Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 STEM March Birthstone Shop Popular Services GimmeDanger GimmeDanger GimmeDanger  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Elton John Tackle Any Terrain with Cycling on Amazon STEM

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
25
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 25 reviews
on August 10, 2012
This series shows us something different. Things about cities in the USA. Somethings old somethings new! I really enjoyed this as much as Cities of the underworld!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2014
I prefer this show to Cities of the Underworld, which Don Wildman also appeared in. This has more variety, doing multiple locations per city or area. That makes it a sort of sampler, where you may discover something you did not know would interest you, and a good selection for a multiple viewer household. Ruins are shown with their history in detail, with names and dates, so this is more than just an "oh, wow" tour and things currently in use are also put in their historical context. Shows include the long-distance water supply to Los Angeles, the floating bridges of Seattle, grain storage in Buffalo, and the Pillsbury flour mill in Minneapolis. Don Wildman does his presenting in a calm, low-key sort of way, so you can watch several shows straight through without getting worn out. This Travel Channel series is not a hi-tech equipment display series, and does not have the odd background sound effects which are a characteristic affliction of History Channel programs.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2013
This was one of the better series on tv. Wildman visited places that the average individual has never seen or ever will. Enjoyed every episode. Much better than Mysteries at the Museum. Hope it returns.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2014
Good TV entertaining and informative. This guy Don Wildman has the best job out there and his enthusiasm shines through as he explains interesting places that could be in your own town that you've never heard of. An interesting thought occurred to me as I watched this insofar as actors go. They memorize their lines and move as directed then the stunt person steps in. Not with this guy! Seriously stepping out onto the edge of the Space Needle even secured with a safety harness is something I don’t think I could do and I’ve been up there.

If you’re up for adventure with a guy that would pretty much do anything you will enjoy his shows and on the plus side learn something!

Would I recommend this? That would be a Yes!
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2012
Always liked watching ..Secrets of the Underworld. Now Don Wildman outdoes himself with this series . More coverage on places here in the U.S...GREAT !!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2013
A fascinating look at different cities, including some background and history you probably didn't know. It's somewhat similar to "Cities of the Underworld", Wildman's other series, but is not limited to what's underground. It also includes behind-the-scenes views of parts of cities you'd probably never see any other way. Very good series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2014
Excellent show and from an Australian view i got a real sense of what life might have been like a century ago in the U.S.,one of my
favorites was the Navy vessels awaiting salvage near San Francisco.i hope season 2 will be available soon.great stuff!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2015
This fascinating series explores places that are normally no open to the public and provide a fascinating history on what has helped build this country and the cities and states involved. The second season is partially available, but isn't oriented toward specific locations like this first season. Still, both add a lot of information to our knowledge of how things work now and how they worked in the past.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2013
bought this on the basis i've seen his other show, "Mysteries at the Museum". now if you love that and love to explore cities without the dirty work, this is the show for you. Don Wildman is a great host and you get to see his personality which doesn't really come out on the other show. it's great seeing areas you may have never thought existed and actually see him break into places that shouldn't have ppl roaming around in them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2013
My husband was born on Governors Island while his father was stationed in the Army. We were never able to find any information or video of Governors Island until we saw it on Off Limits. We were able to have a personal tour of the Island when we went to New York on vacation. It was a wonderful day we will never forget and now can enjoy it even more being able to watch it on Off Limits. It brings back some great memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse