Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2 twinpeaksv2  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Spring Savings Event on Amazon.com Ellen

Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Game of the Year|Change
Price:$14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 265 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 302 reviews
on June 13, 2016
Got this for my fiance since she has enjoyed Skyrim so much. The version I bought first (platinum) was a freebie from a gamestop purchase but she played it a few times and really enjoyed it.

Microsoft's expansion market is really bad (everything still original price despite its age) but the game of the year edition comes with both the shivering isles and nights of the nine expansions included. (platinum has neither).

In terms of comparing to Skyrim I would say that Oblivion has better guild quests, a more compelling main storyline, and smoother crafting/harvesting mechanics. I think that Skyrim does merchant/NPC interactions better though and Skyrim's graphics are obviously going to be much better than it's predecessor. I have not actually played this game so I can't comment on difficulty/combat but I have spent about 8 hours watching her play on a lower difficulty level. It looks very fun just like Skyrim.

If somewhat dated graphics don't bother you and you like RPG's you should get this version (not platinum edition)
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2016
I used to play Oblivion many years ago but didn't quite understand how to play it because I was new to console games. My mom sold the console for me to focus on education many years ago and now that I am grown up and became more responsible I bought a console 2 years ago and started playing. Everything seem easier and I feel like a kid again! I also have skyrim and played it but don't get discouraged if you think oblivion isn't up to par, it's a game of the year at that time for a reason and will not disappoint any gamer!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2015
This game is timeless. If you love Skyrim, you have to play this game. It has better gameplay and worse graphics.

If you haven't played this game, there is no excuse not to at this price.

The Legendary Edition contains the Shivering Isles Expansion pack which is the best part of the game. It also adds massive amounts of gameplay time. If you have only played the original Oblivion, this is unbelievably worth it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
Bless the Nine for this game! This is the first Elder Scrolls game I have played and I was impressed. This game is massive and it's not just empty space, there are copious amounts of dungeons, capes, inns, and most importantly quests. The main story is epic and many side quests are just as epic as the main one. This game is and always will be considered one of the greatest Action-RPGs ever.

The Story:
-So you are a prisoner and fate has brought you and Emperor Uriel Septim together as he had a dream about you being someone to trust as he needs to escape through your prison cell. You are freed with it because the emperor entrusts you with the Amulet of the Kings as he fears he will be assassinated.
- The emperor gets assassinated and you have to go find the new heir or all of Cyrodil and Tamierel (Elder Scrolls land) will be destroyed by the Daedric God Mehrunes Dagon.

Pros:
- Very strong story with amazing depth, the side quests add to the backstory of the area and game.
- Very addicting gameplay, feels a lot more complicated than it looks whether you are cast spells of destruction, summoning creatures to aid you, or fighting with a sword. There are a lot of factors that go into combat and gameplay. In the end it looks like you are just flailing and running in circles though.
- The AI is pretty decent considering how long ago this game came out. NPCs aren't annoying to work with in this game (except for following Baurus to the sewers, goodbye hour of your life)
- Every dungeon is different and unique in their own way, while there are a couple of styles, each layout is unique.
- Your enemies level up along with you so that way the game is always challenging. Of course there is a cap at like level 30, but at that point you know pretty much everything about combat.
- The game explains in great detail what each attribute does for your character when creating it.
- The main quest is rather short as far as most main stories go, but there are a plethora of questlines. It's not an achievement, but it should be just to complete every quest.
- Every person has voice dialogue that's not annoying.
- You can fast travel to any location you've discovered.

Cons:
- There are quite a few glitches in the game, most of the don't effect anything, but there are a couple that make it impossible to finish quests. I recommend you check the Elder Scrolls wiki should you think there's a glitch.

Other:
- On one playthrough I got all 1250G, (game of the year edition gives the Shivering Isles DLC which is the only DLC that gives any achievements). It's not hard because the achievements all revolve around quests.
- The Game of the Year edition comes with a DLC disk for the Shivering Isles and the Knights of the Nine questline
- Other DLC doesn't provide extra achievements and not so much extra story, just somewhat decent equipment.
- I've played 74 hours so far and I'm nowhere near to done with the side quests.

Buy this game if:
- You want to play an epic, amazing, and beautiful Action-RPG.
- The game is under $20 (Game of Year version)
- Haven't played Skyrim yet

To me there's no reason why you shouldn't buy this game except for price.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2016
This game is my favorite of all time, it may not be as pretty as Skyrim but this game brings back so many memories for me. I am a sucker for games with character customization first of all. Second, I love the wide open world of Cyrodiil. The lore is fantastic, I am a huge Elder Scrolls fan but this game will always have a special place in my heart.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2015
Bethesda has set the bar or all RPGs. With Fallout and the Elder Scrolls series they have not gone wrong. I played this game before and loaned it. This was the best way to get back, and play the DLCs that I missed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2013
I completed this game 100% at close to 150 hours of gameplay, so just the time I got out of it alone was worth the $20. The world was very nice looking and for it's time the graphics are decent.

As for the story and quests I think I prefer Morrowind (which for those that don't know was the game before this one). The story was just okay and the quests themselves were not really anything new compared to Morrowind. The new Quest log is amazing compared to Morrowind though and was a much needed feature! Guilds were always one of my favorites parts of Morrowind. Oblivion didn't seem to have as many of them that had things to do and moving up in rank was way way way too easy compared to the previous game where you also had to meet skill requirements. Oblivion left that out so you just do quests and go up in rank after so many from a guild.

Battles annoyed me. I liked Morrowind's system better, even though in this game you can hit something each time unlike Morrowind where you need to build your skill up to have a better change to hit the enemy. The battle may have been better if you actually had something to battle. Outside of the caves/forts/etc it was rare to run into an enemy to fight and travel got boring.

The extra DLC that is included was pretty fun. The Knights one was entertaining but it felt like it was a replacement of the Temple Guild quests from Morrowind. Shivering Isles could be worth $20 almost on it's own. The story was so much more fun than the Oblivion story line and it made up probably close to 25-50 hours worth of gameplay all on it's own. The world was decent sized with lots to discover and there was plenty of new quests to work on.

Overall, the game is well worth the $20 price. I just wish they had done better with the main story line and kept the skill requirements for the guild ranks to give it more of a challenge.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2017
LOVE. THIS. GAME. It's just so much fun and there are endless things to do!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2015
This game, while nowhere near it's counterpart Skyrim, is definitely a work of art. Bethesda had it together even before Skyrim, even if the graphics are worse than what we're used to! Great storyline, great combat, and overall a wonderful game!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2016
Still holds up, even after several years.
Very large game, lots to do.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 28 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here