Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning _baw _baw _baw  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 50 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 87 reviews
on April 27, 2013
This is Rainbows, Made in Japan, what a album - just great! Live in 1976. The original album was produced and issued in 1977, reissued in 2012. There are one disc with Rainbow on stage (the orginal album), and one with bonus tracks; "Live at Osaka, 9. of december 1976" with the extra song "Do you close your eyes". The album content a 20 pages booklet with 11 pages of pictures from the shows and 9 pages with the story of the "Third album" from Rainbow, The story of Rainbow so far. Its a good sound on those two CD's. The guitar playing is as always just great! Dio sing very well on this live album. And Cozy is the engine - what a drummer. Jimmy Bain on bassguitar and Tony Carey on keyboards. But I miss more songs from the album, "Rising". This tour started short after they did finished the album "Rising", so I expected more songs from this album. Blackmores solo project, Rainbow, gave him even greater scope to express himself through his Fender Stratocaster. As consequence many concur that the '76 tour saw Balckmore take his ablility to an even higher level than he had displayed in DP (from the booklet). A "must have" live album from Rainbow produced by Martin Birch. Remastering, Andy Pearce.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2015
Way back in the early 80's I had this on vinyl as well as cassette format. Then around '90 I picked up an AAD CD version and to be honest the sound was on par with my cassette purchase of nearly 10 years earlier! Well now comes this amazing remastered recording and to say the difference is night vs day is putting it mildly. There was never an issue with background hiss but the sound despite being in stereo was distinctly flat and was utterly lacking any true depth. Not anymore! This remains faithful to the live concert sound yet gives you the full sonic dimension of each song. Very Highly recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2017
Love the live sound of a remastered Rainbow. It's like being at the 1970s concert.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2016
I love this record beginning to end.No doubt the RJD era was the best.Catch the rainbow my personal favorite.Job well done by Martin "Headmaster" Birch.He worked the same magic on Live after Death.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2017
Cool live show with Dio. What more can one ask?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2006
being a guitar player for over 25 years makes the Blackmore/Dio Rainbow albums a must in my collection. I grew up listening to these on vinyl; I felt it was time to update my CD collection.

This live album showcases some of their best material, and how the band took a 4:00 song and jammed on it, extended it, with a great detail towards dynamics. Dio sings great as always, Cozy Powell (Rest his soul) will always be known as a helluva drummer. Blackmore? what else can be said...a great album, highly recommended
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2017
This has a extra show on it. And it's quite a good one with a song that is only on that disc. "do you close your eyes' . The band is in top form here with everything running smoothly. Dio is great but so is the whole band. The original live release is here too. And a booklet , like all deluxe versions have. Why this wasn't put out back in the 90's is beyond me. Here though at a good price these days you can have classic metal in a remastered rockin' version. The deluxe series really laid down a lot of good music. I think it no longer exists as far as new releases go. Which is sad. But the older releases are still around for you to enjoy. I have all of this groups deluxe editions. And everyone of them is great. So grab this one. I heard no dropouts or such on the discs as one person did. It sounds great.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2017
Excellent, probably the best Rainbow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2014
I listen to all styles from traditional
classical acoustic to death metal, and I highly recommend this cd for anyone.

It has an incredible 'live' feel that is rarely heard in recording. Many spontaneous moments where the band jammed, has a medley of tunes, lead man has interaction w the crowd, and it has one of the most influential guitarists, Blackmore, and vocalists, RJ Dio, that led the way in music innovation.

RIP RJD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2016
Entertaining album with nice sound and theatrics. Perhaps the song selection is strange for time period but still a great listen. Another pot of gold .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse