Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Echo $129.99 All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis B06ZY5XM7W Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 767 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,267 reviews
on December 23, 2013
BOTTOM LINE: One of my favorite spaghetti westerns, right behind THE GOOD, THE BAD & THE UGLY. For my money, ONCE UPON A TIME IN THE WEST is one of, if not THE crown jewel of that sub-genre; a smart, stylish and stunning take on America's sagebrush & sixguns genre. You owe it to yourself to have this terrific film in your collection. 5 STARS

THOUGHTS: Some of the reviews here for this film truly baffle me. Boring? Ho-hum? Really!? Geez, did we actually watch the same movie? Obviously, this slow-paced revenge western won't offer much appeal to younger, A.D.D.-type viewers who rate the awesomeness of their movies by the number of boobs, blood & blowed-up stuff. And I'll grant that this film isn't for everyone, since director Sergio Leone is as much (or more) about style than story. But in that area, he is King. Legendary actor Henry Fonda smashes all expectations in his role as Frank Black, one of THE coldest villains in screen history. Here, Fonda proves he really could play any part, and be masterful in it. A younger Charles Bronson is perfect as "Harmonica" the (anti)hero of the piece, and rounding out the cast is prolific character actor Jason Robards, delightfully wicked as rogue outlaw, Cheyenne. A typically memorable musical score by iconic composer, (and frequent Leone collaborator), Ennio Moricone adds additional layers to the rough western textures that Leone's visuals provide.

THE BLU-RAY: This is a spectacular upgrade from the previous DVD format release; well worth the double-dip if you own that version. Focus on this restored hi-def remaster is razor sharp, the colors rich & vibrant, and both the soundtrack & dialogue are strong, clear and distortion free. A wealth of solid bonus material, (including an excellent commentary track & 6 featurettes), simply cements this Paramount release of ONCE UPON A TIME IN THE WEST as an absolute must-own for fans of sixgun shoot 'em ups.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2016
It was odd to see Henry Fonda as the villain, especially one who takes great pleasure in inflicting pain on others. The high def version was (no pun intended) a real eye-opener, with amazing clarity. I have never seen one of these old Westerns in HD, and I enjoyed it.

This was Sergio Leone's attempt at using big stars in a spaghetti Western, and I thought it worked. Some good cameos, and Claudia Cardinale is (was?) a stunner. There was more off-screen violence than in some of his earlier efforts (such as the Clint Eastwood films), but the story was good.

I really liked Charles Bronson and Jason Robards in their roles, and the scenery was terrific.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2017
This is more than just a revenge flick. Aside from having some of the silver screen's biggest names, it has some of the greatest one-liners ("never trust a man who wears a belt & suspenders, he can't even trust his own pants" & "You brought two [horses] too many", "pray you get shot by a man who knows where to shoot you") ever & it's a slow-simmer. It's like a thousand mile journey & each scene is a step towards the ultimate showdown between Frank & Harmonica. Harmonica isn't in a hurry to get there, he's a patient man & will not rush as he keeps his eye on the prize. Cheyenne is a hard man, but proves he also has a big heart & a moral compass.

Man is the most dangerous beast & man cannot rule him, these men take the law into their own hands. I'm a sucker for Bronson movies, if you like Bronson, you'll love this. A timeless movie. Enjoy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2014
Once Upon A Time In The West is simply great. Leone made 4 great westerns and this one ranks up there with The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly for his best. There is a reason Terrantino and other directors credit Leone for being one of the best directors of all time. The camera work is revolutionary and Leone's demand for long uncut dialogue forced actors to be on their game. He was also great and working with unexpected elements that happened during filming by simply letting the film role. The opening scene of Once Upon A Time is a great example. An unexpected fly buzzing around an actor is dramatized instead of edited out.

The story of this movie is deep and somber with true villains and "not so heroic," heroes. I was always a Charles Bronson fan and he fits the role of Harmonica perfectly. Henry Fonda is truly an all time great villain in this film, somber, merciless, and narcissistic. As is the case with all Leone movies, the music is excellent and appropriate.

Like The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly this movie is filled with little "cool" nuances and great one liners. It makes you understand the ruthlessness and lack of fear that existed in Leone's vision of the old west. In my opinion this is just a smidge below Good, Bad, and Ugly but still a wonderful movie.

Oh and one last thing. One of the hottest women in movie history is in Once Upon A Time. Claudia Cardinale is striking.

This is a must watch.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2016
This is a review of the Blu-ray disc, not the movie. With this disc the film is clearer and the colors brighter. There is a bit of graininess here and there, mostly on the wide shots, but you saw that in the theater as well. There are a couple of scenes that seem out of sequence and I don't remember them being in the original film. They do not help or hinder the movie. There will be bars on the top and bottom of your screen, so, if you do not like that do not buy this, That letterbox view brings some of the feel of viewing it in a theater. I do not usually view the bonus features so I cannot comment on them. What I would like to say is that if you have not seen this movie, or any of widescreen movies of the 60s and 70s in the theater you have missed a wonderful experience. The closest thing today is the IMAX theater with its huge screen and ear-splitting sound.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2011
THE MOVIE - We have yet another Western Masterpiece by the late Sergio Leone involving vengence, revenge, mistaken identity, betrayel, double-crossing, and gunslinger stand-offs with Charles Bronson starring in the role of "The Man With No Name" (Clint Eastwood had turned down the role) referred to as Harmonica. The main story centers around the land of Sweetwater, a piece of land containing the regions only water scource, and its relation to the construction of a railroad station. The land is owned by Brett McBain (Frank Wolff) who understands that the railroad would have to pass through his land and the water under it would provide for the steam locomotives coming through. But Brett, his two sons, and only daughter, are murdered by Frank (Henry Fonda) and his gang who are hired by railroad tycoon Morton (Gabriele Ferzeth) as he wishes to seize the property for himself. Frank plants evidence on the scene to frame a bandit known as Cheyenne (Jason Robards) as the man responsible for the murders. Bretts new bride Jill McBane(Claudia Cardinale) arrives from New Orleans to discover the family is dead and she is now the inherent owner of the land. This sets the stage between a Tycoon trying to obtain the land for his wealthy gain, a hired gun to help in obtaining the land, a framed man, an unnamed man whos intentions are never truely known, and a new found Widow in the middle if it all. Charles Bronson does exceptionally well portraying Harmonica, a man with no revealing history or revealing motives for that matter. As Jason Robards says "He's someone you'd remember. Instead of talking, he plays. And when he better play, he talks."

THE PICTURE QUALITY - Paramount has done a fine job bringing this film to blu-ray. Fine grain is intact given nice textures and displaying fine detail. Sergio Leone had a trademark of close-up shots of actors faces and you'll be please to know detail is very revealing in these close-up shots. Nothing in the way of much print damage is noticable. Edge Enhancement is kept at bay and very seldom noticable if at all. No signs of Digital Noise Reduction or at least that I could detect. Overall this is a very pleasing image.

THE AUDIO QUALITY - What we get here is a 5.1 DTS-HD Master Track that is pleasent. Dialouge is clean and discernable. No major flaws hiss or pops to report.

Overall this is the first film of the Amercian Trilogy started by Sergio Leon that ended with "Once Upon A Time In America" and has become a true classic Western that deserves to be in any serious film buffs library or minimium deserves your veiwing once. Highly Recommended.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have been a fan of westerns all my life and out of the hundreds of cowboy movies I have seen, this one is probably at the top of my list. The scenes and characters in this film are outstanding. Charles Bronson plays the mysterious harmonica playing fast gun and Henry Fonda plays the ruthless psychopathic killer. Jason Robard also gives a fantastic performance as a bad guy with a heart. The opening scene in this movie really gives you the feeling of being in a small, hot, and dusty western railroad station. Three ugly and mean looking killers are waiting for the train to come in and it is clear they have murder on their mind, and that is all I will tell you.

This film is expert western movie making at its best. It has drama, great acting, clever dialog, shoot outs, murder and even a little sex. In other words, this movie has everything you would ever want in an adult western. One other point, this western is more dark and realistic than other western movies, but that is why it will remain a classic when other western movies fade away.

In conclusion, if you like westerns and have not seen this one, you must live in a cave. Just kidding. This is one of my favorite western movies of all times and it may even become one of your favorites as well.

Rating: 5 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Predator Hunter: A warrior's memoir).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2011
While waiting for this pre-ordered BluRay to arrive (nervously pacing back and forth in front of the mailbox for 3 weeks straight), I was hoping and praying for an excellent BluRay experience - both a good transfer to disc and a good restoration process. Being well aware of what the best of BluRay can offer, and in view of the fact that this has, for so long now, remained with me as one of my all-time favorite films, I just didn't know if I would be able to stand it if the whole thing had somehow proven to be below par. But from my first glimpse of the remarkable hues, details and textures of that very first, opening and dramatically iconic, full-height pan of the imposing visage of Woody Strode, standing there, motionless in the doorway of that isolated and dusty train depot, I could tell that in all likelihood I was in store for something special - and, as it turned out, indeed I was from beginning to end. This disc has an extrordinarily film-like quality to it - the level of which is rather astonishing and it is infinitely pleasing and rewarding to find this sort of viewing experience associated with a film of this caliber (not always the case with BluRay) - but, both picture AND sound are top notch! I haven't even soaked in all the extras yet, but I really don't care - this transfer of this movie is itself all that and a bag of chips! What a treat it is to feel, with each and every scene, that you are finally seeing and hearing (so much of it as if for the first time) everything the filmmakers wanted you to! All of it only serves to enhance the indeed emotional, dramatic and cinematic depths of, without a doubt, one of the finest westerns ever made - from the rugged coarseness of up-close, more-than-3-day-old beard stubble, to the expansive openness and bell-like clarity of the magnificently sweeping shots of Monument Valley, to the inspired metaphoric use of the slow, rhythmic and (enhanced to new, virtually chest-thumping levels) deathly laboring chuffs and puffs of an idling locomotive - all equally unforgettable. And in fact you can't pass up, as well, the memorably mythological dialogue and cinematography, both so entrancingly paced, that is within and IS this film - or, as I believe it was once put before: "the poetic myth of it all, and all of it poetic myth". Yes sir, any way you care to slice it, sitting down to view THIS BLURAY presentation of Leone's Once Upon a Time in the West is an event. If you love this movie even half as much as I do, you need to stop whatever else you may be doing and go over and click on the order button for this one - like, right NOW!! And it's OK, the price is right, too! Enjoy!
1515 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2017
Great movie!

If you like quality films , esp. Westerns, you cannot miss this. Ennio Morricone's score is magnificent and plays well with the cinematography. As one critic pointed out, the score works so well with the cinematography that it is almost like a music video. Plus, you have Sergio Leone's directing, which had improved after his "dollar trilogy" movies. The fight scenes at the beginning and the end are classics, which includes Leone's trademark extreme closeups. Finally, the cast - including the supporting cast with few lines - did a great job in telling a story rich in depth and not just a series of hackneyed scenes like so many other Westerns.

It's "a tough guy movie" beautifully filmed and scored with the well-casted Claudia Cardinale adding an important touch of femininity - both tough and yet still with a touching vulnerability - that adds an interesting dimension to the film.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This movie was in great condition, the seller delivered what they promished and now its time to see a classic western, this is a must film if you love the spanish westerens , and its the orignal 2 disc set how could i ever go wrong on this one :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse