Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
85
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$10.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 37 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 85 reviews
on September 5, 2016
It was fun to read Jacqueline Susann again, but I was surprised at how dated this book was. It was written in the 60s and parts of it took place circa just post World War II, so it's understandable that something written contemporaneously with the JFK White House would seem dated in 2016. However, it was intersting from a historical perspective (to see what kind of book got people so riled up in the 60s).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2017
Very few books stand the test of time. But for a dose of camp, and not even fun camp, The Love Machine provides an inside look at the world of broadcasting, movies, and theatre. As a gay man of 56 years, I'm glad I wasn't of that era. Vulgar gender and orientation references were offensive, relentless, and tiresome. You know what, don't waste your time on this one...at least Valley of the Dolls' kitsch and camp is still fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2017
This type of book never goes out of style despite being over 60 years old. The main character reminds me of Don Draper from Mad Men. I never lost interest because you really never know what's going to happen next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2016
I've enjoyed Valley of Dolls a lot when I was teenager. So during this vacation I decided to try something written by Jacqueline Susan. Quite disappointed, especially because of stupid ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2017
I didn't dislike it, it just didn't hold my interest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2017
I wanted to read this book when I was a teen and found it in my older sister's book collection. I recently, and many years later, discovered it on Amazon. Just finished it. As disturbing as some parts are, and the many 'edge of my seat' moments...I'm so glad I read in it's entirety. It's excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2006
Jackie Susann's final novel published in her lifetime is the story of young January Wayne, a girl with an Electra complex so big, you'll blush. "Enough" is a terrific read. It goes quickly, is maddeningly involving and, if I may be so bold, is better written than Susann's classic "Valley of the Dolls." Sure, this is tried and true Susann territory with the milquetoast heroine and the usual stew of sex, drugs (in this case "vitamin shots")and deceit is in place but even so, this time something's different.

In "Enough," New York is no longer a glamorous city but a place becoming overrun with junkies and whores, Broadway shows feature (simulated) sex and nudity (but that's nothing compared to the downtown theater scene!) and movies are less escapist than a reflection of the growing desperation of the late 60s/ early 70s. Susann, to her credit, bravely takes on this new era but you can't help feel that she really doesn't know what to make of it. Some of the attempts at youth culture and lingo seem less than authentic (Did people really say, "How about throwing on some slacks and coming over!" back then?) and other incidents appear to have germinated in stories that Susann may have heard being whispered in passing at a party and wrote down ("Did you hear about the types of parties those kids have nowadays?") And despite featuring a heroine in her early twenties, Susann has January get involved in a bad accident and spend three years (not so coincidentally the "revolutionary" years 1967-70) in a Swiss hospital that does not allow television, radio or newspapers. Perfect - a young heroine who's a tabula rasa with no knowledge of the youth movement. Golly, what a neat trick!

The characters in the book are a fun lot, though I felt Karla was exceptionally frustrating as "the lesbian who wasn't" and David Milford was as stiff as they come (and the casting of George Harrison as David in the film version makes perfect sense.) Look out for the characters of Linda Riggs and Tom Colt allegedly based upon Gloria Steinem and Norman Mailer, respectively. Try not to laugh when you come upon Tom Colt's "ailment", perhaps one of the funniest cases of literary revenge ever.

If you only have read and enjoyed "Valley of the Dolls", you should definitely check this one out. It's a lot of fun but you won't feel especially guilty for enjoying it.
22 comments| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2017
Oh ick. And way too long. Skip it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2016
This is NO Valley of the Dolls. There's drugs and booze and lesbian sex. Theres also the over the hill lover and extremely naive main character that I simply could not identify with in any way. Also there are far too many attempted rapes in this book. That's not sexy or glamorous IMHO but to each their own. It made for an entertaining read but I'll stick to the Dolls.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2017
Could not put this book down. Love all of her books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse