Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$5.12
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by hippo_books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Gently used may contain ex-library markings, possibly has some light highlighting, textual notations, and or underlining. Text is still easily readable.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Now You See Me Hardcover – Bargain Price, June 7, 2011

4.3 out of 5 stars 179 customer reviews
Book 1 of 4 in the Lacey Flint Series

See all 17 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover, Bargain Price, June 7, 2011
$16.20 $5.10

This is a bargain book and quantities are limited. Bargain books are new but could include a small mark from the publisher and an Amazon.com price sticker identifying them as such. Details

In the Barren Ground
Rookie cop Tana Larsson must track a killer—but can she survive the wild and frozen dark? Learn More
click to open popover

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for S. J. Bolton

“Before she published Blood Harvest, S. J. Bolton wrote two mysteries. The first (Sacrifice) was terrific; the second (Awakening) was even better; and Blood Harvest is, not to put too fine a word on it, outstanding. . . . All the ingredients for a top-notch psychological mystery by a novelist who adroitly melds the natural and (possibly) supernatural into a spine-tingling gothic thriller. Fans of Barbara Vine, Mary Stewart, Daphne du Maurier, and Dorothy Eden shouldn’t miss this one.”
—Nancy Pearl, NPR’s Morning Edition, on Blood Harvest

“Coronation of the new queen of thrillers: S. J. Bolton . . . Everyone, male or female, will love Bolton. There is nothing not to love. Endowed with the ability to write beautiful prose that packs a punch, Bolton also creates intriguing characters (good and evil), and twists them all together in chilling and clever plots. Her novels are lush with creepy British atmosphere (Bolton draws on her extensive knowledge of British folklore, mythology, and history), heavy with ideas that set the mind humming (fate, destiny, and the roles played by women and men in the unfolding of both), and vibrant with fast-paced action that alternates between subtle and amplified.”
The Huffington Post on Blood Harvest

Awakening is a delicious gothic thriller.”
—Maureen Corrigan, NPR, on Awakening

“Val McDermid meets Patricia Cornwell on the North Sea.”
St. Petersburg Times on Sacrifice

“This riveting debut novel . . . just might be the page-turner of the summer. . . . It’s been a long time since we’ve devoured a book this length at one sitting. . . . We were just grateful to find ourselves in the hands of as extraordinary a storyteller as S. J. Bolton.”
The Denver Post on Sacrifice

About the Author

S. J. Bolton is a two-time Mary Higgins Clark Award winner and an ITW Thriller Award, CWA Gold Dagger, and Barry Award nominee. Her fascination with British folklore, especially the dark and haunting side of those legends, fuels her writing. She grew up in Lancashire, England, and now lives near Oxford with her family. This is her fourth novel.

 

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Minotaur Books; First Edition edition (June 7, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0312600526
  • ASIN: B009JU001G
  • Product Dimensions: 6.5 x 1.4 x 9.5 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.3 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (179 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,259,000 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

By Cathy G. Cole TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICE on June 13, 2011
Format: Hardcover
First Line: Leaves, mud, and grass deaden sound.

Young Detective Constable Lacey Flint has finished interviewing a witness at a London apartment complex when she stumbles into a woman brutally stabbed just seconds before in the complex's dark parking lot. Within twenty-four hours a freelance journalist receives an anonymous letter pointing out the similarities between this stabbing and Jack the Ripper's first murder-- and this letter mentions Lacey by name. If this is real, London has a killer determined to recreate the city's bloody past-- and the police have just five days until the next attempt.

Although the letter writer seems to be taunting Lacey, no one-- even her-- believes the connections are anything but a sadistic killer's game. However, as they begin to investigate deeper into the details of the case, Lacey is reminded more and more of a part of her past that she'd rather keep hidden. The only way to do that is to catch the killer herself.

Just when you think Jack the Ripper has been done to death, along comes a talented writer who proves to you that there's still life in the old geezer. What keeps this from being a tired rehash of the Ripper murders is twofold: (1) It's not a slavish copy of the original Jack the Ripper case. The killer is using the bits and pieces that fulfill the purpose, and discarding the rest. It's up to the readers and the police to figure out what the purpose is. (2) Taunting young DC Lacey Flint puts the focus on her and what a serial killer may want from her. As the focus sharpens, it's learned that Lacey has something big in her past that she wants no one else to know-- and her reliability as a narrator is put into question.
Read more ›
Comment 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Now You See Me is S.J. Bolton's fourth book. I've read two of her previous books, Sacrifice and Blood Harvest, and I have enjoyed them both. So when I had the opportunity to read and review her latest offering I leapt at the chance.

Even having read some of Bolton's earlier books I was still very impressed with the increased polish and skill that she has brought to Now You See Me. The plotting of this book is tightly controlled with new information and red herrings fed to the reader in such a way that it becomes nearly impossible to tell truth and misdirection apart. I loved it! For me this is how a crime thriller should be written. There is the chance that you may solve the case before the characters do, but a skilled author will manage to keep you engaged and close to the truth without giving everything away too early. Now You See Me is an example of how this should be done.

I have always found the case of Jack the Ripper fascinating. The mystery of it and the many myths and theories that have been put forward over the years are engaging. To have the Ripper story woven into a modern day mystery was entertaining to read and Bolton brings to light many of the theories that exist about the murders themselves. Authors have used the Ripper before, but I'm happy to report that Bolton has used the legendary killer as a stepping-stone for her own story. She has used the paranoia and fear that, even today, are associated with the Ripper to create a wonderful atmosphere for Now You See Me.

There are a number of strong characters in Now You See Me. Bolton also brings DI Dana Tulloch, a character from Sacrifice, back in this book. I liked Tulloch in the first book and it was great to have her return.
Read more ›
Comment 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
I love S.J. Bolton's writing and am now a fan after enjoying Sacrifice and Blood Harvest. The author seems to get better with each novel, creating compelling plots with plenty of twists to keep readers on edge, trying to figure out who the villain is.

In Now You See Me, the setting is present-day London, where a young police constable, Lacey Flint, encounters a gruesome scene in a ghetto one dark night. A dead woman literally stumbles across her path, setting off a criminal investigation headed by Detective Inspector Dana Tulloch. Flint finds herself being drawn into the investigation despite her best efforts to remain under the radar (due to some secrets in her past). It turns out that this is a Ripper-style murder, and Flint's in-depth knowledge of the Ripper murders makes her a prized asset to the investigation. Flint's life is not made any easier though as she finds herself forced to work alongside a male colleague from a special branch of the force, a man who fascinates and disturbs her in equal measure. Then there are the strange clues left by the killer that reach out to Lacey. What exactly is Lacey's connection to the killer and the crimes?

I was enthralled from the very beginning. The plot is well-written and though the story is inspired by the Ripper case, this is not another rehash of other Ripper stories. The connection made between the Ripper murders and the present crimes are artfully done, with credible use of certain facts of the historic case without affecting the flow of the present story.
Read more ›
3 Comments 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?