Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 53 reviews
on December 29, 2014
Though this book is older than most NFL fans the story reads as if it were written yesterday. Nothing about the league, its players or owners has changed since this book's publication. It's a true insider's look at pro football. My only complaint is the very end of the book which felt unnecessary and forced. Otherwise it's one of the best sort-of fictional books about football ever written.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2017
Great book. Very cerebral novel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2014
A provocative, funny, tragic, and thoughtful book that makes me wonder how much the NFL has changed over fifty years and also how much American society has changed. It's about much more than football- drug use/abuse, race relations, class structure and labor relations. Well worth reading even 40+ years after it was written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2017
Great read. Highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2015
I very much enjoyed this book. It says a lot about the men who sacrifice their bodies for our enjoyment and how management abuses them. Ball players of today say it's pretty much still the same.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2014
classic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2016
One of my favorite books ever. A classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2015
If Hemingway had been into football, he might have written this. Funny and sad. Based on real people and events.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
Excellent insider view of the dog-eat-dog world of pro football circa late 1960's. I couldn't put the book down; really well written and entertaining.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
Classic. Things haven't changed much in the NFL.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse