelatin, purified water, glycerin, and natural lemon flavor)

Norwegian Gold Prenatal DHA (See, Renew Life Ng Prenatal DHA Gels, 45 Count)
****
Highlights: Relatively small pill; high DHA potency; IFOS five star rated; soy free; GMO free; cholesterol free; mercury free; enteric coated; contains omega-6 and 9; contains Vitamin E; contains Vitamin C; contains Vitamin D3; contains lipase; and contains ginger (some women may be allergic to ginger).
Ethyl esters form
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$ N/A for 45 660 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: 1 gel cap
Price per gel cap = $ N/A (using Amazon's price)
Price per 1000 mgs omega-3 = $ N/A (using Amazon's price)
One 660 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 24 mgs
DHA = 480 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1 to 20
Other Omega-3 = 60 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 564 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 85%
Omega 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 11= 60 mgs
Ginger extract = 30 mgs
Lipase = 3 mgs
Vitamin D3 = 500 I.U.
Vitamin E = N/A
Vitamin C = N/A
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Molecular distillation
No mercury
Enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Third Party Tested: ***** Rated 5 stars by IFOS
Phone Number: (800) 830-1800
Made in U.S.A.
No ingredients sourced from China
Ingredients: concentrated omega-3 fish oil (anchovies and sardines), fish gelatin, glycerin, beeswax, sunflower lecithin, natural carob color, mixed vitamin E tocopherols, vitamin C, vitamin D3, ginger extract, and lipase

Garden of Life Minami Mor DHA (See, Garden of Life Minami MorDHA® Prenatal 60ct. Lemon Flavor Softgels)
****
Highlights: relatively large pill; high DHA potency; not IFOS five star rated; Supercritical Dual-Process CO2 Technology; soy free; GMO free; cholesterol free; mercury free; contains soy.
Ethyl esters form
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$24.71 for 60 854 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: 1 gel cap
Price per gel cap = $0.41 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 1000 mgs omega-3 = $.60 (using Amazon's price)
One 854 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 100 mgs
DHA = 465 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1 to 4.5
Other Omega-3 = 32 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 600 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 70%
Omega-6, 9 = 32 mgs
Contains soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Supercritical Dual-Process CO2 Technology
No mercury
Enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Third Party Tested: Not rated
Phone Number: (866) 465-0051
Made in Belgium
No ingredients sourced from China
Ingredients: concentrated omega-3 fish oil (anchovy, sardine and mackerel), fish gelatin, vegetable glycerin, natural lemon flavor, rosemary extract, natural non-GMO mixed tocopherols, and soy

Oceans Mom Prenatal DHA (See, Garden of Life Oceans 3 Oceans Mom, 30 Soft Gels)
****
Highlights: Relatively small pill; relatively high DHA potency; IFOS five star rated; GMO free; cholesterol free; mercury free; contains soy; relatively expensive.
Ethyl esters form
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$13.29 for 30 475 mg gel caps on Amazon?
Recommended Serving: 1 gel cap
Price per gel cap = $0.44 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 1000 mgs omega-3 = $1.21 (using Amazon's price)
One 475 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 15 mg
DHA = 350 mg
EPA/DHA ratio = 1 to 23
Other Omega-3 = 0 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 365 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 77%
Contains soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Molecular distillation
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Third Party Tested: ***** Rated 5 stars by IFOS
Phone Number: (866) 465-0051
Made in U.S.A.
No ingredients sourced from China
Ingredients: fish oil (anchovies and sardines from Icelandic waters), gelatin, glycerin, natural tocopherols (soy), and natural strawberry flavoring

Happy Healthy Smart Prenatal DHA (See, Happy Healthy Smart Prenatal DHA Once Daily Easy Softgel MAXIMUM Recommended Dosage Best Pregnancy DHA Omega Great For Maternity Skin Care MUST HAVE For BABY BRAIN BONE & BODY Development)
***
Highlights: For a DHA supplement, it has more EPA than DHA, which makes it a fairly good fish oil supplement rather than a pure DHA supplement; it is a large pill size; is not in the better-absorbed triglyceride form; and it contains ascorbyl palmitate.
Ethyl esters form
Not certified Kosher and Halal
$20.21 for 60 1322 mg capsules on Amazon
Recommended Serving: 1 capsule
Price per gel cap = $0.34 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 1000 mgs omega-3 = $0.45 (using Amazon's price)
One softgel contains a total of:
EPA = 400 mgs
DHA = 300 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1.33 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 50 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 750 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 56%
No Soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Contains ascorbyl palmitate
Molecular distillation
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Third Party Tested: not rated
Phone Number: N/A
Made in U.S.A.
No ingredients sourced from China
Ingredients: gelatin, glycerin, water, lemon flavor, rosemary extract, ascorbyl palmitate, and natural tocopherol

New Chapter Wholemega Prenatal (See, New Chapter Wholemega Prenatal, 90 Softgels)
***
Highlights: Relatively small pill; low DHA potency; low omega-3 potency (26%); NSF rated; extra virgin extraction process; triglycerides form; soy free; GMO free; mercury free; contains vitamin D3 (miniscule); contains astaxanthin (miniscule); and it contains cholesterol.
Triglycerides form
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$17.09 for 90 500 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: 4 gel caps
Price per gel cap = $0.19 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 1000 mgs omega-3 = $1.46 (using Amazon's price)
One 500 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 45 mgs
DHA = 55 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1 to 1.2
Other Omega-3 = 30 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 130 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 26%
Contains soy
No GMOs
Contains cholesterol
Astaxanthin = 5 mcgs (miniscule)
Vitamin D3 = 25 I.U. (miniscule)
Extra virgin extraction process
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Third Party Tested: third party tested by NSF
Phone Number: (888) 874-4461
Made in U.S.A.
No ingredients sourced from China
Ingredients: fish oil (100% wild Alaskan salmon) gelatin, organic rosemary, oregano and sunflower oil, astaxanthin, vitamin D3, and natural tocopherols

Rainbow Light Prenatal DHA (See, Rainbow Light Prenatal DHA, 60 Softgels)
**
Highlights: Very large pill (1425 mgs); low DHA potency; low omega-3 potency (22%); not IFOS five star rated; GMO free; cholesterol free; mercury free; contains Vitamin E; contains choline; contains soy; contains ascorbyl palmitate; some of the ingredients may be sourced from China; the product is manufactured in Columbia; the company was evasive about providing information.
Ethyl esters form
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$14.43 for 60 1425 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: 1 gel cap
Price per gel cap = $0.24 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 1000 mgs omega-3 = $0.78 (using Amazon's price)
One 1425 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 33 mgs
DHA = 250 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1 to 7.5
Other Omega-3 = 25 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 308 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 22%
Vitamin E = 30 I.U.
Choline = 50 mgs
Contains soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
Contains ascorbyl palmitate
Molecular distillation
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Third Party Tested: Not rated
Phone Number: (800) 571-4701
Manufactured in Columbia
Some ingredients may be sourced from China
Ingredients: Fish oil (anchovies, sardines, mackerel and/or wild deep sea pacific tuna), soybean oil, yellow beeswax, silica, ascorbyl palmitate, lecithin (soy), soft shell (gelatin, purified water, and glycerin), natural caramel color, natural orange oil, zinc oxide, and carob

IFOS: The International Fish Oil Standards Program ("IFOS") (Google "IFOS consumer reports") is an independent third party omega-3 testing organization that provides batch-specific summaries of a product's IFOS testing results. The reports include a 5-star rating for each product containing greater than 60% concentration of EPA and DHA per gram of fish oil, allowing consumers to compare fish oil products based on their safety, purity and quality. Some of this testing now includes radiation testing as a result of the Japanese Fukushima accident. Most of the highly rated omega-3 fish oil products are listed. Nurture Me is not listed or rated as a five star omega-3 fish oil product. It is third Party Tested: third party tested by Pace Analytical.

POTENCY: Nurture Me (85%) and Norwegian Gold Prenatal DHA (85%) have the most omega-3 potency of those in the comparison; followed by Oceans Mom Prenatal DHA (77%); followed by OmegaVia DHA 600 (70%), Child Life Prenatal DHA (70%), and Garden of Life Minami Mor DHA (70%); followed by Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA (58%); followed by Happy Healthy Smart Prenatal DHA (56%); followed by New Chapter Wholemega Prenatal (26%), and followed by Rainbow Light Prenatal DHA (22%), which has the least omega-3 potency of those in the comparison.

PRICE PER PILL: Nurture Me ($1.20 per gel cap) is the most expensive per pill of those in the comparison; followed by Oceans Mom Prenatal DHA ($.43 per gel cap); followed by Garden of Life Minami Mor DHA ($.41 per gel cap); followed by Child Life Prenatal DHA ($.38 per gel cap); followed by Happy Healthy Smart Prenatal DHA ($.34 per capsule); followed by Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA ($.24 per gel cap) and Rainbow Light Prenatal DHA ($.24 per gel cap); followed by OmegaVia DHA 600 ($.21 per gel cap); and followed by New Chapter Wholemega Prenatal ($.20 per gel cap), which is the least expensive per pill of those in the comparison.

PRICE PER 1000 MGS OMEGA-3: Nurture Me ($3.77 per 1000 mgs omega-3) is the most expensive per 1000 mgs omega-3 of those in the comparison; followed by New Chapter Wholemega Prenatal ($1.46 per 1000 mgs omega-3); followed by Oceans Mom Prenatal DHA ($1.18 per 1000 mgs omega-3); followed by Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA ($.81 per 1000 mgs omega-3); followed by Rainbow Light Prenatal DHA ($.78 per 1000 mgs omega-3); followed by Child Life Prenatal DHA ($.66 per 1000 mgs omega-3); followed by Garden of Life Minami Mor DHA ($.60 per 1000 mgs omega-3); followed by Happy Healthy Smart Prenatal DHA ($.45 per 1000 mgs omega-3); and followed by OmegaVia DHA 600 ($.36 per 1000 mgs omega-3), which is the least expensive per 1000 mgs omega-3 of those in the comparison.

PILL SIZE: Rainbow Light Prenatal DHA (1425 mgs) is the largest pill of those in the comparison); followed by Happy Healthy Smart Prenatal DHA (1322 mgs); followed by OmegaVia DHA 600 (857 mgs); followed by Garden of Life Minami Mor DHA (854 mgs); followed by Child Life Prenatal DHA (830 mgs); followed by Norwegian Gold Prenatal DHA (660 mgs); followed by Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA (500 mgs) and New Chapter Wholemega Prenatal (500 mgs); followed by Oceans Mom Prenatal DHA (475 mgs); and followed by Nurture Me (376 mgs), which is the smallest pill of those in the comparison. In terms of size, most, but not all, of these pills are manageable for most women.

SOY CONTENT: Nurture Me, OmegaVia DHA 600, Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA, Child Life Prenatal DHA, Norwegian Gold Prenatal DHA, and Happy Healthy Smart Prenatal DHA do not contain soy. Garden of Life Minami Mor DHA, Oceans Mom Prenatal DHA, New Chapter Wholemega Prenatal, and Rainbow Light Prenatal DHA contain soy.

GMO CONTENT: None of these supplements contain GMOs.

CHOLESTEROL CONTENT: Only New Chapter Wholemega Prenatal contains cholesterol.

ASCORBYL PALMITATE: Happy Healthy Smart Prenatal DHA and Rainbow Light Prenatal DHA contain ascorbyl palmitate.

VEGETARIAN: None of these supplements are vegetarian.

KOSHER AND HALLAL CERTIFICATION: None of these supplements are certified Kosher or Halal.

VITAMIN D3: Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA contains 200 I.U. of Vitamin D3. Norwegian Gold Prenatal DHA contains 500 I.U. of Vitamin D3. New Chapter Wholemega Prenatal contains 25 I.U. of Vitamin D3. I don't believe this is terribly significant, as Vitamin D3 can be purchased for very little money, and lots of folks who take it consume more than 1000 I.U. daily.

DHA/EPA RATIO: A high DHA/EPA ratio (more DHA than EPA) is beneficial for pregnant/nursing women, children, those concerned about eyes, brain, memory, and those recovering from stroke or brain injury. DHA is mostly valuable for brain development in children 4 and under. After 5 years of age, the higher EPA portion is more important for focus, concentration, and behavior issues like ADHD. A high EPA to DHA ratio (more EPA than DHA) is beneficial for mood, inflammation, arthritis, heart and those concerned about their LDL cholesterol.

ENTERIC COATED SOFTGEL: OmegaVia DHA 600, Norwegian Gold Prenatal DHA, and Garden of Life Minami Mor DHA are the only ones of those in the comparison that are enteric coated. An enteric coated softgel is used to prevent fish oil capsules from being digested in the stomach, which can cause a "fishy reflux." However, this problem is limited to only low grade, poorly manufactured fish oil products. Highly purified fish oil supplements that are manufactured to maintain freshness do not generally produce this fishy reflux, especially if the product is taken with food as recommended. Further, the only people who experience fishy burps from even high quality fish oil supplements are those with sensitive GI tract issues, for whom enteric coating may provide some relief from fishy burps, but may also interfere with absorption of the key nutrients in the supplement.

There is some evidence that suggests that an enteric coated softgel is not required and may actually hinder or impede proper absorption of omega-3 fish oil. In my view, however, this body of evidence is not conclusive.

Bottom line, if you have sensitive GI tract issues and experience fishy burps from omega-3 fish oil supplements, you may want to consider an enteric coated softgel.

MEALS: Any ethyl esters based and triglycerides based omega-3 fish oil is best taken with a meal containing some fat, as they are more efficiently absorbed when taken with food.

OPINION: Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA is an excellent product It is a relatively small pill, it has a relatively high DHA potency, it is a triglycerides form of omega-3 oil, it is IFOS five star rated, it is in the triglycerides form, it is soy free, it is GMO free, it is cholesterol free, and it is mercury free, and no ingredients are sourced from China. On the other hand, it contains Vitamin D3.

RATING:

I rated Nurture Me five stars because it is a very small pill (making it very easy to swallow), it is a triglycerides form of omega-3 oil, it has a high DHA potency, it is Pace Analytical HRMS Laboratory five star rated, it uses Supercritical Dual-Process CO2 Technology, it is soy free, it is GMO free, it is cholesterol free, it is mercury free, it is blister packaged (each pill is individually wrapped), and no ingredients are sourced from China. On the other hand, it is very expensive.

I rated OmegaVia DHA 600 five stars because it has the most DHA per pill of any in this group (600 mgs of DHA per pill), it is IFOS five star rated, it is a triglycerides form of omega-3 oil, it uses a heat-free enzymatic process, it is soy free, it is GMO free, it is cholesterol free, it is mercury free, and it is enteric coated, and no ingredients are sourced from China.

I rated Nordic Naturals Prenatal DHA five stars because it is a relatively small pill, it has a relatively high DHA potency, it is a triglycerides form of omega-3 oil, it is IFOS five star rated, it is in the triglycerides form, it is soy free, it is GMO free, it is cholesterol free, and it is mercury free, and no ingredients are sourced from China. On the other hand, it contains Vitamin D3.

I rated Child Life Prenatal DHA five stars because it has a high DHA potency, it is a triglycerides form of omega-3 oil, it uses Supercritical Dual-Process CO2 Technology, it is soy free, it is GMO free, it is cholesterol free, it is mercury free, and no ingredients are sourced from China. On the other hand, it is a relatively large pill and it is not IFOS five star rated.

I rated Norwegian Gold Prenatal DHA four stars because it has a high DHA potency, it is an ethyl esters form of omega-3 oil, it is IFOS five star rated, it is soy free, it is GMO free, it is cholesterol free, it is mercury free, and it is enteric coated, and no ingredients are sourced from China. On the other hand, it is a relatively large pill, it contains omega-6 and 9, it contains Vitamin E, it contains Vitamin C, it contains Vitamin D3, it contains lipase, and it contains ginger (some women may be allergic to ginger).

I rated Garden of Life Minami Mor DHA four stars because it has a high DHA potency, it is an ethyl esters form of omega-3 oil, it uses Supercritical Dual-Process CO2 Technology, it is soy free, it is GMO free, it is cholesterol free, it is mercury free, and no ingredients are sourced from China. On the other hand, it is a relatively large pill, it is not IFOS five star rated, and it contains soy.

I rated Oceans Mom Prenatal DHA four stars because it is a relatively small pill, it is an ethyl esters form of omega-3 oil, it has a relatively high DHA potency, it is IFOS five star rated, it is GMO free, it is cholesterol free, it is mercury free, and no ingredients are sourced from China. On the other hand, it contains soy and it is relatively expensive.

I rated Happy Healthy Smart Prenatal DHA three stars because it has a reasonably high DHA potency, it is an ethyl esters form of omega-3 oil, it is soy free, it is GMO free, it is cholesterol free, it is mercury free, and no ingredients are sourced from China. On the other hand, it has a relatively low omega-3 potency (56%), it contains ascorbyl palmitate, is a large pill, and it is not IFOS five star rated.

I rated New Chapter Wholemega Prenatal three stars because it is a relatively small pill, it is NSF rated, it uses an extra virgin extraction process, it is a triglycerides form of omega-3 oil, it is soy free, it is GMO free, it is mercury free, and no ingredients are sourced from China. On the other hand, it has a low DHA potency, it has a low omega-3 potency (26%), it contains vitamin D3 (miniscule), it contains astaxanthin (miniscule), and it contains cholesterol.

I rated Rainbow Light Prenatal DHA two stars because it is an ethyl esters form of omega-3 oil, it is GMO free, it is cholesterol free, and it is mercury free. On the other hand, it is a very large pill (1425 mgs), it has a low DHA potency, it has a low omega-3 potency (22%), it is not IFOS five star rated, it contains Vitamin E, it contains choline, it contains soy, it contains ascorbyl palmitate, some of the ingredients may be sourced from China, the product is manufactured in Columbia, and the company was evasive about providing information.

I have separately reviewed all of these products.

Prices current as of 08/08/2016.
33 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2015
These have been great so far! I've been taking them for about a week now and I can honestly say that they never give fish burps or any type of fishy smell or aftertaste. They are also a bit smaller than the fish oil pills I had been taking before. They are the perfect supplement to the prenatal vitamins I am taking which are the Garden of Life Vitamin Code RAW Prenatal vitamins. I've included a couple photos to give you an idea of the size of the pill. So far they are the smallest ones I'm taking. In both photos the Nordic Natural Prenatal DHA is the pill on the far right. The pill on the far left is the previous fish oil I was taking. Quite a difference in size!
review image review image
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2010
This really is the best DHA available on the market for pregnant or lactating women. I have done a ton of research and this one always comes to the top. A tip for all of you complaining about fish burps....stick the bottle in your freezer and take the pills frozen. This causes no harm or change in the pill's substance and completely eliminates any odor or fishy-smelling burps. Works like a charm- try it!!
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2015
I started taking these while pregnant and still take them while breastfeeding. I never used to notice any fishy flavor, but the most recent batch seems to be a little more potent. It isn't enough to bother me though, and there aren't any "fishy burps" like some other fish oil pills can cause. These go down easy!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2014
To help all the mamas out that are reading these "fish stench" comments, I contacted the manufacturer because I also received a smelly bottle, after using this product in previous pregnancies (last one was in 2013) and never remembering a smell.

The woman that answered was very helpful and explained that the company has changed the formulation of this specific product. It used to contain rosemary which apparently hid the smell, and they removed it because although there were not really any safety concerns with rosemary - they didn't want any unnecessary ingredients.

So, the representative states that there is no harm and the product is not damaged because of the fish smell. I personally am unhappy with the smell, but she says it is not unsafe. Keep in mind before writing off this product, that this brand is one of the most trusted in the industry -- so if smell doesn't bother you - at least you know these are amazing supplements that are safe and rigorously third party tested. I'd rather have these with a fishy smell than cheap horrible ones that aren't safe.

Nordic naturals also makes strawberry flavored ones - so maybe I'd try those next...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2014
BEFORE you buy this product: please check label and verify that ingredients are non-GMO and if you are allergic to SOY, you may not want this product because the newer version (LOT # 38584112) states that this product was produced in a factory where SOY derivatives WAS present. Originally when i got this product earlier this year and last year, the old bottle (LOT # 140304) states that IT IS a non-GMO and NOTHING about it being processed at a manufacturing line containing SOY derivatives was stated on the bottle. Also i went to directly to there website http://www.nordicnaturals.com/en/Products/Product_Details/98/?ProdID=1434 and the bottle label states IT IS a non-GMO. The inconsistency of label information makes this product suspect to me! Did Nordic Natural SELL OUT? Anyway, for my refill i opted for Vital Choice High Potency Omega-3 Therapy - by VitalChoice. At least so far the VitalChoice product is made with Organic and Non-GMO ingredients. Please do your research!

UPDATE - 11/12/2014

I recently contacted the company via email with regards to the non-GMO labeling, and SOY information. Please see below for their response

//////////////

On Mon, Nov 10, 2014 at 2:43 PM, Jonna Paiss <jpaiss@nordicnaturals.com> wrote:
Hi,

Thank you for your query and interest in Nordic Naturals.

You must have a product with an older version of the label. We did not always have our own bottling facility so we could not guarantee the product was not bottled in a facility where products containing soy derivatives might be present. The wording on the label should be "MAY have been manufactured on the same processing line as products containing soy derivatives".

Our products have always been non-GMO but as more and more consumers are becoming aware of the GMO issue we have started adding the wording 'non-GMO' to newer revisions of our labels. We now own a bottling facility so all our l products are manufactured in our facilities and we do not make any products with soy.

We generally discourage people from purchasing our soft gel products on Amazon. Their warehouses are not climate controlled and our soft gel products are heat sensitive. While many people get great deals on Amazon we do hear from a lot of customers who have received heat damaged product.

I hope this was helpful, let me know if I can be of further assistance.

In Health,

Jonna Paiss
Consumer sales and education representative

111 Jennings Drive
Watsonville, CA 95076
Toll free: 800-662-2544 x 113
Fax: 888-409-0382
jpaiss@nordicnaturals.com

From: KC
Date: Friday, November 7, 2014 2:07 PM
To:
Subject: Question About Non-GMO ingredients in Nordic Naturals - Prenatal DHA

Good afternoon.

For the last couple of years i have been purchasing and using Nordic Naturals - Prenatal DHA - Unflavored - 500 mg 180 - Softgel

Please note that in my past purchases of this product, (LOT # 140304) states that IT IS a non-GMO. In addition, NOTHING on the label indicated that is was processed at a manufacturing line containing SOY derivatives.

However, during my recent attempts to purchase this product from amazon, the bottle label states that this product (LOT # 38584112) was produced in a factory where SOY derivatives WAS present.

Can you please clarify the following issues for me:

Does the current Nordic Naturals - Prenatal DHA - Unflavored - 500 mg 180 - Softgel in market :

1. Contain non-GMO Ingredients?
2. Processed at a plant containing SOY derivatives?
3. Contains Mercury ?

Thank you for your time and prompt response.

KC
77 comments| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 67 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here