Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Year So Far STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning Paterson Paterson Paterson  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Assassins Shop Now toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 71 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 78 reviews
on October 23, 2016
I was familiar with the original Cracker series (as opposed to the inferior US version) from about 20 years ago and was happy to find it available on Amazon Prime. Cracker shambles and shuffles through his ruin of a life, faultlessly portrayed by Robbie Coltrane. He is good at his job despite his deplorable life style, which in his profession he knows is a disaster. Perhaps that makes him better able to understand the addictions, confusions and deplorable behavior of others. Those who found this unwatchable due to Cracker's drinking, smoking, gambling overeating, and adulterous ways should probably stay away from serious drama. Shakespeare's people don't always behave well; it is known as human nature. Not that I'm comparing this to Shakespeare, but I do not go to books, movies and TV necessarily to find admirable behavior, but to see life limned in all its ups and downs. the scenes where Cracker talks to his patient/criminals are fantastic.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2016
It was interesting to see this fine actor in this role. I was sorry to see it ended. I couldn't believe the over indulgence in booze, cigarettes and gambling. I would not have been shocked to see him hooked up to life support by the last episode. The series is really well done, but I have to admit feeling very sorry for his family as he was so very weak in giving up any one of his addictions. It was at times painful for me to watch. Just the smoking was so over the top. I felt like coughing. It is amazing to look back at how things used to be before sanity set in and smoking was stopped in so many venues. I watched the entire series. I would guess his role in the Harry Potter movies made his TV series run short.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2016
I watch a lot of crime fiction shows. Gritty, dark, and realistic are one thing but this crossed the line for me. So much shouting, anger, and depression. Cracker himself is fairly detestable and his son isn't much better. The mysteries aren't intriguing enough and drag on too long.

The age of the series is showing in the way scenes are shot and some of the over-the-top acting choices. I generally like Robbie Coltrane but the character's constant down-at-the heels, unhappy dishevelment was not entertaining.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2013
This is my favorite Masterpiece Mystery series. A fat, chain-smoking, gambling addict who is passionate and intelligent. Knows humanity all too well including his own. Steps over the line in criticizing others but rarely gets away with it as he takes his share of "the truth" thrown right back at him. I love that it takes 2 or 3 hours to close one case but it still holds the tension and your attention as he and the detectives all labor to get the job done.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
PROS:Attention getting opening.
Plot moves along briskly.
Intellectually engaging who-done-it plotting.
Location shooting.

CONS"
Way to much abuse! Depressing, repellent, and frankly boring. This is suppose to entertain. A little shock value goes a long way.
Past sell by date. Did not age well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2017
Interesting, annoying characters, specially the cracker. It's a very good show that keeps you glued to the screens and makes you want to watch the next one without a break.
The stories are interesting with unexpected twists and "real" characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2016
Too violent. Acting is great. Stories are great. Stopped watching because too violent-,disturbing especially when young girls are raped and murdered
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2017
Excellent, if quirky. Robbie Coltrane is a strong actor, probably too strong for a TV series. But Amazon cut off the series (or failed to make a deal with the provider) in the middle of a two-part episode.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2013
The star of the show, "Fitz" (Robbie Coltrane) pulls off a very credible psychologist working with the cops. It reminds me a little of the old Law and Order with Vince D'Onofrio except that Fitz works the suspects slower and more methodically.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here