Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 2012 Official Vintage Guitar Magazine Price Guide
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Lindsey Stirling Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 18, 2012
I bought this and Blue Book of Electric Guitars - 13th Edition at the same time. I should have saved my money on this one. I was looking at Schechter guitars and this book had a brief paragraph covering them, with no model-specific information at all. The much-thicker, much more comprehensive Blue Book of Electric Guitars - 13th Edition has 8 pages or so of model-specific information.

On the other hand, there seems to be some areas that are covered by one that are omitted by the other. If you're a collector and really need information, the only good solution is to own most or all of the valuation books out there, so this 2012 Official Vintage Guitar Magazine Price Guide should be in your library. If you're a casual guitar buyer, the extra $5.00 or so for the Blue Book of Electric Guitars - 13th Edition is cheap insurance that the instrument you're considering will be covered.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2013
I use this price guide almost daily and have come to view it as an indispensable resource for determining the age, identification, and value of guitars and amplifiers. It is extremely easy to use and provides detailed information quickly and accurately. Other price guides may go into greater detail in certain areas, but I find that this guide fulfills 98% of all my needs, and is much easier to use. This is the book I take along on most guitar and amplifier buying trips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2013
tremendous resource but I would not pay the full price for one new... see if there is a last year release or a store demo or return at half price. You are not going to be looking at this from day to day unless you are buying guitars that often. Maybe twice a year. But a decent resource for sure
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2013
if you like to rebuild, collect or play interesting guitars this is the book for you. I own the blue books too but, the CD needs to be handy to look up images whereas, here you find quite a lot of high quality images to look through while reading about the guitar itself. For a quick check on value when sourcing guitars for rebuilds/investment or just playing - buy this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
This is a MUST in the guitar collectors world. It is very informative. My only issue with this book, it does not have all the newer prices on the newer guitars, or has some of the information missing from some of the manufacturers. But still, it is a great book to have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2012
This book has a tremendous amount of information and price breakdowns and is a must for people who want "general market price points" for gear.

Although, it would be impossible to cover every make and model made, it still lacks enough information on the more popular small production / 1 off models.

The biggest complaint on the kindle version would be the search feature. It is next to impossible to narrow down and find what you are looking for in detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2012
I own a guitar shop that sells only leftys, and this guide uses only righty stores as reference. That means some things are pretty accurate for leftys (Martin Guitars), others not so much (Rickenbacker). I still refer to it every day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2012
This guide is kind of a industry standard for collectors. I do not agree on all prices for the guitars I reviewed, but it is, after all, a guide. For me, the Kindle version was not a good idea as it is just too hard to dig through the bookmarks to find what you need when you are looking for information quickly. I really need the paper version, dog ear pages for fast location, dig in and learn it by heart. Not so easy with the electronic version. On the other hand, it is great to have it with you at all times as long as you have your Kindle. Loads of info and I have used it a lot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2012
This gift continues to enrich the person who I bought it for. It is informative, detailed and legible. The official status of this guide makes barganing or restoring guitars afforable and challenging.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2012
I was amused that I can not use it even for simple tasks .For example :A Breedlove Focus-I have had to contact the company to find out about it-since no such a model mentioned in this book,well-it was custom made-but what about a 1996 50th Anniversary american made Fender Telecaster.It s mentioned in this book as a custom shop with a gold plated hardware-mine is not a custom shop, has regular hardware-how come it is not mentioned in this book ?Pages after page filled with guitar models containing description but not prices-a bit weird for a "price guide".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse