Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Officer Down [Blu-ray]
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 10, 2013
The basic premise of this story is a corrupt cop ,Stephen Dorff (Immortals, Blade)has a chance at redemption when he is shot after a pulling over a couple of suspicious looking gang bangers in a red mustang.A stranger steps in ,drives away the bangers and saves his life by calling an ambulance and then promptly disappears.This person's identity is never discovered even after David Callahan (Dorff) begs him to come forward as our alcoholic,cocaine addicted detective becomes quite the local hero.
It is now one year later and David has cleaned up his act when the stranger mysteriously appears with his dead daughter's diary.In it is information on how she payed for her tuition by stripping at a club which has more illegal goings on than you can imagine.This is where the story, really starts, as David reads the journal late at night,starts his own investigation on the side,and of course absolutely NOTHING is as it seems.
This film has a brilliant cast Stephen Lang (Avatar)as David's superior,David Boreanas (Bones,Angel)as a fellow detective, James Woods as the chief,Dominic Purcell (Prison Break,Blade 3) as the night club owner ,Elizabeth Rohm (Law and Order,Angel)as his wife and Walton Goggins (Justified,Predators)as one of the suspects not to leave out AnnaLynne McCord (90210) and Soulia Boy as one of the bangers.
As my title suggests this film with better pacing could have been so much better.When what ACTUALLY happened and people are revealed for who they REALLY are ,I found the story to be quite clever.The problem is it takes ,soooo long to get there and instead of revealing little tidbits along the way things start to unfold very quickly.The last half hour had my full attention but I found it a little slow up until then.Don't get me wrong though, it's still well worth a look.I find Stephen Dorff always very watchable.Check it out for yourself.See what you think.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
The overuse of flashbacks make this film hard to follow. I love good cop/bad cop stories but this one fell short.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2013
The movie had potential, but then became a sub par "b" flick that just got worse n worse. I've seen much better plots for Stephen D.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2014
This movie does present a lot of social issues which most people prefer not to think about, sex trafficking, drug addiction, dirty officers, what some folks do to pay their way through college in America, adultery, etc. What happens when all these things cross one person's life? How will it affect not only the people themselves but how does it affect those who witness it? my two biggest complaints are that the acting is far from stellar by any stretch of the imagination and my second complaint is that this movie tries to cover too much in 90 minutes. But if you like confusion, then this is the movie for you because there are plenty of twist and turns but all of them do not make sense. But this is clearly about bad circumstances becoming worse circumstances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2014
I got this movie also because Dominic Purcell is in it. He plays a bad guy in it, which I commend him for not just taking "good guy" roles. He's a big guy so playing a dirt bag is believable. It's about a not so honest cop who winds up doing the right thing. Dominic plays a mob guy who owns a strip club and feels his owns the strippers too. Like I said, not a nice guy. David Boreanez from Buffy, Angel and now Bones also plays a cop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2013
A lot of action, combined with personal conflicts and redemptions, terrific backdrop of a struggling city (not the candy cane variety of settings), and a lot of surprises from the cast, including newcomers. I would recommend it highly.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2013
As usual Mr. Doriff knows how to pick his scripts and of course remains a really good actor. The movie is full of both action and angst and a story of redemption and recovery. Though the plot wanders a bit it doesnt detract from the overall quality of the film. It is highly enjoyable and though I just rented it I would not hesitate to purchase the DVD/Blu Ray.
I am still waiting to see a movie with Mr. Doriff in it that isnt worth watching. Incredible how some actors have an uncanny ability to choose good scripts to commit their talent to.
I do very much recommend this movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2013
"Today is the day I die." Detective Callahan (Dorff) is a good cop with a checkered past. While out protecting someone he gives chase and does what he has to do, when the person he is chasing turns out to be a cop he wonders what is going on. Things begin to become confusing to him and he is struggling to do his job and fall back into his old ways. This movie starts off very exciting and gripping and stays that way for about half the movie. Then it starts to slow down a little. I think the problem with this is that it is a really good idea for a TV show but when stretched out into a full length movie they have to drag some things out and that really hurts the pace of the movie. This is still worth watching though and keeps you interested for most of it. While not amazing this is still better then most of the movies like this that have come out. Overall, worth seeing but would have been better as a TV show like "Blue Bloods" or "NYPD Blue". I give it a B.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2013
This is a typical "dirty cop" movie, with nothing to recommend it. (In some review somewhere, I saw this movie labeled "paranormal" but in no way is this the case.) For James Woods fans: he is in maybe 15 minutes of the movie, at most. For David Boreanaz fans, he is in about 6 minutes of the movie at most. And DB's character is nothing more than a foul-mouthed Booth. Pass up this movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2013
This was a pretty good film to spend time watching. It was no Bullitt or We Own the Night, but it was good enough to keep me very interested right up to the end. Stephen Dorff is a good actor and can keep you interested in most things he does, so I already knew going in that I would enjoy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse