Lyft Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon victoriaS2 victoriaS2 victoriaS2  Three new members of the Echo family Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18_gno



on November 6, 2016
The proof of the pudding is in the eating!

Either Dr. Price was right, or he wasn't, but every person can test his recommendations out for themselves - on themselves. Dr. Price studied many populations throughout the world on a search for the root cause of good health. He found it. The Weston A Price Foundation (WAPF) was founded upon his principles of eating for health; not for convenience, not for the cheapest meal a person could find, but for something that truly matters - one's own health.

If you have health issues, particularly chronic disease which is the result of chronic inflammation, it can often be reversed by eating according to Dr. Price's observations and recommendations. If you don't have time to read this book, check out the Weston A Price (dot org) Foundation site - just google it, it will be at the top of the first search page. There is an article which is a mini-version of this book titled: Principles of Healthy Diets - just type it into the search bar on the right of the main page. Then read all 28 pages!

I warn you, it’s crazy simple, and it’s not a diet. Here are the one page guidelines, called Dietary Guidelines, from the westonaprice site, my comments are in [brackets].

1. Eat whole, natural foods.
2. Eat only foods that will spoil, but eat them before they do.
3. Eat naturally-raised meat including fish, seafood, poultry, beef, lamb, game, organ meats and eggs.
4. Eat whole, naturally-produced milk products from pasture-fed cows, preferably raw and/or fermented, such as whole yogurt, cultured butter, whole cheeses and fresh and sour cream.
5. Use only traditional fats and oils including butter and other animal fats [lard, tallow, goose, chicken], extra virgin olive oil, expeller expressed sesame and flax oil and the tropical oils—coconut and palm.
6. Eat fresh fruits and vegetables, preferably organic, in salads and soups, or lightly steamed.
7. Use whole grains and nuts that have been prepared by soaking, sprouting or sour leavening to neutralize phytic acid and other anti-nutrients.
8. Include enzyme-enhanced lacto-fermented vegetables, fruits, beverages and condiments in your diet on a regular basis.
9. Prepare homemade meat stocks from the bones of chicken, beef, lamb or fish and use liberally in soups and sauces.
10. Use herb teas and coffee substitutes in moderation.
11. Use filtered water for cooking and drinking.
12. Use unrefined Celtic sea salt and a variety of herbs and spices for food interest and appetite stimulation.
13. Make your own salad dressing using either fresh lemon juice or raw vinegar, and extra virgin olive oil or sesame oil or a mix of the two. [Do not use flax oil, after a 15 month study I found all to be at some degree of rancidity. Grind the seeds and eat within 15min as they start to become rancid (oxidized) at that time limit.]
14. Use natural sweeteners in moderation, such as raw honey, maple syrup, molasses, dehydrated cane sugar juice [rapadura, sucanat (sugar cane natural) date sugar (ground dates)] and stevia powder.
15. Use only unpasteurized wine or beer in strict moderation with meals. [Pasteurization kills all the probiotics!]
16. Cook only in stainless steel, cast iron, glass or good quality enamel. [No non-stick.]
17. Use only natural supplements.
18. Get plenty of sleep, exercise and natural light.
19. Think positive thoughts and minimize stress. [prayer, meditation, yoga, EFT]
20. Practice forgiveness.

Here, too, are the WAPF Dietary Dangers:

1. Don't eat commercially processed foods such as cookies, cakes, crackers, TV dinners, soft drinks, packaged sauce mixes, etc.
2. Avoid all refined sweeteners such as sugar, dextrose, glucose and high fructose corn syrup.
3. Avoid white flour, white flour products and white rice.
4. Avoid all hydrogenated or partially hydrogenated fats and oils.
5. Avoid all vegetable oils made from soy, corn, safflower, canola or cottonseed.
6. Do not use polyunsaturated oils for cooking, sauteing or baking.
7. Avoid fried foods.
8. Do not practice veganism; animal products provide vital nutrients not found in plant foods.
9. Avoid products containing protein powders.
10. Avoid pasteurized milk; do not consume lowfat milk, skim milk, powdered milk or imitation milk products.
11. Avoid battery-produced eggs and factory-farmed meats.
12. Avoid highly processed luncheon meats and sausage containing MSG and other additives.
13. Avoid rancid and improperly prepared seeds, nuts and grains found in granolas, quick rise breads and extruded breakfast cereals, as they block mineral absorption and cause intestinal distress.
14. Avoid canned, sprayed, waxed, bioengineered or irradiated fruits and vegetables. [Eat organic!]
15. Avoid artificial food additives, especially MSG, hydrolyzed vegetable protein and aspartame, which are neurotoxins. Most soups, sauce and broth mixes and commercial condiments contain MSG, even if not so labeled. [make your own nutrient dense broth.]
16. Avoid caffeine-containing beverages such as coffee, tea and soft drinks. Avoid chocolate. [Decaf your own tea by first steeping loose tea in a mug of boiled water for 10-30 seconds and tossing that steep out, then re-steep as usual. For teabags, only 5-10 seconds is necessary.]
17. Avoid aluminum-containing foods such as commercial salt, baking powder and antacids. Do not use aluminum cookware or aluminum-containing deodorants.
18. Do not drink fluoridated water.
19. Avoid synthetic vitamins and foods containing them.
20. Do not drink distilled liquors.
21. Do not use a microwave oven. [It changes food in ways that slow cooking does not.]

The research and rationale for eating for health are in this book, but the guidelines are simple and easy. You very likely don’t need a doctor or a therapist, you just need to eat real food, and ignore the fake foods and fad diets of the day. It is our processed, sugar laden, non-nutritive, chemically loaded modern diet that is at the root of much of our modern diseases. It can be reversed and you can do it yourself.

Read this book, save your own health and life. I did, my husbands heart disease reversed, it works.
Blessings to all!
77 comments| 172 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 23, 2014
In 2005, I read a book that changed everything I thought I knew about nutrition - for all time; it is THE book of causative factors. This past week, 9 years later, I decided, prompted by some discussions online and here, to re-read it: "Nutrition and Physical Degeneration," by Weston A. Price. It's even more timely and prescient than ever. I was just as compelled then as now - more so, perhaps, after 10 years of reading and research of my own. I easily read 500 pages in 4 nights. Price was a dentist who graduated from the University of Michigan dental school in 1893. As he got into the first two decades of his practice in the 20th century, he became increasingly alarmed at people with bad teeth, poorly formed palates, cavities, and deformations of the jaw - and with that, serious health problems. He and his wife, beginning in 1929-30, traveled around the world to 14 different countries to find how the health, elsewhere, corresponded with mainly modern Americans. He visited isolated and respectively more modernized cultures in a Swiss village, Gaelics in the Islands of the Outer Hebrides, Eskimos, North American Indians, Melanesians, Polynesians, numerous African tribes, Australian Aborigines, Torres Strait Islanders, New Zealand Maori, and the Peruvian Indians. As well as studying the kept skulls of ancient Peruvians - nearly perfect palates and teeth.

Bottom line: he investigated these peoples, who subsisted of their native "wild" foods - variably, meat, blood, butter, organ meats, milk, fish, rye, oats, some vegetables - and observed in them perfect dental arches, very rare tooth decay and cavities, and most of all, immunity to tuberculosis; their health, as well as their physiques, was found to be outstanding. However, in those groups, where certain segments obtained "modern foods of commerce" - white flour, sugar, jams, vegetable fats, canned goods - their health suffered, tuberculosis became rampant, as well as serious birth defects, cavities, deformed jaws, crooked teeth, and a host of other degenerative conditions. There are hundreds of photos throughout, and the difference between those who ate their native foods, and those who had manufactured foods, is truly, jaw-dropping shocking.

Price documented his findings rigorously, thoroughly, with percentages and averages noted throughout. He also conducted numerous tests, curing several people of their health problems just by a change in food. The tests on vitamin A, D, butter, and minerals reveal some crucial findings and results. Animals with no vitamin A were born blind, or disfigured. There are several X-rays and photos that show the outcome of his tests. He notes conditions of soils, contents and values of whole grains, grasses and how they affect the final outcome - results of the consumption of the food in humans and animals.

What it all boils down to is chemistry. The closer a food is to its natural origins and source, the better the health. The further away from its origins it is, processing, poor nutrients in growth cycles, denaturing, the worse the effect. In some of these cultures, no two young people were allowed to procreate unless they had undergone 6 months of concentrated nutrition to maximize the health of the conceived child. Price makes constant note of the "native wisdom" that had been passed down from generation to generation. He presents not just a few token cases but hundreds of them, across several thousands of miles - and it is startling how consistent the findings are from place to place.

Though it was written in the 1930s, it is nonetheless eerily prophetic of the ominous trends that punctuate modern technology, namely the changing nature of how humans and animals eat. There is a "Twilight Zone" sense of foreboding as Dr. Price's research and findings unfold, chapter after chapter. What this book amounts to is a convincing, virtual warning on what is happening to the planet, to its food in all forms, and the humans and animals that inhabit it. I have no reservations about saying that this may be the most crucial piece of work on nutrition to ever have been written.

This book is a spectacular read; I can't even begin to cover the astonishing breadth and scope of it. It is also controversial: a lot of quacks and grain and vegetarian fanatics have attacked this book, but, as it turns out, every one of Price's early findings are increasingly gaining merit as a lot of myths are being refuted.

Though it does deal primarily with Dr. Price's research, findings and discoveries on nutrition and physical degeneration, there are so many rewards otherwise. This is a first-rate travelogue, superb cultural anthropological study, and an impressively thorough analysis of human behaviors. Moreover, Price is a wonderful writer, matter-of-factly genteel, dispassionate and duly concerned all at once. There is a compassionate, keen kindness in his own being, and the generosity of spirit in wanting to do for the common good is evident throughout.
33 comments| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 22, 2016
This is an astounding book. Doubly so since it was written three quarters of a century ago. Triply so since we seem to ignore the conclusions and implications. Price uses superb deductive reasoning and great energy and persistence to explore numerous "primitive" cultures on every inhabited continent where the traditional ways of life existed and were just being touched by modernity. Thus he was able to compare the before and after of lifestyle and of physical health. Basically humans have become less physically active, are out of the sun most of the time, eat food designed to be "efficient" to grow and transport and produced on ever more depleted land. We appear to have lost the ability that exists in animals and
"primitive" people to sense specific foods which are needed for proper nourishment at different phases of our lives. It appears that most disease
is a result and may even include antisocial and criminal behavior propensities.
I have read "Vitamin K2 and the Calcium Miracle" which lead me to read this book. I have communicated the information from both books to friends and family and we have had some interactions with medical doctors and other professionals and find it common that they have never heard of vitamin K2.
I personally had open heart surgery for defective aortic valve replacement and artery blockages were discovered at that time. I was an avid
( 6-day-a-week) cyclist at that time and I began a strict low fat vegan diet. After 5 years I was found to have an advancement of the artery blockages. That is when I decided the medical advice on prevention of heart disease is absolutely worthless. After recent readings I have concluded that the positions of the medical community are exactly opposite to the proper course for heart health. While they search for something "bad" as the cause of disease, the real cause is lack of some things "good".
It appears that sunlight penetrates the body and converts cholesterol into vitamin 'D', magnesium in the body makes calcium soluble and Vitamin K2 directs the calcium to the proper locations --- bones and teeth. Any one of the chain missing means calcium goes to arteries, kidney stones, bone spurs. With all elements in place the calcium deposits in the bones and teeth.
It would appear that research on heart disease and cancer should be shifted to research on diet and health, hopefully before another 75 years elapses.
Jim Benefiel

I had read most of the book when I wrote this review and am now completing the end sections. Weston Price was a genius on the order of
Charles Darwin. I read his thoughts and realize the time he wrote constituted a period before much of modern genetics was developed.
Dr. Price makes no inaccurate statements that I can detect since he employees his perceptive deductive reasoning. I remain astounded that most of what he has written seems to have been ignored.
I recently read "The Miraculous Results of Extremely High Doses of Vitamin D3" in which the author describes the effective use of
100,000 IU of D3 to improve his health. He disavows being a conspiracy theorist yet expresses suspicion of the reasons the mainstream medical profession warns against more than very low dosages of D3. I too am adverse to conspiracy theories and yet find it strange that
such a tepid embrace of vitamin and mineral supplements is made my the medical profession. It appears that any of the major vitamin and mineral nutritional supplements have virtually no adverse risks at levels of 10 or 20 times the "official" RDA. Perhaps it is just that there is no money behind advocacy of proper nutrition and supplements and huge finances behind the sale of drugs.
Jim B.
11 comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 9, 2017
For nearly a decade, an ordinary dentist from Cleveland, Ohio, set-out on a journey across the world to figure out the what prevented some groups from succumbing to the degenerative ailments of the Western world. A man named Weston A. Price wanted to discover this. His curiosity about the diets of indigenous societies brought him to 14 countries, seeking to learn what left these indigenous cultures immune to diseases and in perfect physical health.

Originally visiting these isolated tribes to examined their teeth and dental arch form, Price found something much more. No matter in what region of the world, isolated tribes were utilizing foods from the environment and obeying the original laws of nature. In return, mother nature rewarded these tribes with beautiful teeth and perfect health. Whether by land or sea, vegetation or animal products, the local tribes were practicing the same customs of living and food preparation past down to them through generations of accumulated wisdom. Testing food samples of these different tribes, Price found their nutrient density to be much superior to the modernized foods of western society.
However, when these same tribes came in contact with industrialism and began to consume processed foods like, white flour, jam, and vegetable fats, there began a serious decline in physical form and they soon manifested dental caries, misaligned dental arches, and underdeveloped facial structures. With the gains made in perfect health lost, the off-springs born after parents who abandoned their traditional diet had the worst outcomes​.

Nutrition and Physical Degeneration exposes how the wisdom of ancient cultures seemed rather lost then and more so today in our Western culture and the consequences are devastating. If measures are not changed the perpetual patterns of flawed genes and physical form will continue to happen for generations to come.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 29, 2013
In the 1930s Western A Price, a Canadian dentist, began visiting "primitive communities" around the world (he would visit 14 in all), and he discovered the importance of nutrition to people's dental and physical health. His conclusion: A diet of locally-grown and freshly-made vegetables and meats, no matter the variety, is far superior to the modern Western diet of packaged and processed, refined and sweetened convenience food. The evidence is pretty damning: Not only did the people of primitive societies have perfect and clean teeth (despite having no dentists and toothpaste in their hills or islands), but once they shifted to a more Western diet their teeth began to rot just as much as their Western counterparts.

Reading this book today is shocking. All the scientifically-confirmed data on nutrition was already well-known and established even in Dr. Price's day. Dr. Price's warnings and dire prophecies about the dangers of the Western diet have become even more obvious today, mainly because the Western diet has become so prevalent throughout the world.

This is a much more convincing book than "The China Study," although for parents and educators wondering about the importance of nutrition both should be mandatory reading.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 23, 2014
Some doctors really cut this book down online. They and you should really take a closer look. Mr. Price visited many cultures in the world that had a reputation for healthiness. When the "civilized diet" of white flour and sugar and other highly processed, devitalized "foods" was introduced, you can read of what happened. (And back when he wrote this, the "civilized diet" was better than what it is today.) He also took a lot of photos to illustrate his writings. Quite interesting and should cause you to take action to take charge of your health. You might wonder why many in our health system would want to suppress this information. Could it be that your poor health is financially rewarding to them?
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 20, 2010
Dr. Weston Price travelled the world in the nineteen-thirties to research the effects of refined western diet on the health of as many different ethnic and cultural groups as he could possibly visit. These included "primitive" cultures in Asia, Africa and some remote islands. In his research, he studied each culture, one at a time, and divided it into two subgroups: those still living on the traditional, natural and unprocessed native diet, vs. those (in many cases their near relatives) living in cities on a "western" diet of refined and processed foods.

Over and over and over, the people on the native diets were far healthier than their city cousins. From one culture and location to another, the local diet varied considerably. Some diets were essentially meatless; but others were almost entirely animal-based. It didn't seem to matter. The key to superior health seems to have been not so much WHAT one ate, but the FORM in which it was eaten. For the best health, Price shows over and over again, their food needed to be in as NATURAL and UNPROCESSED a form as possible.

The urban population samples (living on the refined diet) had consistently bad teeth and bad overall health, as illustrated by dozens of striking photographs. Meanwhile, comparative photos show that people on the natural native diet--people of the exact same heredity--had beautiful teeth, entirely free of cavities, this despite often not knowing one end of a toothbrush from the other! (None of them had any fluoride in their drinking water, either.)

Conclusion for you and me? Eat food in as NATURAL a form as possible for the best health. Avoid processed foods like the plague, unless you want the kind of "health" the people in his pictures of city dwellers had.

The work of this great nutritional pioneer is carried on today by the Weston Price Institute.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2018
A brilliant text. My husband and I are sorry we didn't read this sooner, and we've changed many elements of our diet as a result. We feel healthier, stronger, smarter, and more in control. Cavities have shrunk and tooth pain is gone. Infertility issues disappeared. We haven't gotten a cold or any virus in years. This edition might be fairly old, but it remains highly relevant. Buy this book - invest in your health, now and down the road.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 7, 2015
This is a big book and a lot of reading, but it contains 10 years worth of studying the nutrition and health of isolated groups of people all over the globe plus medical findings by other researchers. While I have seen some people call it quackery, Dr. Price's findings are actually scientifically sound and astonishingly unbiased, even when it comes to dentistry. I think the only things some readers may take offense with are some of the words he uses (like Mongoloid idiots for people with Down Syndrome), but one has to keep in mind that the book was written in 1939 and therefore uses terms which are now outdated. Overall, I can only recommend it to anyone wanting to stay or get healthy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 8, 2014
It's hard to believe this was written in the 30s. We've been through so many fads of nutrition since then. But, what an incredible mind, every chapter provides another profound revelation as it pertains to the Standard American Diet and modern diets in general, and perhaps decline of our entire culture or even civilization. The awesomeness is its potential simplicity.. could we fix the world with high vitamin butter and nutrient density in general? It really seems that it could be possible. Of course, re-investing and rebuilding our soils and oceans in order to produce these foods is not going to be easy, but what's the alternative?
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse