Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Nowhere to Run
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$7.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 17, 2001
I'm so glad they made a more realistic van damme movie. I was getting so tired of all this movies where he does all these flying spining dodo kicks which are either repeated a dozen times or are in slow motion. He also didn't hit the final bad guy 500 times or shoot him 7 times to beat him. There was actually some rolling around, grappling, and punching on the ground, which your more likely to see in real life then somebody spin kicking a guy a dozen times. They also didn't overdo showing to many action scenes like in double impact (which is still an awesome movie), but this one was more believable. I don't know why so many people kept saying he did a lot of fancy high kicks in this movie. He didn't, but he still pulled off a variety of fancy moves while managing not to overdo them. I would tell you more but I'd end up giving the whole movie away. This is a must for van damme fans or any action or movie buff.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2005
Well first of all I never really liked Van Damme's movies, well it's not so much that I didn't like them but it was pretty much the same thing over and over again...he would beat up people. However, this movie had a different story line. It wasn't only an action movie, but a drama as well. I think that he did a great job potraying the character and he really took on the role of the "father" for the little boy. I think he did a great job with that, since when you looked at him, you could tell that he wanted to be part of that family. I think he should do more movies like this, and it is definetely worth seeing/buying...you'll enjoy it :). So don't wait any longer, BUY it. Oh and this one isn't only for guys...my mom saw it with me and she enjoyed it as well. I believe females will enjoy this one as well.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 13, 2009
The Jean Claude Van Damme Review Matrix (JCVD-RM)

1. Who is he? Sam Gillen, a criminal on the loose
2. Which family member/friend must be avenged? His friend Billy, who breaks him out of police custody, and Clydie (Rosanna Arquette), a worn down widow and mother of two youngsters
3. Does he take his shirt off? In one of the most disturbingly inappropriate images possible in a movie, Sam is completely naked in front of Clydie's children. Luckily, the viewers are spared.
4. Does he have sex with a C-List actress? In one of his most provocative sex scenes ever, Sam and Arquette do a little carnal gymnastics (JCVD gets to a legit second base on film).
5. Is there a tournament? JCVD steers away from his kumite roots in this one.
6. Is training needed for this tournament? He clearly trained and prepared in some way, because he beats everyone down, has a law degree, understands the nuances of the animalistic fright-versus-flight dynamic, is an accomplished motorcycle stuntman, and knows how to drive a forklift.
7. Does he do the splits in training or in the tournament? Sorry JCVD fans, no splits.
8. Does he punch someone in the balls? In the first fight of the movie, one unfortunate guy gets an axe handle to the jewels.
9. Does he do a series of flying or 360 kicks? No jumping of flying in this one.
10. Is his enemy unbeatable? Essentially he's fighting "The Man" and "The System"; so, it depends on your point of view.
11. Does he overcome an injury or other hindrance? It's possible that he had some broken ribs, but that didn't stop him from fixing Clydie's pipes.
12. Does he win? Hmmm...

Nowhere to Run is almost a mirror image of the 1953 classic Shane. An outlaw escaping his past, houses up with a family struggling against the classic tale of greedy corporation versus small land owner. With a sheriff - played by the guy who played Mr. Belding's brother in one episode of "Saved by the Bell" - paid off by the land developer, and a creepy henchman played by Ted Levine, a man who appears to be perfectly suited for only that role, it's up to Sam to save the day. Motivated by the taut, perky body of Arquette, not to mention multiple full frontal shower and sex scenes, JCVD gives us perhaps the best movie in his legendary career, following the lead from Shane one last time, as he rides off into the sunset of an ambiguous future.
88 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2004
This was such a well made movie and i don't understand why JCVD doesn't do more movies like this! They made JCVD more human than he was in films like Universal Soldier and Bloodsport because he was not the "i will kick your ass any day" guy. He was the "i will kick your ass to protect this family" guy. It also had an ending that the others didn't, but i won't spoil it for you. I love this movie, JCVD's best work!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2016
This, along with Van Damme's Hard Target, are his two best films. Directed by the woefully underused Robert (The Hitcher) Harmon, the visuals alone are worth buying this film. Van Damme the drifter accidentally finds himself being the protector of a single mother and her adorable young son. There is absolutely nothing new about the story but it is executed with such mastery and, yes, even acted with nuanced subtlety by Van Damme in his best performance until JCVD. A true unexpected winner!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
jean claude van damme is one of my favorite action stars and has been throughout my childhood, in this movie his character, Eddie Lomax stubbles into a small desert town that is being overrun by two motorcycle the Hogans and the Hethans and to top it off they stole a present ( a motorcycle) Eddie was going to give to an old friend of his, so he would stop at nothing to get it back
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2013
Loved this movie. Van Damme was awesome in this movie and even though he was a bank robber and escaped from prison I think he totally redeemed himself when he saved this family from the clutches of vicious and ruthless land developers. This is one of Van Dammes best and it is chock full of action and fight scenes. There's a couple of good love scenes as well. Great movie and I would recommend it to anyone that is a Van damme fan or and action movie fan. I give it a thumbs up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2016
A decent Van Damme actioneer, some kids in the flick which might annoy some.
A very strange scene with nude Van Damme and some kids... eeesh.
Van Damme is pretty decent in this overall, the story is silly as heck but what can you do... but enjoy the glorious mounds of Van Damme of course.

Cheers and enjoy! :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
It feels like it has been forever since I have done a movie review. But I can't do as many of these 20 & 10 years ago movie reviews as I would like mainly due to money & the economy. But anyway let's get to this. This is 20 years ago No Where To Run. A pretty solid movie. This was at the time when Jean Claude Van Damme was proving that he could draw cause Universal Soldier came out a few months before & was a huge hit. This movie was made on a budget of $15 million made $52 million world wide. Directed by Robert Harmon he directed the original Hitcher which is an excellent suspense film. He has also directed episodes of that TV show Blue Bloods which I like that show you should check it out if you haven't seen that show. It stars Jean Claude Van Damme as Sam Gillen, Joss Ackland as Franklin Hale, Roseanna Arquette as Clydie Anderson, Ted Levine as Mr Dunston, Edward Blactchford as Sheriff Lonnie Poole, Kieran Culkin as Mike Anderson & Tiffany Taubman as Bree Anderson. The story is pretty much straight forward. You have this man named Sam who was convicted of Robbery he also took the fall for his friend Billy who killed a Cop. So you have this bus full of inmates so his friend Billy helps Sam escape when he chases after the bus causes it to tip over on it's side. During the escape 1 of The Cops manages to take assault rifle with a scope & picks Billy off. Sam buries his friend & goes into hiding. 1 night Sam enters this home where this family lives at this boy hears noises downstairs Sam steals their salt shaker he returns it the next night & the boy follows Sam to his camp site. So later on that night Mrs Anderson returns home where her & Son Mike & Daughter Bree are attacked by these thugs that work for this Property Developer named Franklin Hale he wants to take her property & land from her. Sam pwns them guys & sends them packing. He sticks around to help this family & starts repairing a Triumph Motorcycle that belonged to Mrs Anderson's Husband so he becomes a father figure type to Mike & Bree. People in town are mad that Mr Hale is trying to take people's property. 1 of the residents Tom is angry about whats going on. He ends up being stuck in a burning barn by Mr Hale's cronies. Sam ends up saving him the flames are spreading to the gas tanks Sam takes a bulldozer & knocks a water tower on the fire & stops the flames from spreading. Mr Hale's right hand man Mr Dunston has The Sheriff to force Mrs Anderson to sell her property. Sheriff Poole uses this to his advantage 1 day he beat Sam up pretty good & tells him to leave. Sheriff Poole finds out who Sam really is & asks him to leave again. He leaves a tape recording for Mike. Then he heads off. The Sheriff tells Mr Hale & Mr Dunston what he did & why he didn't arrest him cause he didn't want the feds involved. Mr Hale calls The State Police so later on some State Troopers chase after Sam. A decent chase scene & you get a couple of neat stunts where Van Damme takes the bike & goes over a Cop Car. He knows what's going on so he goes back to check on Clydie & her kids. Mr Hale & Mr Dunston break into Mrs Anderson's home & force her to sign the contract. Mr Hale's henchies go after her kids. Mike escapes out an attic window & climbs down the roof. They get Bree & throw her into a closet. The Sheriff shows up Mr Dunston knocks him out. 1 of Hale's men goes after Mike chases him into a barn where he ends up being kicked by a horse then Sam who has returned knocks that guy out. Mr Hale orders the house to be burned down this 1 thug who is starting a fire on the curtain is grabbed by Sam & he is taken down. Then Van Damme & Ted Levine actually have a pretty good fight it's not as epic as the fight with Van Damme & Lundgren in Universal Soldier. Van Damme ends up tossing him into a windsheild of a Cop Car. As Sam heads into the house Mr Dunston grabs a shot gun out of the car Mike warns him Sam Lunges at him & shoots Mr Dunston dead. He goes inside the house where Mr Hale is holding Mrs Anderson at gun point cops show up & order Mr Hale to drop the gun Clydie goes back into the house Sam tells her that he is going to have to go but he tells her that he will come back for her. Clydie tells Sam that she will wait for her. Sheriff Poole cuffs Sam & tells him that he saved a lot of lives that's got to count for something. As he is taken off Mr Hale yells at Sam don't you know who I am. Sam slams the car door between Mr Hale's legs & tells him "No but I know what you are." That's pretty much the movie & the song Silence Is Broken by D a m n Yankees is a great song at the end of the movie. Not an all time favorite JCVD movie Cause I like Time Cop, Universal Soldier, the uncut version of Hard Target, Kickboxer & Cyborg better but this is good movie. Robert Harmon did a good job directing. Decent score by Mark Isham who also did the score to Time Cop & The Hitcher. Jean Cluade Van Damme did a very good job. Joss Ackland did a pretty good job. Roseanna Arquette did a good job. Ted Levine was good. Edward Blatchford did a decent job. Kieran Culkin & Tiffany Taubman were ok. I can recommend No Where To Run if you see it on TV or can find it cheap give it a watch. I will try to do as many of these 20 years ago & 2003 in film reviews as I can.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2015
I was pleasantly surprised with this movie. This is not your Bloodsport, Expendables 2 Van Damme kind of movie. This movie has a little more heart and drama thrown into it. And believe it or not, I did not see JCVD do 1 split throughout the entire movie! I liked this movie a lot. Give it a try
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse