Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Big & Rich PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 227 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 411 reviews
on November 18, 2015
The Zapper is well designed. The ergonomic shape of the handles are very comfortable, even after hours of intense gameplay. The Wii remote controller fits easily inside the Zapper, so there are no issues there. The Zapper lets you zap what needs zappin', but lengthening the distance between handles wouldn't hurt either. The only reason I didn't give the Zapper five stars is because the included game, Link's Crossbow Training, did not work with my Wii. I thought maybe it was maybe a problem with my system, but after trying the game disk on a friend's Wii, it still didn't work. It's not really a big deal. I bought the Zapper for zapping, but I would have liked to have tried the Link game. All in all, I would highly recommend the Official Wii Zapper with Link's Crossbow Training to anyone. If you found this review helpful, I would appreciate you clicking the "yes" button below.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2011
The game itself is pretty fun. It's mostly a series of timed target and critter shooting with increasing levels of difficulty (at least as much as I've explored so far). If you like shooters that are more cartoonish, this one is pretty decent.

The drawback, however, is the game controller attachment - the thing you connect your controller and nunchuk to so you can more easily do the actual shooting and maneuvering. In short, it's really awful. In order to use it properly, one must put the left hand on the back to maneuver, the right hand on the front and aim pretty much like a dweeb who has never shot any kind of firearm. Movement is awkward while firing and firing is extremely inaccurate while moving. The best thing to do is to try to use the controller as a pistol (although it fails at that due to the two-handed design and the front-grip on it for shooting instead of the back grip).

To list the controller's drawbacks:
1. The length is too short for a rifle-style shooter.
2. Integrating the nunchuk into the weapon was a stroke of stupidity for any kind of shooter. As a rifle, the hand placement is backwards. Even when shooting a pistol, if one does it two handed, the left hand is cupping the right, not six inches behind the right hand. You'll do better in the game if you leave the nunchuk unattached and use it in your free hand.
3. Stand WAY BACK from your television to get any similarity between your aim point on the screen and the place the target gets hit. (At least 10 feet)
4. If you have the rechargeable battery pack, the Wii controller it has a real hard time fitting into the module. Try not to force it or it will break.

If this is your only shooter game, you'll tire of it quickly with this attachment for the controller.

I've purchased another shooter controller, the Wii SureShot Rifle, and tossed in a Perfect Shot for Wii just for fun. I prefer rifle and pistol-style shooting over the "crossbow" this controller has.

Once I get those attachments, I'll edit this review and update my experience.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2016
Fun zapper and Link's crossbow is a fun shooter style game. Try to hit the targets along each level. More challenging than expected. Great bundle!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2017
Do you like shooting things? Did you enjoy the atmosphere of Twilight Princess? Do you like the Nintendo Wii, but wish there were more "sniping" games? Then this might be the game for you!

It might seem silly at first to bolt your controllers onto this frame that makes it seem like you're holding a gun with a stock, but the subtle change in feeling of holding the controllers this way is satisfying.

The game is simple but challenging. Playing the same levels repeatedly will reveal new surprises as you practice and get farther.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2012
As some users have commented, the ergonomics of the zapper are O.K. The zapper is reasonably comfortable to hold, and the construction is good. The remote and nunchuck fit snugly into the casing, and the wires are coiled comfortably into the handle. However, If you are like me, your hands instinctively expect a trigger to be in the back of the gun. The trigger is also not spring-loaded, so I've had friends complain that it feels a bit mushy (all the trigger tension comes directly from the "B" button).

The Tommy gun-style front trigger takes some getting used to, and is reasonably comfortable after a while. The buttons on the remote and nunchuck are all fairly accessible, and the analog stick is just where it needs to be for easy thumb access. I like the zapper a lot for games that require the analog stick for moving the character around (like the Call of Duty series). If I'm playing a Duck Hunt style game that only requires me to point and fire I'll usually either reach for a Perfect Shot or the shotgun or rifle that comes with one of hunting games (for instance, Cabela's Dangerous Hunts 2011 with Top Shot Elite).

As a free game that comes packaged in with the zapper, Link's crossbow trainer is worth at least $5-$10 of the price tag. The dynamics are pretty simple, but you get multiple carnival games in one. In target practice mode your character rapidly flies from scene to scene and you have to shoot as many targets as possible. When you play Defender style you stand in one place (this time you can move the direction you are looking) and you have to kill as many baddies as possible before you're overwhelmed. The final mode "Ranger" you run around killing baddies hiding in forts and other locations before the time runs out. (Ranger mode is my personal favorite.)

If you are a Wii junkie like myself the gun and game give you plenty of value for a relatively small amount of money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2010
The game itself is decent enough and offers a good variety of modes and backdrops. It is a nice 20-40 minute time killer vs. a sit down and play all day game. My 4 and 6 year old might feel differently as they love it (although their hit percentage is not good, not that they care.)Of the 3 main game modes offered the traditional pop up shooting gallery mode and the defender mode are the best. the thrid mode involves using the nunchuck and having to try and move the character which doesn't fel natural to me. But for what is bassically a $10 game it is actually pretty decent.

The zapper which is what you are spending the other 10 bucks on is ok as well. I agree I would rather have the z buttom on the nunchuck programed as the trigger and the B button on the controller as the zoom. Maybe I can switch these but haven't figured out how to in the pack in game. It would be so much more natural to have set it up that way. However it seems to be what it is and you can learn the use the other finger. The other draw back is getting the gun set up to point at what you want it to is only so so. I am 6'3" and when i stand and try to hold it rifle style the controller points down to far for the sensor to geton the screen no matter the adjustment. To get it dailed in I have to be directly in front of the TV or sitting down in front of it. So it is doable, I just cannot play standing.

Defenitely room for improvement but overall I am OK with what I got for the price I paid. The kids love it and I als oenjoy it and would make the purchase again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2016
I thought it was going to be very usefull... not really. But, it really does take Link's Crossbow Training to a new level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2017
This makes any light gun game much more enjoyable to play.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2010
First off I thought that the design of the Official Wii Zapper would be a bit too short (length) to feel good while being used. This isn't the case, while it does take a bit to get use to, once one gets use to the design/feel it is rather comfortable in your hands. Unlike the Nyko Perfect Shot for Wii, the Wii Zapper biggest competition, this handles the Wii Nunchuk Controller - White perfectly and makes using the Wii Remote Controller and Nnchuck easy and comfortable.

The only issue with Wii Zapper is that it doesn't handle the Nyko Battery Kit for Charge Station for Wii with the rubber grip on. Removing the rubber grip/battery cover resolves the issue and while an inconvenience it isn't a big issue. For those who use the Jacket that comes with the Wii Remote will find that you will have to remove it before using the Wii Zapper. While another inconvenience for some; for others, including me, who don't use the Jacket this is a non issue.

Link's Crossbow is an excellent game, while there is no storyline, the 9 levels with three stages each make for an addictive game play. The graphics are well done and in combination with Official Wii Zapper the experience is is quite good.

Each level features three stages. The first stage is straight up target practice of still targets. The second is shooting moving targets from a fix location. The third state allows you to move link around an area shooting enemy targets who are shooting back. Those who like First Person Shooters (and other similar game categories) will especially like this third stage.

In short either product is worth the price tag, both together for the price is even better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2011
I bought it for Call of Duty on the Wii (it was a gift). It's pretty fun using it. Don't know what else to say, like the title says, it does what it's suppose to do.

The Link game is OKAY. It's one of those games you get bored of in 5 minutes. But when it's in expert mode or fast mode it's pretty fun... for 5 minutes. It is alright for practice with the crossbow too.

Packaging was fine, came when it said it would.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse