Kindle Price: $6.99

Save $6.01 (46%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Normal: A Novel by [Ellis, Warren]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Normal: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 94 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$6.99

Length: 160 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $9.49 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Killman Creek
"Killman Creek" by Rachel Caine
Learn more about this new book.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com Review

An Amazon Best Book of December 2016: Unpredictable and daringly written, Warren Ellis's compact novel Normal is a mind-blowing morsel of paranoia…or prescience. Institutionalized in the wilds of Oregon for a mental breakdown, foresight strategist Adam Dearden finds himself among former colleagues from around the globe who "gazed into the abyss" of the future, freaked out, and are now struggling to make peace—if they can—with what they believe to be humanity's and the planet's dark destiny. When the bizarre and impossible disappearance of a new inmate disrupts Adam's therapy before it begins, Adam is galvanized to exorcise his demons and solve the mystery before the future pounces on him and the other patients and destroys their last refuge. Chilling, bold, challenging, and dark, Normal is will hit the sweet spot for fans of David Mitchell, Jeff VanderMeer, or anyone who fears that the future is already here. --Adrian Liang, The Amazon Book Review

Review

“Fantastic . . . A crackling, funny, and frightening horror story from a unique voice in genre lit.” ―Kirkus Reviews

Normal is abnormal, fascinating, and terrifying. Deceptively compact, it contains multitudes. Great stuff that still has me thinking.” ―Jeff VanderMeer

Normal is hectic and smart and brutal and funny, and queasy-making, too. Like William Gibson and Margaret Atwood, Warren Ellis is one of those writers who seem to have an all-access backstage pass to the total weirdness of the now.” ―Lauren Beukes

“Warren Ellis has been conjuring futures for years, and now he asks the question: at what cost? Part futurist anthropology, part locked-room mystery, Normal is funny, creepy, perceptive, and surprisingly personal. If you, like me, are an avid consumer of what-ifs and what-nows, you probably have a responsibility to read this book.” ―Robin Sloan

“A seriously good writer with a seriously wicked imagination.” ―Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review

"Last summer, Warren Ellis serialized a novel, "Normal," as a series of four novellas; today, they're collected in a single, short book that mainlines a month's worth of terrifying futuristic fiction in one go. . .This is Warren Ellis at his most darkly hilarious and most ascerbic. If you loved Transmetropolitan, laughed at Gun Machine, this one will please and scare you." ―Cory Doctrow, Boing Boing

"[An] exceptional new thriller . . . This slim sci-fi mystery will puzzle, engage your senses and stick with you, maybe popping up days later when one of its passages resonates uncomfortably in the real world outside the book’s pages. Normal chills not by overt action or gory effects, but by slyly transporting readers outside their comfort zone, offering a look into a future that seems increasingly plausible after all." ―Barbara Clark, BookPage

“Warren Ellis is a twisted genius.” ―Lauren Beukes, author of Broken Monsters

“Warren Ellis's work shows a knack for mad hilarity, merciless action, dark cynicism, and incorruptible bravery.” ―Wired

“A beacon of brilliant irony and sardonic satire.” ―Sir Patrick Stewart

“Deliciously perverse.” ―Publishers Weekly


Product details

  • File Size: 487 KB
  • Print Length: 160 pages
  • Publisher: FSG Originals (November 29, 2016)
  • Publication Date: November 29, 2016
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00W1FQYHK
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #108,395 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Literary Fiction
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Thriller Books
4.3 out of 5 stars
4.3 out of 5 stars
Science Fiction Books
4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

December 8, 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
September 14, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
November 29, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
January 13, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
January 21, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
May 22, 2017
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
May 10, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
December 6, 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Normal: A Novel
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Normal: A Novel

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?