Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:$7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,663 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,259 reviews
on May 25, 2016
Although space opera "Old Man's War" is not ground-breaking science fiction, I never-the-less thoroughly enjoyed the story. Author John Scalzi moves the story along at a nice clip, the main characters are interesting, and there's enough action to keep things from bogging down. Its a fairly quick read, and I will probably read the sequels at some point. The negatives are small: its a somewhat familiar theme (with some unique Scalzi twists); and the dialog is a little hokey at times.
Without providing spoilers, the story takes place far in the future. Humans have advanced into interstellar space with far-flung colonies, but must compete for territory with numerous alien species, necessitating almost constant warfare. Soldiers are constantly recruited from among earthbound senior citizens, who then undergo some transformations to turn them into fighting specimens. The story follows one such recruit, 75-year-old widower John Perry. Perry's in for a number of surprises, but proves more than worthy as the story evolves. This is fairly straightforward space opera from a very good writer who keeps his story moving and does not over-do it. I recommend John Scalzi's (first in a series) "Old Man's War".
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2017
I recently discovered author John Scalzi's works when I found his latest novel, Collapsing Empire, while browsing for something new to read. That novel was great but abruptly ended, evidently in mid-story, as it is the first of a planned series. Old Man's War is also the first of a now-completed 6 book series, but each book can stand on its own as a complete story. Old Man's War is a fast-paced, entertaining and thought provoking tale of a future interstellar military largely manned by 75 year old humans who have been given new bodies better in every way than their original ones ever were. I'm ready to enlist despite the risks of future warfare! A very Heinleinesque story!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2017
This was a really interesting concept. If you get to 75 you can go to intergalactic war and get an entirely new body to fight in. I'm not sure most 75 year old minds would really be able to do some of the things that they require but then again maybe there's nothing to lose so why not? It's a short book, easy, fun read and I'm going to read the sequel - just to see what happens next.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2015
One of the best books I have ever read, genuinely. I love military Sci-Fi and if you love it too you must read this book and the series. The book starts out on Earth with a 75 year old guy who meets other 75 year olds that have all enlisted in the military with no idea what they are getting themselves into. Early on some questions are posed by the main characters that plant the seed of a mystery surrounding the military they are all now enlisted in. It then moves to their military training and then the action begins and never stops.
The tech created in this book is beyond cool and believable at the same time as is the landscape of the galaxy. The part that I love the most is getting to see the whole thing through the eyes of a 75 year old who basically gets to become young again without losing his 75 years of life experience.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 21, 2014
I heard the Syfy channel is going to turn this book series into a TV series. I figured if it was popular enough to make the leap from book to screen, it was worth checking out.

Senior citizens on earth are given the chance to extend their lives in space as soldiers. They aren't given any details on how this plan is actually executed, and there is no going back once the decision is made. The first third of the book is spent gradually revealing all that this plan entails. It's not action-packed, but still interesting, The rest of the book picks up after laying this foundation, and while not incredibly gripping, it still makes for a great read. The alien races in the book's universe are flushed out in an interesting manner and with enough detail to pique your interest. As a book that lays the foundation for the rest of the series, it ends in manner that implies the real story is just beginning. I liked this book enough that I will read the next and find out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2017
My kindle purchases have somehow resulted in Amazon recommending me books that have been somewhat disappointing, despite the reviews being positive, so I was vary at picking yet another military sci-fi book. I'm glad I got over my fears, as this was a very good book. The story, the world and the characters were so interesting that I kept reading page after page and skipping sleep. Thankfully this book also lacked strong political messages (other than war is hell) and the sci-fi part was very believable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2016
This is a fun, and often hilarious, military sci-fi story that I am glad to have picked up. This is my first experience with Scalzi's work and I bought the next book in the series upon completing this one, and why wouldn't I, I really enjoyed it! The story wasn't without it's flaws. It was occasionally very cheesy, and there were some moments that felt very "right place, right time" forced for the main character, but none of that bothered me too much. It was a fun read. I like John Perry and I think Scalzi has created a good character in him. I felt that making this book a little longer and adding to pieces of the plot that were otherwise skipped over could have been beneficial, but regardless, the premise of the story is very interesting, and without giving away too much it makes me wonder where the inspiration for the movie Avatar came from..

Definitely looks to be a promising series, funny and stylish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2014
If you like Heinlein's Starship Troopers, and would like something for the post Young Adult crowd, try John Scalzi's "Old Man's War." In it, he takes Heinlein's "Starship Troopers," matures it, brings it up-to-date, and then turns it upside down: instead of inducting the young, Scalzi inducts people from the exact opposite end of their lifetimes. It's a very interesting premise and he pulls it off very well. It's also pretty amazing that he manages to produce the same "tone" as Heinlein's work even though he's approaching the theme from the other end. I rate it at an Excellent 5 stars out of 5 and highly recommend it.

The novels in John Scalzi's "Old Man's War" are:

1. Old Man's War
2. The Ghost Brigades (Old Man's War Book 2)
3. The Last Colony (Old Man's War Book 3)
4. Zoe's Tale (Old Man's War Book 4)
5. The Human Division (Old Man's War Book 5)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2016
Skillfully written and subtly beautiful. A must read, Old Man's War is a powerful comment on being human, love, war. An original science fiction filled with so much humanity that it is almost shocking while being a surprisingly easy to read and definitively gripping story. Don't let this space military science fiction fool you, it is for every lover of any type of SF. It is funny as well as heartbreaking and absolutely unforgettable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2012
"Old Man's War" will bring to mind for many people, "Starship Troopers." But in "Old Man's War" one must be 75 years old to enlist. The recruits do not really understand what is coming their way, and that suspense adds a lot to the enjoyment of the book.

I will try not to offer spoilers.

The characters are well developed, and the action is explained in good detail, without being too overly graphic. But it is war, remember.

The dialogue is well written and seems realistic. The advances in technology are not overwhelmingly explained, but described with enough detail to feel real, without feeling like a science lecture.

Solid and engaging plot. Climax is adequate, but a bit abrupt.

Overall, a solid B+ novel. I am planning on reading the next ones in the series. "The Ghost Brigades" and what follows.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse