Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports
Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Original Release Date: July 10, 2003
  • Release Date: July 22, 2003
  • Label: Capitol Records
  • Copyright: (C) 2003 Capitol Records, Inc.. All rights reserved. Unauthorized reproduction is a violation of applicable laws. Manufactured by Capitol Records, Inc., 1750 North Vine Street, Hollywood, CA 90028.
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 47:24
  • Genres:
  • ASIN: B000T31NHC
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars 986 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #444 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
Ok A year or more ago I stumbled along a unique band called Yellowcard. By unique I mean they were very much pop punk except for the fact that they had a violin player! In ways you can't understand until you listen, the violin turns the normal song into something so much more incredible. Anyways, expect a really cool sound from these guys. On with the review.
I went out and bought Ocean Ave. the day it came out. It was my personal most anticipated album of the year. Let me tell you the wait was worth it. I'm going to rund down, song by song.
1. Way Away - This is their first single, and is a great song to kick off the CD. Its slightly harder sounding then previous songs, but its one of my favorites. It tells how the band moved out to California from the Jacksonville Fl. to provide more oppertunity for the band. Great lyrics throughout the whole song, and cd.
2. Breathing - Another slightly harder sound, but again, its awsome! The chorus will get stuck in your head for days (Thats a good thing!)
3. Ocean Avenue - This is one of the bst songs on the CD. It tells how the writer misses a former relationship. Again, the chorus is just amazing.
4. Empty Apartment - In this song you hear about a lost friend. Great Lyrics.
5. Life of a Salesman - About one of the band member's father. Not personally one of my favorites, but there are no bad songs on this cd.
6. Only One - I think this will be their second single. Key, the song writer, talks about a recent break up. I can really relate to this song, and I'm willing to bet that almost everyone else can too. It's very heart felt.
7. Miles Apart - Key looks back on how he and his friends were seperated for a while after highschool. The violin is pretty cool on this song.
8. Twentythree - This song is incredible!
Read more ›
2 Comments 220 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
This cd is one of the best cd's I have heard all summer. It has that upbeat vibe. The songs are great, and the violin player really sets this band apart from the others because of the added unique violin. All the songs on this album are great.
1.Way away- definetly a single, very catchy with great vocals
2.Breathing- slightly heavier, but possibly more catchy. great vocals and lyrics.
3.Ocean Avenue- one of the best on the album in my opinoin, emo lyrics.
4.Empty Apartment- balad like song with super meaningful lyrics.
5.Life of a Salesman- great song, fun fast lyrics and great guitar riffs
6.Only once- The BEST song on the album, the song just flows perfect, everything is perfect.
7.Miles Apart- another super catchy song with more great vocals.
8.Twentythree- popish lyrically charged upbeat song with blaring vocals.
9.View From Heaven-Country rock sounding slower song with deeper lyrics. guest vocals by
10.Inside out-good song, catchy with great harmonies.
11.Believe- this sont is tied with only once. Emotionally charged song about September 11. Great vocals some drama with the violin, great riffs.
12.One year, six months- slow balad, good vocals good lyrics.
13.Back Home- great great song, slowish but super catchy with meaningful lyrics.
This is the best yellowcard cd yet!
"...I don't think we are a punk rock band. Whatever you want to call punk music nowadays, I think the lines are so blurred, you can't really tell anymore. We're definitely influenced by punk rock, yes. We grew up listening to that, but I don't think we are trying to emulate that or duplicate it in any way."-Yellowcard
Comment 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on September 24, 2003
Format: Audio CD
I came across Yellowcard channel surfing and saw their video for Way Away on some channel.. can't remember what. The Fuse? ANYWAY their CD is the best one I've ever bought. I bought it for Way Away, but I love every track on this album. My favorites are "Believe" and "Empty Apartment". BELIEVE is a tribute to the heroes of 9/11. The lyrics are incredible and the violin solo in the beginning is absolutely amazing. [I think it's awesome that Yellowcard has a violinist in their group! Sean Mackin really brings a lot to the band.] EMPTY APARTMENT shows off lead vocalist Ryan Key's voice, which I think is absolutely beautiful. =)
All in all, this CD is great, and each song actually has a meaning to Ryan Key [main lyricist of the group], and they're not just random songs that mean nothing. I hear that Yellowcard is a really cool band, in that they greet fans that stick around after their shows, and that they're really nice people. They also do free lunchtime shows, so if they're around your area, get your school [if you're still in high school] to e-mail them! They're awesom!
Comment 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on July 30, 2003
Format: Audio CD
First of all I would like to say that YC is an awesome band who gives great live shows! A way to set these guys apart from other bands out there is how they are very eclectic in their musical style. They have great punk music with a classical twist of a violin..and it totally kicks bum! For Ocean Avenue, I feel its the same great music and band, but a step up. You can tell they've grown musically and have gone through a lot more in their lives. Several of the songs on this album are from a personal point of view. These songs have reflected all different areas of their lives including a break up, a friend leaving, one of the member's dad, September 11th, and so on. Another great thing about this band is how positive they are towards giving the message of living your life your own great way. I highly recommend this album by Yellowcard as well as their other albums Underdog (EP) and One For The Kids. If you are looking to hear something new and different, this is the band that you'll fall in love with.
Comment 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?