Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: On Noah's Ark
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$14.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 6, 2004
Brett presents this rendition of the story of Noah's Ark from the perspective of Noah's granddaughter. She watches the construction of the ark, and sees all the animals boarding. When the storm ends, Noah releases her pet dove to look for land. The animals leave and look for new homes, and Noah plants a tiny seed. I enjoy all of Jan Brett's books because her watercolor illustrations are so beautiful and detailed. This book is no exception. She treats the viewer to many visual delights. The text is simple and is a good read for little ones.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2005
Most children have heard the story of Noah's ark, but I think they're rarely encouraged to imagine what the inside of such an ark would be like. This book approaches the story from that angle and really gets a child's imagination going. What would it be like if I were on this ark? What would it look like to have so many different animals all together?

This is a great book for children who love animals. The pictures will have them entranced. I would probably not use this book to tell the story of Noah's ark to a child for the first time. I think the book is mainly geared towards children who already know the story.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2003
Beautiful illustrations and a creative storytelling make this version of the Noah's Ark story a must have! Jan Brett is one of my favorite author/illustrators and this book will not disappoint any of Brett's fans. This book is a joy for both parents and children to read. My 2 year old daughter loves it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2003
Once again Jan Brett's illustrations are a treat for the eye. This is a simple telling of the ark story from another point of view. Noah wasn't the only one on the ark and children love to imagine what other people on the ark were like. This is a wonderful book to use to get a discussion going with young children and get them thinking about the ark and it's passengers.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2009
The negative reviews were primarily concerned with the fact that there is no mention of God in Jan Brett's book. I am actually not disappointed by this fact because I plan on using the book as a supplement to teaching the actual biblical story of Noah and the Ark.

The Jesse Tree is a Christmas tradition in our home and Noah's Ark is one of the first stories told during Advent. This book will make a lovely addition to our devotion. The pictures are beautiful ~ as is the case with most of Jan Brett's books.

In this unique version of the Biblical story of Noah's Ark, his granddaughter is the narrator and tells of this wonderful adventure and all of the creatures on board Grandpa Noah's ark. After 40 days and 40 nights the rain stops and the granddaughter sends out her dove who, as expected, returns with a green leaf revealing that the waters have been subdued. In the end, Grandpa Noah plants a seed and all begin to settle in their new land and life...with the final picture depicting the granddaughter with her dove, Grandpa Noah off to work farming the land and a beautiful rainbow in the background as a symbol of God's covenant.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2004
This is another lovely book by Jan Brett. The artwork is wonderful and the text is from the viewpoint of Noah's grandson. I bought this for our church library and am glad I did. I also suggest "Naamah: The Story of Noah's Wife" by Sandy Eisenberg Sasso for little girls. It stresses Naamah's job in preserving seeds and plants for use after the flood, and makes the Noah story less of a "men did the whole thing" story. Women were there too and obviously did a lot of work in saving the family and animals, too.
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2013
Totally inaccurate accounting of the flood if you are a christian. So disappointed. The illustrations were good but I couldn't get past the way she totally screwed up the story. Seriously, did she even read Genesis and if she did, I wonder what version of the Bible she used. I bought two of them for baby shower gifts and couldn't make myself give them away knowing they would teach children an inaccurate account of the story. Come on, it's not that hard to get it right and kids have enough trouble remembering the facts without authors and illustrators leading them astray whether on purpose or from ignorance, I found it inexcusable.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2009
While this book does have lovely pictures, that is about all this book has to offer. The title could have been "On Grandpa's Boat" and been no less meaningful. This book is no more than a grandchild sitting out a month-long spring rain storm with a bunch of animals (which would be fine if that is what you were looking for). However, if you're looking for a book to bring alive the Biblical account of Noah's ark...a story that recounts God redeeming a family in His great mercy and kindness...look elsewhere.
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2015
Jan Brett's Artwork is ALWAYS a Feast for the eyes! My Grandaughter Loves this Book. Although it takes a few 'liberties" with The Scriptural Account, it is a springboard to introduction and discussion concerning TRUE HISTORY.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2010
I was very disapointed with this book. It did not follow the biblical story enough that I felt uncomfortable reading it to my children. The most disturbing was that God was not mentioned at all, He is completely left out! A few other examples are, the Bible tells us clearly (Genesis 7:19-20)the whole earth was covered but this story says "only the tops of the mountains poke up above the water." In the Bible Noah first sends out a raven, then a dove, and then another dove that comes back with an olive leaf, and then another dove that does not return (Genesis 8:6-12) but in the story one dove is sent out that returns with "a fresh green leaf from a new tree." Also in the story, "Grandpa Noah steers the ark to land". But in the Bible, Noah is not the one to control the ark (Genesis 8:4), he is in Gods loving hands. I would not want someone to purchase this book by mistake, thinking they were buying a story based on the biblical account of the flood.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse