Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Listen for a chance to win STEM $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
17
Object-Oriented Analysis and Design with Applications (3rd Edition)
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$59.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on March 27, 2017
I was reviewing the Gang of Four's book on Design Patterns and read Grady Booch's Forward. I decided to buy and read his Object-Oriented Analysis and Design with Applications book. I am very glad that I did. Booch does a great job of presenting the foundations of OOD, connecting all of the dots, and demonstrating how to apply OOD to various applications. I think this is a must-read for any professional OOP designer/developer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 30, 2016
Topics are already seen!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 9, 2016
No code in books,all about strategy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 4, 2016
Really, this is an outstanding book on object oriented analysis and design. In many instances of my work and projects I took advantage of using it, especially the section with applications. It is outstanding because it gives the science behind object oriented analysis and design with citations on previous and current research specifically in software development, and software engineering in general. For example, do yo know why software is complex? What are the elements that make software so hard and so complex to develop? But you should first ask: what is complexity at all? You will find the answer to this and many other important questions with awesome cristal clear explanations on concepts, and methods used in constructing industrial-strenght sofware.
Together with this book, I recommend this companion books: Clean Code (Robert C. Martin), Agile Software Development - Principles, Patterns, and Practices (Robert C. Martin), UML 2 and the Unified Process 2ed. (Arlow and Neustadt).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 3, 2014
Author described the OOAD sens, paradigm and advantages. All part of text about OOAD are illustrated in UML 2.0 diagrams with comments. Second half of the book include some examples with explanation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 21, 2014
template gardeing template diagram gardeing plan ~ initialize operating initializing ~~ analyst crop plan metrics ~~~ perspectives ties

Began a gardening plan to use with the template diagram with the extended timing initialize operating initializing plan
to analysis crop plan metrics. Seeing how the gardening plan favors the paused timing pause intializing resume
when it comes to the light package that gives nutrients of ambient light if a layer lighting model is used
to see the nutrient standards in layers. With the water of the gardening plan went with the timing initializing sound alarm pausing
to see how the message passing would aid into the shifting process as it rollsover with iteration as the segments were gone over.
Taking notes on the metrics of the gardening plan to see when and where the deployment of the light and water can curve the
notation constraints how the sequence communication can be used. What came across is the initialize operating initializing of the template diagram could be extended with the timing initialize operatiing
plan analyst to see more the crop plan metrics in the initializing gardening plan when it comes to water and light usage.

The subseconds of the lighting perspectives can become more known when the template referencing attributes are known with the attributes diagram
frame points are gone over. Seeing the database interface how it plays into the subsecond lighting perspectives is optional when noticing
how the template can be split into two separate templates when concerning light and water. This tends to create a submachine templates
to notice the timing of the template rigid patterns with the sample requirements are gone over with the parameter messages gone over.
Making out for just that a subsecond lighting perspectives that mixes with the water template to now two templates of co~interaction.

It is helpful to see how the lighting perspectives are there to uncover shadow ties when the hue saturation of texture layers do
actually blend in with opacity slider layers of the contrast slide to filter out the layer masks. This is the mid tone sliders of the crop plan
metrics when the hue saturation mid tone sliders of the gardening plan becomes more noticable. For the lighting of the row column perspectives
when the light and water mix can pinpoint the point to points of the referencing perspectives of the transition segments. Giving a notice
of the parameter texture of the layers that blend among the row column as the top down quarter points are understood of the sliding layers now.

The zooming in and out of the point by point of the template is there with the lighting perspectives to uncover the shadow ties.
The frame points allow to zoom onto the point template frame among points to see the design process being used with the functional semantics.
Zooming in & out point by point template frame zooming in & out point by point template frame.
With the gardening plan in the metrics form the lighting perspectives give away the attribute lines that are among the parameter message
when the transition lighting perspectives are more known as the uncovering of the walkthrough object in the building blocks within the walkthrough activity diagram ~~
seen as a Attributes Diagram to Verify validate objects in use.

template gardeing template diagram gardeing plan ~ initialize operating initializing ~~ analyst crop plan metrics ~~~ perspectives ties
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 17, 2013
I love this book. And this is my opinion: I bought it the first time back in the late 90s when I was in college and recently I got the latest edition for kindle format so I can access it from my phone. This is not a book that if you read it, you will be an OOP expert, but it helps to understand many concepts. In my case it is part of the foundation of my knowledge as an IT professional. It is so clear and well explained the concept of Class; Object; Polymorphism; Encapsulation, Abstraction, Inheritance, etc..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 15, 2013
Pros:
It's a good overview of object-oriented analysis and design and its connection to the sometimes esoteric UML diagrams that accompany the process of analyzing and designing object-oriented systems.
I think the book is good for anyone looking to learn the basic reasoning behind object-oriented analysis and design and see some brief examples relating to the theory.

Cons:
I expected more from a book that comes recommended from so many people. The feeling I had at the end of each chapter is difficult to describe, but most closely resembles that of hopelessness. I was thinking to myself that maybe I didn't read it right, or maybe I accidentally skipped a page (or ten). Overall, I felt like I had learned something, but had no idea how to apply it. The book leaves you with more questions than when you started.

The author specifies many times throughout the book that he truncates or condenses information because it would be too long to fit in the book. This sacrifice of detail comes at a cost; an unnecessary cost considering how much repetitious filler information (borderline double-talk) is included in the book. The book could have been 200 pages shorter if they eliminated the fluff, and 200 times better if they used the space to take an example to completion.

I found myself wanting more information at the end of each chapter. Just when the author starts to get into finer details of an example is the moment when he condenses everything, wraps it up into something ambiguous and indecipherable, and begins on some new example. One specific case I can offer is the part of the book that uses the satellite navigation system example, and the black-box/white-box analysis with use cases and activity diagrams. When I started reading it I thought it was great. I expected by the end of the chapter I'll finally have a grasp on how to use these UML tools and analysis techniques to better organize projects and create clearer preliminary designs. He ends up condensing the diagrams, i.e., diagrams that would have been separate are now part of one big diagram. Furthermore, he only shows you partially how to create the diagram and then lists the things he would continue to do from that point, but doesn't actually show it to you. What's worse, is he tells you that he condensed the diagrams and in a real life situation he wouldn't have done this, rather he would have created separate diagrams and detailed them differently and performed the analysis in a different order.

I think the end result of reading this book is that you've gained no new skills that you can practice and incorporate into your work, because you only have this partial condensed idea of analysis and design. I got this book because I was looking for more detailed information on how to build object-oriented systems as opposed to the multitude of vague and worthless mantras found all over like, "just make everything cohesive and loosely coupled", and "SOLID". This book ended up being a very wordy version of the same vague and worthless mantras.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 2, 2013
I have the hard copy but loading onto my Kindle makes it easier to search for topics I want to brush up on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 15, 2013
I rate with 5 stars because this book is a really nice one for learning object-oriented analysis. Quality is good and shipping is on time. Thank you so much!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse