Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Offerings
Your Garage Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Benjamin Leftwich Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
10
Format: Hardcover|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 6, 2005
This is a good collection of Brom's art... but if you are thinking of buying a Brom book... buy 'Darkwerks' before you buy this book.

The art in this collection is more mature and refined in comparison with Brom's Darkwerks collection, but is lacking in quantity and the spontaniety of his card art.

He is one of the few artists who rarely uses reference material whilst painting. This approach is evident due to the fact that a lot of the figures have comic-book figure proportions -- which is admirable in this day in age where painters trace from photos.

Verdict: Buy Brom's Darkwerks first, buy this after.

Reviewed by Harrison Chua
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2001
This is Broms second book, his artwork is more mature than that in Darkwerks and perhaps a little less immediate, but never take a Brom picture at face value, even the classically beautiful images have something unpleasant lurking in the background. Fans of Brom will be glad to know that is more of the excellent, if somewhat disturbed work of perhaps the best fantasy illustrator working today. BUY IT !!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2011
Im personally familiar with Gerald Brom's work so I knew exactly what to expect and it made this purchase ten times more sweet to me. I love his work and not because I like dark and sinister looking work but because his talent is amazing. Each detail is beautiful and all his work is done from sketches and built up from there. What I would call true and amazing art unlike stuff being copied and pasted and slapped together on a computer. It takes real talent to imagine it, draw it from a pencil, and build it up from paint. His stuff is amazing and I love his work. Been familiar with it when I was younger and so happy that now I was able to purchase it and have it for my own keepsake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2012
For those who enjoy the darker renderings of the human mind, Brom is definitely an easy choice. His works in this collection are both beautiful and disturbing. Although I am not an art critic, I do know what I like. Give this one a shot; you will not be disappointed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2007
Brom stacks up as one of the most brilliant fantasy artists working today, and this book shows why. Within you will find beautiful maidens, dastardly villains, valiant heroes, vile beasts, and all manner of other characters fair and foul - each and every one of them marked with the twisted vision of Brom. Brom's art has the ability to send a chill down your spine no matter what image you might happen to be looking at - there is almost always an element of the unsettling in a Brom painting, of impending doom or contagion, and every painting yields something new to look at with each viewing. Another quality inherent in Brom's work is his ability to make the viewer wonder about his images, and construct stories around his characters in his head - you may find yourself engrossed as you construct motivations, origins, and storylines as you flip through this book. Those looking for an excellent book of fantasy art with just the right twinge of horror would well to pick up "Offerings."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2009
What a dark pit it was that spewed forth Brom, and how incredibly lucky we are that it did. The devilish visions swirling smoke covered on these pages are frightening, wonderful. Just what the doctor ordered, to shake loose those cold, hardened embers. This artist is eating spiders for lunch washed down with a gulp of torment, yikes. Keep it up Brom, we're waiting for the next one. I would like to see Brom illustrate or write, heck, do both a monstrous Halloween tale.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2010
Super fun to look at, but I think it has more of his older stuff. I still love it though
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2015
good art
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2002
This book is truly amazing and Brom has outdone himself again. The paintings are very interesting and depict situations that my mind would have never discovered on its own. One word of caution... though this is great art, it is women unfriendly. What I mean by this is that the females are generally depicted in painful situations that seem to take away from their beauty. I would highly recommend this book for anyone wishing to view dark and powerful fantasy settings and people/creatures. Amazing work!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2012
This book just proves that Brom's work is that of a hack with a leather fetish. He was cool when I was a kid, but now everything he does looks like detailed paper dolls.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse