Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now toystl17_gno

Price:$22.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 112 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 145 reviews
on March 1, 2014
Okami was a wonderful game made by Clover Studio. After Clover closed down, Capcom became the owner of Okami. Capcom decided to make this sequel. Okamiden is just as wonderful as Okami. It follows it's predecessor in many ways and still keeps things refreshing at the same time. This include things like new brush techniques, new locations, and the new partner system which was rarely used in the first game. The main protagonist is a young wolf god named Chibiterasu who is the son of Amaterasu, the main protagonist from the first game. Chibi must follow in his mother's footsteps and save the world from the evil spirits and a new Dark Lord that has taken Yami's place. As the story progresses, Chibi will forge unbreakable bonds with many friends and those friends will become stronger and more confident in themselves from hanging out with Chibi. The story is very heart-warming and can be tear-jerking sometimes, overall a really good story that really fits an Okami game. Another cool thing is the graphics for this game are really good for a regular DS game. They look almost as good as the first game yet still look amazing for an original DS game. The dialogue in cutscenes goes by automatically so you don't have to sit through cutscenes pushing the a button to scroll through text, plus if you don't want to watch the cutscenes you can skip them. This game also has new game plus like the original where some of your stuff from a previous file will carry over. There are also Karmic transformations like the first game if you meet certain requirements and complete the game. The Celestial Brush is also easier to use since you use the touch screen and the ink will change color to tell you what the game is recognizing it as.

The only problems I have with this game is there are a few typos in the game since it was made by Capcom but it's not anything major. Another problem is there are a lot of missable collectibles in the game and it only has one save file so make sure to use a guide if you want to find all the collectibles. There are also some areas of the game that have low frame rate since it's a DS game running almost 3d graphics like the first game.

Even though this game has it share of flaws, it's flaws aren't enough to ruin the game because all the positives certainly make up for it.

If you're a fan of Okami, be sure to add this one to your DS collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2016
After playing and loving the original Okami, I was fully willing to give this one a shot. Unfortunately t just doesn't have the same charm. It's an okay game but I don't think I'll play it again, unlike the original. The gameplay is much easier, and the puzzles aren't difficult.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2014
LOVE this game! Great artistic style - makes for a very unique game, both visually and dynamically. The concept behind the game play style is what really made me want to try this game out; in order to preform a special type of move you have to draw a symbol on to the screen, like you're drawing a calligraphy brush stroke into the world of the game. The characters are cute (you get to play as a puppy with divine powers :) and the plot makes the game last a WHILE. I'd have to say this is a great game for kids because the story involves themes related to trust, teamwork, and friendship.

Be aware that it is the second game in the series. The first game (Ōkami) is playable on PlayStation 2, Wii, and PlayStation 3. I would recommend playing the first game before this one (I'm just a sucker for playing games in chronological order though ;) so you understand the game play dynamics better and the story makes more sense - but you CAN play this game without playing the first game because it comes with flashbacks and explanations about the first part of the story when needed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2016
I love this game so much, I played the first Okami on my ps2 and then found out there was a part two. The game is so cute and beautiful to, so very happy that they made a follow up story. I think the game play is a little shorter though, I been playing for two days and I am almost at the end of the game but it is a game I would play all over again. So happy with this game :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2016
It was alright. But not anywhere near the quality of its console version. The puzzles just felt clunky and not as well thought out. The combat was not very smooth and although the concept of drawing on screen is made much easier with the touchscreen, it never felt that fun.

Still, the game is funner than most, just executed as well as it could have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2014
Perhaps the best music on the ds. Graphics suffer because they either had to be simplified for the ds or are still so complex that the game lags. Relatively fun, but I had to wait a year before playing it to really enjoy it. Playing a 100% run makes the game a lot more fulfilling than just playing it through though. Usually, that might not be the case because collecting achievements may feel tedious, but in this case, it enhances the backstory. Having partners makes the experience all the more enjoyable as those characters develop. And don't be deceived by how cute and juvenile this game may seem, it still has quite a heartrending story.
Okamiden pales in comparison to Okami, but is still very much a cute and funny game to follow up the classic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2011
I have played Okami port for the Wii and I loved it. That's probably the most important reason for why I bought Okamiden.

But don't worry! Although the game is an indirect sequel to Okami, it provides enough info of the previous game so that newcomers can enjoy themselves in this game, but only people who play both games may truly understand all the details of the game's plot.

I haven't finished the game yet, but I've played so far 12h on it and I'd say I would need more 4h to finish it. I like to collect every single thing in this type of games, therefore, if you storm the game, you'd likely spend less time to finish it.

Just like the previous game, the game interface is centered on the use of the Celestial Brush, a skill that you, as Chibiterasu (son of Okami's main character Amaterasu), will learn to master as the game progresses, by acquiring more and more skills: from guiding your partner to directing thunder as you please.

One huge difference between the two games is that, while on both you always have a partner, in Okami, your partner was pretty useless (besides reading the road signs, commenting on key locations and making funny comments), in Okamiden, you cycle through a pool of different partners (which you will learn to control) with different abilities which will be required for you to progress the game.

The story itself is a classic good vs evil plot, but with a lot of twists, both happy and sad. The story starts in an epic proportion, but in the middle it kind of loses a bit of its polish, as in the beginning you are cleansing out the world from evil and eventually, you pause on that plot and do a bit of mundane tasks. Not that I'm saying that they are not bad/boring, it's just that after a while you just want to go back to the main plot to see how it ends up. BUT in the end it grabs again that epic feeling and the game finishes in the same epicness.

The game graphics are inspired on the classic Japanese paintings which can be clearly visible on the game. And many locations from Okami are revisited, but always with something different. But one thing that I did not like on this game is that it is a bit "claustrophobic"... In Okami there are several "overworlds" in which you can explore without any restrictions, but in Okamiden, the overworlds have been cut down, making the otherwise huge overworlds seem fragmented. There is no loading time between the different areas, but when you leave an area it blacks out the screen for a couple of seconds. It may not seem much, but it can start to be annoying to have that pause every single time you change area.

Overall, it is a proper game and it is worthy of being the successor of Okami. And if you played Okami and enjoyed it, then please stop reading and order the game right away. For those who don't like the adventure/explore type of games (Zelda, Okami,...) this game won't probably change your mind, but the use of the touchscreen as the Celestial Brush canvas is a very nice idea, worthy of at least being tried out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2013
I really enjoy this game. There's a couple elements that effect the ease of game play, but they are only minor. For example, I prefer Okami's method of using the brush techniques (they changed the "rejuvenation" brush stroke to outlining instead of filling in space with ink), and the d-pad can be a little challenging to move around with if you're used to the dualshock controllers on the PS2. You can't change your perspective in game play either. Other than that, OkamiDen is lovely! If you're a fan of the first one, this sequel is well worth your while. There's portions that are exclusive to OkamiDen that are very fun, such as scavenger hunts to find lost items and helping to bring prosperity to a village. I also like the new places you get to see and the partners you meet. I'm sad Issun isn't as major of a character as he was in the first one, but he's around in other ways that can still keep him as a semi-major role in the game. The graphics are just as beautiful, and Chibi is an adorable character to play! Lots of enjoyment to come for you if you decide to purchase OkamiDen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2011
In order to properly examine the title, you have to keep in mind that it is for Nintendo DS. Thus it has very limited resources to work with when making the game. This in mind, Okami Den is a very good game. It makes good use of the DS's hardware and is, overall, very entertaining.

Sound: The music and sound effects are easily comparable to the original Okami.
Control: Although the D-pad feels a bit cluncky for movement, it isn't bad enough to detract from the gameplay.
Graphics: The style is the same as the original, however they had to use somewhat simpler animations at times with a little less detail so that the DS doesn't have any issues.
Gameplay: Mostly just as fun as the original. The stylus moves (especially the new ones) were well thought out. Although the game doesn't afford you the same large-scale sense of freedom as Okami, They still kept it large enough that it doesn't feel too linear.
Story/Characters: Without spoiling anything, I would say if you loved the original Okami, you'll like this one.

So overall, if you can look past the DS's limitations and you enjoyed Okami, I strongly recommend it.

(also, even though there are references to the original, playing Okami is not a prerequisite for Okami Den, but it does help)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2017
I'm about 2 hours in and it feels like I'm still in the tutorial stage. It tells you exactly what to do and gives you an guid as well. Besides this it's still a beautiful game with past charters reintroduced
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here