List Price: $26.00 Details
Save: $5.01 (19%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime & FREE Returns
Return this item for free
  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
How to return the item?
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items shipped by Amazon.
Or get faster shipping on this item starting at $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Sunday, Aug 8 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Fastest delivery: Thursday, Aug 5
Order within 8 hrs and 3 mins
Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
$$20.99 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$20.99
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon.com
Sold by Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com
Sold by
Amazon.com
Return policy: This item is returnable
In most cases, items shipped from Amazon.com may be returned for a full refund.
The Old Enemy has been added to your Cart
$3.99 delivery: Aug 9 - 16
Fastest delivery: Aug 6 - 11
Used: Good | Details
Sold by HPB Inc.
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Connecting readers with great books since 1972. Used books may not include companion materials, some shelf wear, may contain highlighting/notes, may not include cdrom or access codes. Customer service is our top priority!
<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$16.93
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: SuperBookDeals--
Sold by: SuperBookDeals--
(198600 ratings)
88% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 3 to 4 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
$24.01
& FREE Shipping
Sold by: Publisher Direct
Sold by: Publisher Direct
(83884 ratings)
94% positive over last 12 months
Only 20 left in stock - order soon.
Shipping rates and Return policy
$20.50
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: ZiFiti
Sold by: ZiFiti
(1265 ratings)
97% positive over last 12 months
In stock.
Usually ships within 4 to 5 days.
Shipping rates and Return policy
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


The Old Enemy Hardcover – June 8, 2021

4.2 out of 5 stars 285 ratings
Book 3 of 3: Paul Samson

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$20.99
$16.92 $15.88

Inspire a love of reading with Amazon Book Box for Kids
Discover delightful children's books with Amazon Book Box, a subscription that delivers new books every 1, 2, or 3 months — new Amazon Book Box Prime customers receive 15% off your first box. Sign up now

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • The Old Enemy
  • +
  • White Hot Silence: A Novel
  • +
  • Firefly
Total price:
To see our price, add these items to your cart.
Some of these items ship sooner than the others.
Choose items to buy together.

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for Henry Porter:

“A sequel to last year’s ripped-from-the-headlines Firefly…This frighteningly realistic political thriller will draw readers comfortable with the darker side of the genre.”―Booklist, on White Hot Silence

“[An] intricate tale of international financial skullduggery…Porter handles every aspect of the complicated plot, including the labyrinthine financial and political developments and the romantic triangle involving Anastasia, Denis, and Paul, with keen intelligence and compassion. Thriller readers looking for plenty of action, excellent writing, and credible, convincing characters will be rewarded.”―Publishers Weekly, on White Hot Silence

“Henry Porter is one of our most accomplished thriller writers. As a Fleet Street veteran with an eye for news, he mixes current affairs with precisely engineered storytelling and complex, rounded characters. Firefly, his previous novel, set in the refugee crisis, was highly praised and set a high bar. White Hot Silence meets it…The climax of the book, on the bridge at Narva, the border between Russia and Estonia is nail-biting, with a poignant, Casablanca-style twist at the end. Anastasia is no passive victim, but also drives the story forward. Thriller writing at its best.”―Financial Times, on White Hot Silence

“Compelling… The appeal and force of White Hot Silence springs from its convincing depiction of settings and characters, its palpable tension, and the enduring bond between Samson and Anastasia.”―Wall Street Journal, on White Hot Silence

White Hot Silence by Henry Porter reunites the characters from his excellent comeback novel Firefly in another mad chase across Europe.”―Sunday Times (UK), on White Hot Silence

“This second in a series (Firefly is the first) is a top-notch thriller peopled with engaging characters and realistic action. I’m hooked now.”―Deadly Pleasures, on

“Nine out of ten journalists who write thrillers on the side should stick to their day job, but among the few who do it superbly is Henry Porter…Porter, who for many years served as the London editor of Vanity Fair, is a whiz at both character and plot, and White Hot Silence can enthrall even those who have not yet read its predecessor.”―Air Mail, on White Hot Silence

“[Porter’s] best book yet…Firefly is its own magnificent hybrid: partly a young adult adventure in the tradition of Huckleberry Finn and Harry Potter; partly a le Carré-esque study of an outsider spy ambivalent about the messy business of espionage; and partly fictionalised journalism, and an impressive rendition of the mass flight from the Middle East that was clearly heavily researched and observed on the ground…it’s possible to imagine it challenging for the Orwell prize for political writing, such is the power of its depiction of the migrant exodus. Full of poignant scenes and mesmeric action sequences, it may be the first novel to do justice to the phenomenon’s epic scale.” –Times (UK), on Firefly

"With its vivid portrait of the flood of refugees moving west from Macedonia, Serbia and Turkey, the book could not be more timely, and Porter’s sympathy for the dispossessed is as cogent here as his skill at sustaining narrative tension."―Guardian, on Firefly

“A welcome return . . . Firefly seems ripped from the headlines and is both timely and terrific.”―Mick Herron, on Firefly

Firefly proves once again that Porter is both his own man and the proud carrier of the flag first unfurled by John le Carré more than fifty years ago. British espionage fiction is the best in the world, and Porter is part of the reason why.” ―Lee Child, on Firefly

Firefly accomplishes what too few novels today even try to do: this engrossing chase story of terrorism, spies and refugees takes the reader through the realities of our current war-torn world’s innocents even as the novel entertains. This is an important thriller about the real world we all must survive.” ―James Grady, on Firefly

About the Author

Henry Porter has written seven internationally bestselling thrillers, including Brandenburg Gate, which won the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger, and The Bell Ringers, which was also nominated for the award.

The Sandman Act 1
The Sandman offers a dark, literary world of fantasy and horror. Listen free

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Atlantic Monthly Press (June 8, 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 368 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 080215865X
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0802158659
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 1.35 pounds
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 6.3 x 1.5 x 9.2 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 285 ratings

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
285 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on July 4, 2021
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 28, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 20, 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on July 26, 2021
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on June 9, 2021
Reviewed in the United States on July 10, 2021
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 13, 2021

Top reviews from other countries

anthony a robinson
2.0 out of 5 stars Porter not at his best
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on July 18, 2021
Verified Purchase
paul Mercer
2.0 out of 5 stars Not at his peak in this outing.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 19, 2021
Verified Purchase
Peterr
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but not up to Firefly
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 2, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
zjohn
5.0 out of 5 stars Fine writer wrote another fine novel
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 28, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Kindle Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Never disappoints
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 30, 2021
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse