Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now STEMClub17_gno

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
28
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 28 reviews
on June 3, 2017
These books are a work of art, both in the visual and literary sense. I keep them around and flip to any page and find something well worth reading. There is another book on beauty, which I also enjoyed, yet who doesn't enjoy the grotesque and shocking aspects of humanity more? "On Ugliness" is a beauty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2016
Intriguing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2015
the perfect companion to Eco's "history of Beauty
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
Umberto Eco travels trough time on this study on ugliness... great book for anyone interested on art history, graphic design or similar.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2013
I loved the book. It speaks not only about the ugliness of the world but also about the beautiful and the harmony -lets say-you can find in all ugly things situations etc.. and criticize and think that even in ugliness you can find something you like but with the good meaning of the word and not with the meaning of ugliness, anomalies or bud reactions of the human being (many of what you can find also in the book).
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2016
Wonderful book. Amazing content
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2015
Love it Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2013
Eco offers an important look into the definitions and constraints our culture places through history on the concept of ugliness. I return to this book often when envisioning characters for my books.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2012
If you have Umerto's works on Beauty,YOU NEED THIS! An amazing man of many talents! I found this fun, interesting and well designed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse