Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 137 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 240 reviews
on July 29, 2013
I really like this show. I didn't watch it, or know about it, when it was on. Some cable station ran a marathon recently and I was able to snag some, but not, all of the shows. This is one I missed.

I would like to know why this show only lasted for one season. Maybe the show was PC-incorrect? The parents are nice. The kids are nice. Horrors. The kids actually look to their parents and their parent actually notice their kids.

The mother, a doctor, is really warm and engaging. I'd like to know her. The daughter looks like her daughter would look.

The father, a law guy, is a bit less than ideal but he is basically a good guy. His son is even less endowed than his dad, and gets into some degree of trouble.

The bearded guy Taylor is somewhat of a caricature, but an enjoyable one, and sometimes a surprising one. I have seen a whole lot worse.

Kudos to this show. Fox acted like a loser by stopping an excellent program.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2017
I am sorry this show was cancelled. Prime wants to charge for show/episodes so I just bought it. I like letterbox. Good sound and visuals. I liked most of the character development and story arcs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2016
Loved the first 2 episodes (the long intro episode and the first regular length one) and was excited that it seems GREAT. But it got flat all too soon, even with Spielberg working on it. Does J.R. Orci need to fix every great show that starts to go downhill? Love the show but not as spellbinding as it was at first and as Defiance still is after 3 seasons. Really--3 1/2 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
No Terra Nova is not as good as Jurassic Park, but did anyone really expect it be be?

I believe that people are too quick to write Terra Nova off. Even great sci-fi shows such as Falling Skies, BattleStar Galactica and Stargate first come under negative reviews and yet went on to become successful. The acting and choice of actors has also come under criticism and yet no one would enjoy watching a series about a whole military base fighting the odd dinosaur and killing all enemies. The civilian element, much like the colonial fleet in Battlestar, helps to cause trouble within Terra Nova (ie the sixer spy). The human element is crucial to ALL sci-fi's -surely people must realise this? If not i recommend watching a different genre (Preferably a war film)

About the CGI used in Terra Nova. What can u expect from a TV Series? The big films may be able to get the best CGI but for a TV series it is incredibly harder (And has caused shows like Stargate to be cancelled). Is the CGI so bad? No, not compared to some current shows broadcast on SciFi.

Overall i believe People need to give Terra Nova a chance, especially as the story is now getting deeper. If, After this season, the plot hasn't improved, then criticise Terra Nova and get out your DVD of Jurassic Park.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2012
I loved that this show was geared toward family watching (for the most part there are a few scenes that should not be seen by the little ones). If you take a look at the scenery, the CGI graphics blend naturally into the scenes. The fact that they actually built a set in Australia (love Aussie's!) made the entire show far more realistic than being set on some sound stage in Los Angeles.

The Shannon Family, Dad and ex-cop Jim (the heart stopping Jason O'Mara), Mom and Doctor Elisabeth (Shelley Conn), son Josh (Landon Liboiron), daughter Maddie (Naomi Scott) and the absolutely adorable Zoe (Alana Mansour). 2149 Earth is dying from over population and pollution, a time rift is found with a one way door to 85 Million years BC. For 12 episodes we were treated the growing development of the relations between the family and the people living in Terra Nova. Stephen Lang in a "good" role shines as the "leader" of this colony. (and boy does this man have a set of biceps on him he can protect me any day).

Take a wonderful journey back in time, watch a show that you can watch with your entire family. Enjoy it for what is is. Fantasy, Science Fiction, and pure enjoyment. The show did get off track for one or two episodes, but there was still so much more to be delved into. As a stand alone it is enjoyable, with the ending leaving those inevitable cliff hangers (what exactly is IN those badlands??) But does give you some closure to imagine what happens next....(actually the two hour season ending blew me away by far the best episode out there)

Unfortunately, FOX has decided not to renew the show. While they had decent ratings, the show costs per episode just couldn't cut it. Rumor has it NetFlix may pick it up as "mini" series. While I would entirely ENCOURAGE this, its hard to be hopeful. SciFi has never had a soft spot in any TV Exec's heart, which is a shame, especially in this case. Hopefully this will open doors not only to great SciFi, but to honest to goodness family entertainment.

Kudo's to the entire team, and to Steven Spielberg (You may have heard of him) and Brannon Braga (a little thing called Star Trek, he actually worked with Gene Roddenberry) take heart that there are those of us who LOVED this show and the steps you took to put on a decent SciFi Show!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2017
I love this series - I wish they had done more than 1 season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2012
I REMEMBER THE FIRST SET OF TRAILERS ON THIS SHOW AND WAS VERY EXCITED TO VIEW AND ENJOY. A YEAR LATER AFTER RETURNING FROM DEPLOYMENT, I WAS ABLE TO FINALLY PURCHASE THE FIRST SEASON. I WAS HOOKED FROM THE VERY START AND PLEASED OF THE QUALITY OF PRODUCTION AND DISTRIBUTION.

I AM VERY SADDENED THAT SEASON #2 IS HELD UP FOR PROFIT MARGINS, AS I UNDERSTAND IT. SADLY, THE LONGER PRODUCTION WAITS, THE MORE THE NOVELTY AND EXCITEMENT WILL PROGRESS TOWARDS THE NEXT PRODUCTION INTEREST COMING OUT FROM THE ENTIRE INDUSTRY. I WOULD COMPARE THAT AS A TRAGEDY TO NOT HAVING STAR WARS AND MATRIX SEQUELS; RESENTFULNESS.

LASTLY, TERRA NOVA SEASON #1 IS VERY MUCH WORTH ACQUIRING. TRUST A SERIOUS MOVIE BUFF, YOU WILL ENJOY THE STORY-LINE AND DRAMA.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2017
good series for a great price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2016
Pretty good yarn I've always loved post apocalypse material anyway. These characters don't seem to have much in the way of challenges though. Seems like they are not too upset about the circumstances. Waste of viewing time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2017
No problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse